Skip to main content

Government Documents: Other Electronic Resources

Welcome to the Government Documents Home Page!
  • URL: http://guides.library.unk.edu/govdocs

Finding Materials

Search the Calvin T. Ryan Library for books, e-books, videos and more!

Ask a Librarian

Electronic Government Publications

American Memory
Provides free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings. Keyword search or browse these online collections by topic, time period, material type or place.

Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

Congressional Directory
Contains short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Also lists committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress. Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

Country Studies - Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Environmental Impact Statements
Contains citations and abstracts of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) produced since 1985 in compliance with the National Environmental Policy Act. Includes full-text of EIS documents published since 2003.

GPO Monthly Catalog
The most comprehensive index of unclassified federal publications, including books, reports, studies, serials and maps. Part of the OCLC FirstSearch database collection.

HeritageQuest Online
Includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories, and primary sources for genealogical research.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Freely accessible through the U.S. Department of Justice.

Nebraska Blue Book
Nebraska's official reference manual, with information about the state's government, geography, economy, history and culture.

Nebraska Databook
Contains Nebraska data including economic trends, research reports, statistics, profiles and demographics.

Nebraska Education Directory
Search this directory of K-12 public and private schools and educators in Nebraska, back to 1982.

Nebraska Judicial Branch - Legal Forms
This page provides access to the forms currently available to the legal community, local courts and the public through the Nebraska Administrative Office of the Courts.

Nebraska Rules and Regulations
Search or browse the Nebraska Rules and Regulations.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.

World Factbook
Published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.