Library Blog

Up until 2017, the whole library was covered in bright orange carpet! Do you remember it?

Do you recognize the main staircase? It's been in use since this picture was taken! This is the main entryway in 1963 until the renovations in 1982 extended the entrance to the current point.

This was the old front of the library when construction of the building was finished in 1963. It stayed this way until 1982 when it was extended. Lots of windows, eh? And the building looked very similar outside to the current Student Affairs building, completed around the same time. As was popular, they utilized precast concrete for exterior cladding, which was removed in '82 and replaced with brick.

The good old glory days of great parking! This image was taken in 1970 right out front of the library, seen here in the background.

We have come a long way since the early days! This is a concept design for the library once the renovations are complete! Quite a difference after all that time, wouldn't you say?

Additional history about the library can be found in this file providing by University Archives and Special Collections.

Here is a list of webinars across the university campuses for Open Education Week.

To find out additional information visit the NU Open Education Week homepage

Monday, March 4, 12:00-1:00 pm
Student Panel Discussion
Students will discuss their experience using OER textbooks and what changes they would like to see. 
Register at: https://nebraska.bridgeapp.com/learner/training/3ccc6d52/enroll

Tuesday, March 5, 12:00-1:00 pm
Open Nebraska Course Marking Logo
Faculty and staff will learn about the new Open Nebraska course marking logo and how it will be used across the campuses. 
Register at: https://nebraska.bridgeapp.com/learner/training/2a6b239d/enroll

Wednesday, March 6, 12:00-1:00 pm
How to Choose OER Resources
Faculty will learn about finding and selecting high-quality OER resources. 
Register at: https://nebraska.bridgeapp.com/learner/training/a51e024c/enroll

Thursday, March 7, 12:00-1:00 pm
Faculty Spotlight on OER
NU Open Education week will conclude with faculty from all four campuses presenting 10-minute sessions on unique and engaging OER for students. 
Register at: https://nebraska.bridgeapp.com/learner/training/fcb5701e/enroll

Other OER Week Events
Open Education Week at UNO
For Open Education Week 2024, UNO Libraries will be hosting a series of live chats with OER adopters at UNO. Featuring a variety of subject areas, the conversations will look at faculty experiences adopting Open Educational Resources in their courses.
Register at: https://events.unomaha.edu/event/open_education_week_at_uno 

Open Nebraska Initiative

From poetry to pigskins, from Chadron to Omaha, and from the 1870s to today, Black people have played a key role in Nebraska history. Join UNK Archives as we showcase historic photographs, documents, and books illuminating Nebraska’s Black history.

Due to construction related issues the library will be closed this Thursday, Feb 22nd. 

Our online resources will still be available:

• Website: https://library.unk.edu/
• Ask a Librarian: https://library.unk.edu/ask/
• Databases: https://guides.library.unk.edu/az.php
• Research Guides: https://guides.library.unk.edu/

Hello Everyone,

We are tying in a Blind Date With A Book drawing, Feb 14, with our new Book Recommendations List. Anyone who is signed up is automatically entered. If your name is selected to choose a book, we will let you know that afternoon.

The link below is to our subscription page and you can unsubscribe at any time.

https://go.unk.edu/booklist

Hello Everyone! We wanted to announce that the Calvin T. Ryan Library will have a new Book Recommendations list starting in February and available by email subscription. To sign up to receive emails twice a month containing recommended reading, book reviews, staff picks, new books and more follow the link below. You can unsubscribe from this list at any time. Thanks and happy reading!

https://go.unk.edu/booklist

We have a couple of new databases available in our A to Z List. 

Nebraska Homestead Records This link opens in a new window

New

Homestead land entry case files for the state of Nebraska from the records of the General Land Office, covering the period 1863-1908. Files include final certificates, applications with land descriptions, affidavits showing proof of citizenship, register and receiver receipts, notices and final proofs, and testimonies of witnesses.

Social Explorer is on a trial right now, access is available until June 30th.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window

Trial

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.

Here are some images of the renovation, in it's current state, of the library main floor (west side). We have set up some study tables and there are a couple of rooms that act as large study rooms for the time being. 

The library is entering the next phase of construction. Some library offices have been moved from the east side of the main floor to the west side: Curriculum, Interlibrary Loan, and University Special Collections & Archives remain the the second floor. The print collections remain on the second floor as well. 

The new entrance is located on the west side of the building, this is a permanent entrance.