When you are looking for sociological, historical, or psychological resources to contextualize your group's behavior for your project, think about searching strategically. For example, the ERIC database will have information and studies on college student drinking culture, teaching ELL, on theater classes or techniques for K12-age students, and for young people taking dance classes. Business Source Premier will have information on coffee house culture, bar culture, and gym culture. Also remember to check the PEW Research Center for current, relevant information on social trends such as food and hunger (their COVID-19 coverage is also remarkable -- be sure to check under multiple tabs on the PEW site, as the studies and articles cover the pandemic from different vantage points).
Consider combining targeted search terms along with your key terms/group you are studying. Ones that will help bring the kinds of information you need up to the top of your results include:
- Culture
- Collegiality
- Group behavior
- Community
Create different searches with your key terms and these targeted search terms, as you will likely get somewhat different results each time.
Let us know if you need additional help on resources!
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes subject areas related to business such as leadership, management, economics, finance, industry profiles, and company data.
- ERIC
Covers all areas of education and education-related aspects of other disciplines. "ED" documents (1994-present) may be available in full-text online.
- Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior is the world's most extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 175 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
- JSTOR
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
- Project MUSE
Offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- [APA] PsycINFO
Contains citations and abstracts to articles in journals, dissertations, and book chapters in all areas of psychology. Includes all articles from the PsycARTICLES database.
- Sociology Collection
This core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present.
CALVIN T. RYAN LIBRARY