Skip to main content

Communications: Home

This guide provides access to electronic books, journals, databases, online reference works, and other resources for students in journalism, media, speech, broadcasting, film and related programs.
  • URL: http://guides.library.unk.edu/c.php?g=510524

LoperSearch

Welcome to the Library Guide for Communication

The main purpose of this guide is to help you locate the books, articles and other resource materials that you will need to be successful in your degree program.  This includes subscription electronic and printed materials, as well as reputable resources from the World Wide Web.

A second purpose of this guide is to make it easier for you to contact me, since one of my jobs is to assist you with your research.  If you have trouble finding a particular database article, locating a resource, or searching the World Wide Web, please let me know.  My contact information is on the right-hand side of this page.

If you need assistance when I am teaching, in meetings, away from my desk or otherwise unavailable, please scroll down and to the right to use the Ask A Librarian chat form to request help from another librarian.  Otherwise I am just an e-mail away!  Please click on the tabs to the right of the HOME tab to view and access other resources.

Quick Links to Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete CMMC indexes more than 600 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study, and includes full text for 350 journals.

CQ Researcher Online
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

JSTORJSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. It is a multi-subject database, containing scholarly journal articles and primary source materials.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 newspapers, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

NewsBank
Access local and world news - both historical and current.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Examines social issues from a variety of sources: pro and con viewpoint articles; full-text articles from magazines; academic journals; newspapers; statistics, and more.

SAGE
Provides online access to the full text of journals published by SAGE, including over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

 

Ask A Librarian

From the main library page, (library.unk.edu). click on the link on the far right, or go here:  http://library.unk.edu/ask/

 Just ask us! We can help you find articles, library resources, and more!!