Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Reserve Policy
The Library of the University of Nebraska at Kearney maintains course reserve collections, in both print and electronic formats, to support the instructional requirements of specific courses. The collection is made up of both copyrighted materials and non-copyrighted items, such as syllabi, lecture notes, and sample tests provided by professors. The libraries abide by the fair use provisions of the U.S. Copyright Act (Title 17, Section 107 U.S. Code) in their use of copyrighted materials. The text of the Copyright Act governing fair use follows:
Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 106 and 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified in that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship or research, is not an infringement of copyright.
In determining whether the use made of a work in any particular case is a fair use the factors to be considered shall include:
- The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit education purposes;
- the nature of the copyrighted work;
- the amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole;
- The effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.
Scope of Material
- In accordance with fair use (Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Act); the reserve collection may include copyrighted materials at the request of a course instructor.
- The reserve collection may include short items (such as an article from a journal, a chapter from a book or conference proceedings, or a poem from a collected work) or excerpts from longer items. "Longer items" may include articles, chapters, poems, and other works that are of such length as to constitute a substantial portion of a book, journal, or other work of which they may be a part. "Short items" may include articles, chapters, poems, and other works of a customary length and structure as to be a small part of a book, journal, or other work, even if that work may be marketed individually.
- The reserve collection should not include any material unless the instructor, the library, or another unit of the educational institution possesses a lawfully obtained copy.
- The total amount of material included in the reserve collection for a specific course as a matter of fair use should be a small proportion of the total assigned reading for a particular course.
Notices and Attributes
- Copyright notice will appear on screen in the electronic reserve system and on copies made of reserve readings to indicate that materials may be covered by copyright law.
- Materials included in the electronic reserve collection should include appropriate citations or attributions to their sources.
Access & Use
- Access to reserve materials is limited to students and instructors for that course.
- Materials in the electronic reserve system will be retrievable only by course or instructor.
- Students should not be charged specifically or directly for access to electronic reserve systems.
Storage & Reuse
- Short term access to materials included in the reserve collection in previous academic terms may be provided to students who have not completed the course.
- Material may be retained in electronic form while permission is being sought or until copyright permission has expired.
Electronic Reserve Submission Guidelines
- Provide a clean, straight, and single side copy of materials, 8 1/2" X 11" paper with at least 1/2 inch margin on all four sides.
- Send materials at least one month prior to the beginning of the semester to allow for scanning and establishing the course pages(s).
- Materials exceeding 15 pages may be scanned and divided into multiple parts to eliminate long viewing or printing times.
- Include the full citation with each article or book chapter including the author(s), or editor(s), title, copyright date, source of publication; instructor(s) and course.
- Documents may be submitted on disk in text (txt), Word Perfect (wpd), or Word (doc) formats. The documents may be converted to PDF formats. Links to websites may also be submitted.
- Graphics submitted will be scanned as black and white bitmaps. Color images may also be submitted and scanned, but download time to view the images will be significantly longer.
Campus Contacts for the Electronic Reserve Service
Lisa Mount, Head of Access Services
Adapted with Permission from the Electronic Reserve Policy of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and the University of Nebraska Medical Center, which was approved by the Associate General Counsel, University of Nebraska April 2002