Welcome
Hi! My name is Rochelle Krueger, liaison to the Department of Criminal Justice. This guide will assist you in beginning your research. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you might have. My office is located on the 2nd floor of the Library, in the Government Documents Department.
Services
The library facility includes approximately 90 computers with a suite of office applications available to patrons to prepare documents, such as presentations, research reports, or, to access the Internet. Calvin T. Ryan’s catalog and the majority of the holdings in the library are indexed in an online catalog. E-books, journals, and other electronic resources are available through the catalog by faculty and students from any computer with Internet access, throughout the world.
Study rooms and a classroom provide spaces for students to practice presentations in an educational setting. Audio-visual equipment also facilitates classroom preparation and opportunities to view the electronic media maintained by the library.
Reference service is available in person, via email, and through a chat service. As with the library’s digital resources, chat based reference service is available from any computer with Internet access, throughout the world. In addition to the Calvin T. Ryan Library reference staff, expert reference librarians from other institutions provide back-up reference service. This service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
Professional Organizations
Other Professional Organizations/Information:
Finding Materials in the Library
In the Library's online catalog, try a keyword search: criminal justice, crime, criminal investigation, law review, terrorism, or victimology, for example.
Search the Calvin T. Ryan Library for books, e-books, videos and more!
Finding Articles
Suggested Databases:
- Crime in Nebraska Series
Crime statistics as reported to Nebraska law enforcement agencies.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals
Criminal Justice Periodicals provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 245 titles, with more than 90 available in full-text.
- JSTOR
JSTOR, short for "Journal Storage", is an online system used for archiving academic journals. It provides full-text results for several hundred well-known journals in various fields.
- LexisNexis - Federal and State Court Cases
All available Federal and State case law. Includes U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Court of Appeals, Federal District Courts and State case law for all 50 States plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and other U.S. territories. Also includes specialty courts such as Military Appeals, Customs, Patents, Tax, Trade, Commerce, Veteran Appeals and Bankruptcy. This is a subset of the LexisNexis Academic database.
- LexisNexis - Federal Statutes, Codes, and Regulations
Contains the statutory code for the United States of America, as enacted by the United States Congress. This is a subset of the LexisNexis Academic database.
- LexisNexis - Government Periodicals Index
Provides indexing of full-text government publications in approximately 170 current federal publications. Includes retrospective coverage through 1988 of over 70 additional federal publications that have major research, reference, or general interest value.
- LexisNexis - Law Reviews and Journals
Combined full text of articles appearing in United States Law Reviews and Bar Journals. This is a subset of the LexisNexis Academic database.
- LexisNexis - State Statutes, Codes, and Regulations
Contains the statutory code for the 50 states, as enacted by state legislatures. This is a subset of the LexisNexis Academic database.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Freely accessible through the U.S. Department of Justice.
- Nebraska Judicial Branch - Legal Forms
This page provides access to the forms currently available to the legal community, local courts and the public through the Nebraska Administrative Office of the Courts.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
Subject Guide |




Loading...
