Research Guides: *Women's and Gender Studies: Journals

Primo Search

Women's and Gender Studies draws on many disciplines. There are 137 publications classed as pertaining to Women's and Feminist Studies. To browse all journals by discipline, click on Journals.

Below you will find a list of some of the key publications in Women's and Gender Studies.

Key Journals in Women's and Gender Studies

Camera Obscura
Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, & visual media. Includes debates, essays, interviews, & summary pieces which encompass a wide spectrum of media practices.
Differences
Focuses on the way concepts & categories of difference--notably but not exclusively gender--operate within culture.
Feminist Review
The major women's studies journal in Britain including articles on contemporary feminist analysis, changing political issues and book reviews.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Feminist Teacher
Provides discussions of such topics as multiculturalism, interdisciplinarity, and distance education within a feminist context; serves as a medium in which educators can describe strategies that have worked in their classrooms, institutions, etc.
Feminist Theory
Feminist Theory is an international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism. Feminist Theory is genuinely interdisciplinary and reflects the diversity of feminism, incorporating perspectives from across the broad spectrum of the humanities and social sciences and the full range of feminist political and theoretical stances.
Gender & Society
Gender studies in anthropology, economics, history, political science, sociology, and social psychology that are framed by a social analysis and a feminist perspective.
Gender Issues
Peer reviewed articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similiarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world.
Hypatia
Articles intended to encourage and communicate many different kinds of feminist philosophy.
Journal of Women's History
Articles and review essays of historical work by women.
Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism
Provides a forum for the finest scholarship & creative work by & about women of color in U.S. & international contexts. Meridians makes scholarship by and about women of color central to contemporary definitions of feminism.
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
Provides an international, interdisciplinary academic forum for the innovative work being done in the many areas of research that comprise the field of Jewish women's & gender studies.
NWSA Journal: a publication of the National Women's Studies Association
An interdisciplinary, multicultural, feminist journal publishing scholarly articles of interest to women's studies teachers, researchers, and others who are concerned with feminist issues.
Psychology of Women Quarterly
Articles germane to the psychology of women, including sex-related comparisons, psychobiological factors, sexuality, social and cognitive processes, career choice and training, discrimination, harassment and violence and psychological distress.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
An interdisciplinary journal of women and society that addresses diversity issues involving race, class, sexual preference.
Tulsa: Studies in Women's Literature
Articles, notes and queries on literature in all time periods and places, including foreign-language literatures and in poetry, prose, drama, essays, diaries, memoirs, journalism and criticism; the focus is on women and writing.
Women's Review of Books
Book reviews for and about women presented in a wide range of feminist perspectives.
Women's Studies Quarterly
Peer reviewed coverage of interdisciplinary articles on all aspects of international women's studies.

What are Peer Reviewed Journals?

Peer reviewed journals, also called scholarly or academic journals, publish original research in a specific field.

Other scholars (peers) working in similar research areas review the articles before publication.

How can you tell whether a publication is scholarly or not? Most peer reviewed/scholarly journals share the following traits:

Author's credentials and institutional affiliation (where they work) listed
Formal structure, often including sections such as abstract, literature review, and bibliography
Citations to other peer-reviewed publications

Examples of peer-reviewed publications:

Politics & Society
American Political Science Review

Ask a librarian if you are unsure whether a source is peer-reviewed.

*Women's and Gender Studies

Librarian for Women, Gender, and Ethnic Studies

Ask a Librarian

Primo Search

Key Journals in Women's and Gender Studies

What are Peer Reviewed Journals?