The library facility includes approximately 90 computers with a suite of office applications available to patrons to prepare documents, such as presentations, research reports, or, to access the Internet. Calvin T. Ryan’s catalog and the majority of the holdings in the library are indexed in an online catalog. E-books, journals, and other electronic resources are available through the catalog by faculty and students from any computer with Internet access, throughout the world.
Study rooms and a classroom provide spaces for students to practice presentations in an educational setting. Audio-visual equipment also facilitates classroom preparation and opportunities to view the electronic media maintained by the library.
Reference service is available in person, via email, and through a chat service. As with the library’s digital resources, chat based reference service is available from any computer with Internet access, throughout the world. In addition to the Calvin T. Ryan Library reference staff, expert reference librarians from other institutions provide back-up reference service. This service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Business Source Premier
Indexes scholarly business journals and other sources, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals. Also includes industry & market research reports and country reports. Covers all areas of business.
- CQ Researcher Online
Published quarterly, controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
EconLit is the foremost source of citations and abstracts to scholarly literature in economics including journal articles, books, and dissertations.
- Encyclopedia of Economic History
International in scope, the general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography; Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of stocks and mutual funds.
- USA Trade Online
A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, it provides current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide.
United States Statistics
- 2007 Economic Census
The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. The 2007 Economic Census covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook contains statistical and textual information on the countries of the world. Information on economic, population, and geographic topics can be found within in this resource. The nation’s “economic accountant,” the BEA prepares estimates of key national, international, and regional aspects of the US economy.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
An independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates statistical data for the Department of Labor.
- Census Bureau
Use this site to access a variety of demographic and business statistics collected by the Census Bureau.
- Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.
- LexisNexis Statistical Insight
Provides a comprehensive source to federal statistics. This source also provides abstracts and indexing to US, state and local governments, and privately published and international and intergovernmental statistical sources.
- NBER Data Links
The National Bureau of Economic Research offers links to a variety of US economic statistical sets as well NBER’s own collection of data sets.
- Nebraska Databook
Contains Nebraska data including economic trends, research reports, statistics, profiles and demographics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
The Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook contains statistical and textual information on the countries of the world. Information on economic, population, and geographic topics can be found within in this resource.
Annual compilation of detailed financial statistics from the IMF. Includes 30 years of data.
Trade statistics and other international business information from a division of the US Department of Commerce.
Statistical data on the member countries of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Formerly accessed at the World Bank Indicators (WDI) database, World Bank Data provides statistical data including over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000. Data sets are from over 200 countries and 18 country groups.
Other Professional Organizations/Information:
- American Economics Association
AEA encourages economic research, publication, and the freedom of economic discussion. They are responsible for publishing several journals, and maintain a website called Job Openings for Economists.
- Association for Social Economics
The association was formed to advance scholarly research and writing about the great questions of economics, human dignity, ethics, and philosophy. Its members seek to explore the ethical foundations and implications of economic analysis, along with the individual and social dimensions of economic problems, and to help shape economic policy that is consistent with the integral values of the person and a humane community.
- National Association for Business Economists
The NABE is an association of professionals who have an interest in business economics and who want to use the latest economic data and trends to enhance their ability to make sound business decisions. There are approximately 2,500 members representing more than 1,500 businesses and other organizations from around the world.
- Society for the Advancement of Behavioral Economics
SABE is an association of scholars who are committed to rigorous economic analysis and are interested in learning how other disciplines further our understanding of economic behavior. An important function of SABE is to serve as a forum for research which may not find either comprehension or acceptance in conventional economics societies.
Contact Your Librarian
** Appointments Welcomed **
Email or call Jon for in-depth research help or to schedule an in-person or online consultation.
Accounting & Finance, Criminal Justice, Economics, Management, Marketing & MIS, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology
Reference Desk / On-Call Hours:
View Jon's Schedule