Skip to main content

Music, Theatre & Dance: Online Reference

  • URL: http://guides.library.unk.edu/c.php?g=540126

Online Reference for Music & Music History

Online reference works for Music, Music History and Biography, and related performing arts may be accessed from the links below.  Please note that these electronic items represent only part of all the reference materials on music.  Please Ask a Librarian if you need assistance to locate other materials.

Bourn, J. (2008).  Opera: the great composers and their masterworks. London: Octopus Publishing Group.

Gallagher, M. (2009). The Music Tech Dictionary : A Glossary of Audio-related Terms and Technologies. Boston, MA: Course PTR.

Gulla, B. (2008). Icons of R&B and Soul: An Encyclopedia of the Artists Who Revolutionized Rhythm. Westport, Conn: Greenwood.

Hamilton, D. (1987). Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: a comprehensive guide to the world of opera.  New York: Metropolitan Opera Guild, Inc.

Hardy, P. (2001).  The Faber companion to 20th Century Popular Music.  London: Faber & Faber.

Kennedy, M. and J. Bourne, eds.  (2012)  The Oxford dictionary of music [electronic resource].  Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.

Larkin, C., ed.  (2006). The encyclopedia of popular music [electronic resource].  New York : Oxford University Press.

Price, E. G. (2011). Encyclopedia of African American Music [3 Volumes]. Santa Barbara, Calif: Greenwood.

Randel, D.M. (1996).  The Harvard biographical dictionary of music. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.

Thomsett, M.C. (2012).  Musical terms, symbols and theory: an illustrated dictionary.  Jefferson, NC: McFarland.

Unger, M.P.  (2010).  Historical dictionary of choral music [electronic resource].  Lanham: Scarecrow Press.

Reference for Theatre & Dance

Reference works for Theatre and Dance may be accessed from the links below.  Please note that these items represent only part of the printed and electronic materials available to support Theatre and Dance. Please Ask a Librarian if you need assistance to locate printed or electronic books, journal articles, or other materials needed for your projects or papers. 

Bordman, G. M., & Hischak, T. S. (2004). Oxford companion to American theatre. New York: Oxford University Press. 

Chambers, C. (2002). The Continuum companion to Twentieth Century theatre. London: Continuum.

Chujoy, A. & Manchester, P.W. (1967). The dance encyclopedia. New York: Simon and Schuster.

Clarke, M. & Vaughn, D. (1977).  The encyclopedia of dance and ballet. New York: Putnum. (Printed form only).

Cohen, S.J. & Dorris, G., Eds. (1998).  International encyclopedia of dance: a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc. New York: Oxford University Press. (Printed form only)

Craine, D., & Mackrell, J. (2010). Oxford dictionary of dance: Oxford University Press. 

Forman, E. (2010). Historical dictionary of French theater. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press. 

Griffiths, T. R. (2003). The theatre guide : a comprehensive A-Z of the world's best plays and playwrights. London: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama. 

Hill, A. D., & Barnett, D. Q. (2009). The A to Z of African American theater. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press. 

Kennedy, D.(2010). Oxford companion to theatre and performance: Oxford University Press.

Law, J. (2011). The Methuen drama dictionary of the theatre. London: Methuen Drama. 

Swain, R. (2011). Directing - a handbook for emerging theatre directors. London, England: Methuen Drama.