Skip to main content

Remote Library Services

Information for remote library access & services during campus COVID-19 response.

Requesting Journal Article Full-Text (LoperLoan)

LoperLoan for articles

A note on E-Books:

Calvin T. Ryan provides access to various databases that include e-books. They are searchable through the Classic Catalog and available on the library's website.  ILL/DD service cannot fill requests for e-books.

Reserves

Reserves

Usual limits of copyright and request allocations could be set aside this semester. Vendors and publishers are working with libraries during this crisis and library staff may be able to scan parts of physical reserves into the system. Ask. Please, contact the library staff about specific physical reserves before assuming it cannot be done. Subject Liaisons

And, use the request form for additional reserves. (https://unk.libwizard.com/id/91ebe42c861bc8263f72218fe884e3ab)

Adding Links to Library electronic materials

Persistent Links to Resources

What are persistent links (or permalinks)?

Persistent links are stable, unchanging URLs (Uniform Resource Locators) ideal for linking to library catalog records and e-resources from within Canvas course pages, e-reserves, emails, browser bookmarks, and other documents used for instruction. These may also be referred to as permanent links, permalinks, or durable or stable URLs.

Why should I use persistent links?

Using persistent links to library catalog records and database articles can offer key advantages: Persistent links rarely change, simplifying maintenance of Canvas pages and other instructional documents. Links to general Internet sites, on the other hand, may change without notice.

Persistent links to library e-resources resolve issues of copyright compliance, since no actual copies are made. To download, store and distribute copyrighted materials online often requires permission of the publisher and/or author. The use of persistent links does not require such authorization.

NOTE: Not all library databases are capable of utilizing persistent links! Please contact a librarian for assistance with databases not listed inside this brochure at:
http://library.unk.edu/ask

Quick Steps to Persistent Links

  1. Start at the library homepage - http://library.unk.edu

  2. Go to “Resources” on the navigation bar, then click on “Articles & Databases” to select a database to search.

  3. Search for articles and locate the persistent link, or permalink, for those articles you wish to keep.

  4. Copy and paste the persistent link(s) into your e-mail, document or Canvas course.

  5. If necessary, edit the persistent link to include UNK’s proxy information for off-campus access:
    Insert a https://unk.idm.oclc.org/login?url= in front of the URL.
    For example: https://unk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/rest-of-link-continues-afterwards...

Archives & Special Collections

Online access to select Archives & Special Collections materials can be found on the Archives homepage (http://library.unk.edu/archives/) and OpenSPACES @UNK (https://openspaces.unk.edu/)

PK-12 Textbook Digital Sampling

Digital Sampling

Teacher Education students, if you are needing student textbooks or teacher's editions of a textbook but are unable to access the Textbook Collection, many publishers offer digital sampling of their items.

Through the link above, you will be able to access a list of publishers that supply our PK-12 Textbook collection with materials and links to their websites

Contact Us (Ask a Librarian)

ask a librarianAsk a Librarian


To find a librarian by subject area visit: 
guides.library.unk.edu/librariansbysubject

Library Hours

Additional Assistance

Publishers are opening content and providing other support in response to changes mid-semester. Be sure to check the tab with vendor offers in the left-hand side bar.