Economics: Organizations & Websites

ü  Agricultural Economics Faculty Publications.  http://digitalcommons.unl.edu/ageconfacpub/

ü  Agricultural & Food Policy Center Publications.  http://www.afpc.tamu.edu/

ü  Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei Working Papers.  http://www.feem.it/getpage.aspx?id=73&sez=Publications&padre=20&tab=1

ü  International Monetary Fund.  http://www.imf.org/external/research/index.aspx

ü  RePEC – Research Papers in Economics.  http://repec.org/

ü  Agriculture Network Information Center.   http://www.agnic.org/
A voluntary alliance of members based on the concept of “centers of excellence”.

ü  Agricultural Resources and Environmental Indicators 2012. http://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/eib-economic-information-bulletin/eib98.aspx
This report tracks key resources, including natural, produced, and management resources, that are used in and affected by agricultural production, as well as structural changes in farm production and the economic conditions and policies that influence agricultural resource use and its environmental impacts.

ü  Business Cycle Indicators   http://beta.lib.umich.edu/node/20818
Business Cycle Indicators (University of Alabama)
Data on GDP, prices, labor, cash flow, market, credit, national defense, construction contracts, money supply. Many of the data sets begin in the 1940s and include annual, quarterly, or monthly information
Information similar to that appearing in the Survey of Current Business
Data in ASCII format extracted and arranged by year
Series ended in 1997 when taken over by the Conference Board web site

ü  Economic Benefits of Recreation, Tourism and Open Space.  http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/recreational_planning/documents/vopchapt05.pdf

ü  Economic Census.  http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
Performed in years that end in “2” and “7”.   Includes commodity flows, transportation, retail trade, accommodation and food services, wholesale trade, services, manufacturing, mining, construction, non-employer and core business statistics.
Also see:  http://business.census.gov
Helps businesses understand the economic census and how it benefits them.  Industry snapshots and ratios for most industries.

ü  Economic Forecasting Center
http://robinson.gsu.edu/efc/director/research.html
A university-based center which provides an analysis of the economy, various industries, international   
trade, as well as prices and interest rates.

ü  Economic Indicators
Joint Economic Committee, U.S. Congress
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ECONI
Monthly.  Paper copies:  Y 4. Ec 7: Ec 7/(year/issue);  Government Documents Collection

ü  Economic Report of the President (1996-present)
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP

ü  Economic Research Service.  http://www.ers.usda.gov/  
Topics include: agricultural trade, research, and productivity; crops; biotechnology; farm income; food  prices and safety; conservation; and more.

ü  Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).   http://www.fdic.gov/
Deposit insurance, industry analysis, regulation and examinations, consumer protection and information, asset sales, news.

ü  Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City.  http://www.kc.frb.org/  
Information about the Federal Reserve System, economic research, financial services, banking information, consumer information, community development; publications.  Nebraska is part of the 10th Federal Reserve District.

ü  Federal Trade Commission.   http://www.ftc.gov/
Consumer protection section for businesses and consumers; debt collection, identity theft, Internet fraud & safety, antitrust and mergers, economics, legal resources, more. FTC enforces laws that prevent fraud, deception.

ü  FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Statistics from more than 100 federal agencies

ü  Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services.  http://www.fns.usda.gov/fncs/
Food stamp program, nutrition, school nutrition programs, statistics.

ü  Foreign Agriculture Service (USDA).  http://www.fas.usda.gov/commodities.asp
The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) links U.S. agriculture to the world to enhance export opportunities and global
food security.

ü  Internal Revenue Service.  http://www.irs.gov/  
Forms and publications; tax statistics; information for individuals, businesses, charities, tax professionals.

ü  International Trade Administration.  http://www.ita.doc.gov/  
Trade development and promotion, TradeStats Express (national trade and state export data; see "Trade Statistics"), Import Administration, Manufacturing and Services section, Market Access and Compliance sections.

ü  IPL2:  Business and Economics
http://tinyurl.com/4crxgv6
A collection of resources from the Internet Public Library and the Librarians’ Internet Index websites.

ü  Joint Economic Committee.   http://jec.senate.gov/   
Current reports about the U. S. economy and economic issues; weekly economic digest, poverty,
unemployment, income and wages, state employment, taxes, more.

ü  Liber8: An Economic Information Portal for Librarians and Students
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.  http://liber8.stlouisfed.org/
Designed as a single point of access for information from the Federal Reserve System and other   
government agencies and data providers.  Non-technical sources that are considered “easier to use.”

ü  Little Blue NRD.  http://161.58.100.60/html_pages/Links.htm

ü  Nebraska Department of Agriculture.  http://www.agr.state.ne.us/

ü  Occupational Safety and Health Administration.  http://www.osha.gov/  
News, compliance assistance, laws and regulations, state programs, safety/health; publications, statistics and data, standards.

ü  RTC:  Rural Transportation.  http://rtc.ruralinstitute.umt.edu/trn/TrnFact.htm

ü  Small Business Administration.  http://www.sba.gov/
SBA offices and services by state (select "Local Resources"), disaster assistance, information on starting and financing your business, SBA programs, online publications, business laws and regulations (select "Services").

ü  U.S. Dept. of Agriculture – Economic Research Service.  http://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products.aspx
The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy
issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

ü  U.S. Dept. of Agriculture – National Agriculture Library.  Top 10 Research Journals:  Sustainable Agriculture.  http://www.nal.usda.gov/afsic/pubs/agnic/susagjournals.shtml

ü  U. S. Dept. of Commerce.  http://www.commerce.gov/
Economic indicators, economic growth, free trade, international outreach; links to subagencies and state contacts; NOAA.

ü  U. S. Dept. of Labor.  http://www.dol.gov/
Information for workers and employers about wages, health plans and benefits; news; compliance assistance; programs and activities; statistics; research and publications; more.

ü  U. S. Dept. of the Treasury.  http://www.ustreas.gov/
"Key Topics":  Coins and currency, economy, fighting illicit finance, financial markets, international, taxes, more.

ü  U. S. Economy at a Glance.   http://www.bls.gov/eag/
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U. S. Dept. of Labor. 

ü  U.S. Census Bureau – Statistical Abstract
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/  -- latest version in print only at *C 3.134: 2013 (government document) or *HA203 .S72422 2013 c.2

ü  U. S. Patent and Trademark Office.  http://www.uspto.gov/  
Search patents issued since 1790; full-text available 1976 -    ; order copies of patents; search trademarks; download forms, more.

ü  U. S. Trade Representative.  http://www.ustr.gov/  
     Executive Office of the President. 
Trade agreements, monitoring and enforcing trade policy, trade and development, trade data, World Trade Organization, world regions.

ü  World Bank Group.  http://www.worldbank.org/
News, development topics, countries and regions, publications, data and research.