Skip to main content

Juvenile Literature: Home

Some information about the Juvenile Literature collection, including awards, news, ways to find more books, review books, and tags used in the collection
  • URL: http://guides.library.unk.edu/juvenileliterature

Welcome

Seeing a blank box?  Try viewing this page in Firefox!

Lesson Plan Display

Every month, the Curriculum department features materials that can be used to develop lessons plans for Preschool through 12th grade.  Many of these items are from the Juvenile Literature collection.

This month's topic is:

       Halloween image

The display is located in the department, right in front of the Curriculum Meeting Room.

All items are available to check out.

A Second Display

There is another display area where you can locate books from this collection. 

This area is the New Book Shelf, located on the first floor by the reference desk.

All of these items are available to check out.

Ask a Librarian

A little bit about...

One of the growing collections at the library is the Juvenile Literature collection.  These items cover a wide variety of topics and all reading levels.  We also have popular titles, including books like Goodnight Moon, works by Dr. Seuss, the Harry Potter series, Hunger Games, and more!  Not only that, but we also have books of historical value.  For more informaion about that, see the box below!

We have fiction, non-fiction, award winners, and bestsellers.  We also have banned, challenged, and censored books.

These materials are available to check out for 4 weeks.

These items are in Library of Congress order, just like the books upstairs.  This means that the books are not seperated by reading level, or by whether they are fiction or non-fiction. 

If you have a particular title you are looking for, feel free to use the search box on the left side of the page to see if we have it.  Just remember, if the call number starts with a "+" it is in the Juvenile Literature collection in the basement.  You can also limit your results to just these items by clicking on "Lower Lvl Juvenile Literature" in the "Location" box on the left side of the screen.

Want to know the recommended reading level for the book?  Just check out the label on the inside cover!

If you need any help finding what you are looking for, or we don't have a title you think we should, please don't hesitate to talk to a member of the staff!

Nebraska Archive of Children's Books

Nebraska Archive of Children's Books

(Established 1984)

 

A book may not have outlived its usefulness because it no longer appeals to the interests or tastes of the contemporary child, or because its information has been superceded. Books written for children, more than any other body of literature intended for a particular group of readers, reflect the attitudes, customs, and concerns of the societies and the times in which the books were written. They are valuable, then, not only for the study they afford of those societies and those times, but to assist in the understanding of prevailing attitudes and concerns.

Few libraries, however, can retain indefinitely all of the flow of books expected to attract, amuse, and instruct young people. Libraries are constrained by space limits; they must constantly separate little used material from their collections to make room for books that will appeal and be read. What should be done with those books which have continuing value but no longer interest this day’s child?

To resolve this dilemma for local libraries, the Nebraska Library Commission, with the cooperation and assistance of the Calvin T. Ryan Library at Kearney State College, now the University of Nebraska at Kearney, established the Nebraska Archive of Children's Books. The purposes of the archive collection are to provide continuing access to:

1. Examples of significant Juvenile books which reflect the customs·, social values and history of the times in which they were written.

2. Retrospective works for young people dealing specifically with Nebraska life and history.

3. Books out of print and books for which there is diminished local demand but which may be of continuing interest to the researcher or scholar.

New in the Collection

Check out the newest items in the Juvenile Literature collection...and don't forget to check the New Book display on the first floor!

Loading

Curriculum Associate

Sharon Kofoed