Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Publishing and Scholarly Communication

Guidelines for Choosing a Journal

In addition to reviewing familiar professional titles and speaking with colleagues, authors should consider these journal qualities before submitting an article for publication.

Qualities to consider Sources for answers
  • Does my article manuscript match the subject scope of this journal?
  • Who is the publisher?
  • When did the journal begin publication?
  • How frequently is the journal published?
  • Is the journal refereed?
  • Is the journal open-access?
  • What is the official website for this journal?
  • What databases (if any) index the contents of that journal?
  • What databases (if any) include the full-text of that journal's articles?
  • Is the journal indexed in Google Scholar?
  • Is the journal indexed in Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)?
  • Google Scholar
    -- Use the Advanced Search to search by journal title - "return articles published in..."
  • DOAJ --DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
  • What is the acceptance rate for articles submitted for publication?
  • What impact factors (if any) have been assessed for that journal?
  • What fee (if any) is the author required to pay prior to publication? NOTE: This is increasingly common for open-access publications.
  • If author's fees are required, is the journal associated with an OASPA-member publisher? (a positive attribute)
  • What rights or copyright terms does the author retain by publishing in this journal (i.e. can the author legally post a copy on a personal website or institutional repository?)
  • Use SHERPA/RoMEO to search by journal title or ISSN and find a summary of author's rights for that publication.
  • Locate the journal's official website using Ulrich's Global Serials Directory to view author's rights and copyright terms.