When you click on the title of one of the databases in this list from off campus, you will be required to "authenticate," that is, to identify yourself as a UNK student. Authentication is required by all our suppliers of subscription databases and other electronic subscription resources.
Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is required to access Library databases and your library account, this is the same authentication system used to access UNK services such as Canvas or MyBlue. This link will take you to the log in screen.
If you accidentally close the entire browser, you may be able to immediately log back into a database without re-authenticating, but that has to be done very quickly. Otherwise, you will have to re-authenticate before being able to continue.
If you experience problems logging into the databases, please call the Library Circulation Desk at (308) 865-8599 or Library Reference at 308-865-8586.
In order to access the databases, you must be a currently-enrolled student. (On occasion, graduate students may be considered continuing students by the department, but may not be continuously enrolled -- for example, when working on a thesis or graduate report).
The Foreign Relations of the United States database presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 1,500 volumes containing invaluable information beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988.
This database includes information dating back to 1690 on the history of international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!
Published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for over 250 world entities.