Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Collections of Primary Resource Materials
- American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries Letters, 1833-1893
Part of Archives Unbound, includes letters to and from missionaries to Native Americans written between 1833-1893.
- American Memory
Free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s collections.
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
- American Periodical Series Online
Search full-page images from 1,500 American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940.
- Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
- Civil War in Words and Deeds
Part of Archives Unbound, contains 144,000+ pages of regimental histories and personal narratives, chronicling life during the American Civil War.
Links to open-access European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
- Hansard Online Archive
Contains the proceedings of both the British House of Commons and the House of Lords back to 1803.
- America: History & Life
Indexes over 1,700 journals on U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary; includes full-text of 3,900+ scholarly journals...
- Project Muse
Project MUSE offers 300 journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Voyages Database
Records for 35,000+ individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.
- Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas, a Visual Record
1,000+ images, many from the days of slavery.
- Caribbean History Revealed
History of the British Caribbean through government documents, photographs, and maps.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials: slavery, emancipation, and other subjects.
- Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Speeches, letters, graphics, interviews, and articles.
- Francophone Slavery
Nineteenth-century resources related to slavery in the French Americas, including Haiti.
- Amistad Research Center
History of African Americans and other ethnic minorities.
- Recovered Histories
Digitized collection of 18th- and 19th-century documents related to the transatlantic slave trade.
- 16th through 20th Century Maps of Africa
Digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa along with the accompanying text.