Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
Bloomsbury Academic is an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc. Selected research publications in the humanities and social sciences are published on open content licenses, meaning that the full text is available online for free in html format. These titles are also available to buy as p-books and e-books.
CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization with a mission to reduce the cost of textbook materials for the K-12 market both in the U.S. and worldwide. CK-12 is using an open-content, web-based collaborative model termed the “FlexBook.” With these free, common core aligned and NSES aligned digital textbooks, CK-12 intends to pioneer the generation and distribution of high quality educational STEM content that will serve both as core text as well as provide an adaptive environment for learning through the FlexBook Platform.
Connexions delivers content for free over the Internet for schools, educators, students, and parents to access 24/7/365. Materials are easily downloadable to almost any mobile device for use anywhere, anytime. Schools can also order low cost hard copy sets of the materials (textbooks).
The Directory of Open Access Textbooks is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Flat World Knowledge was created to provide better textbook options to students and faculty, who are frustrated with the limitations and costs of traditional textbooks. We kept what works: expert authors, editorial development, peer review and teaching supplements. And changed everything else to give choices and control back to students and educators.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services.
OER Africa is an innovative initiative established by the South African Institute for Distance Education (Saide) to play a leading role in driving the development and use of Open Educational Resources (OER) across all education sectors on the African continent.
The Open Courseware Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing OpenCourseWare (OCW) and its impact on global education. OCW is a free and open digital publication of high quality educational materials for colleges and universities.
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Web 2.0 has given us great amounts of intelligent audio and video. It’s all free. It’s all enriching. But it’s also scattered across the web, and not easy to find. Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content. Free audio books, free online courses, free movies, free language lessons, free e-books and other enriching content; it’s all here.
On January 14, 2019, the Open, Public, Electronic, and Necessary (OPEN) Government Data Act was signed into law. The OPEN Government Data Act was included in the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act (Public Law 115-435) as Title II. The open data proposal will require federal agencies to publish their information online, using machine-readable data formats.
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The collections are open to the public and include Open Courseware, Open Textbooks, 3D object models, learning modules, and videos. In addition to other works, they include higher education resources for community and state colleges, vocational education, and universities.
The Peer 2 Peer University is a grassroots open education project that organizes learning outside of institutional walls and gives learners recognition for their achievements. P2PU creates a model for lifelong learning alongside traditional formal higher education. Leveraging the internet and educational materials openly available online, P2PU enables high-quality low-cost education opportunities.
Project Kaleidoscope is implementing a set of fully open general education courses across eight colleges serving predominantly at-risk students. The project will dramatically reduce textbook costs and allow collaborative improvement of course design to improve student success.
On this site you’ll find openly licensed textbooks and courses written and curated by SUNY Faculty. For more about OER in SUNY, visit OpenNYS to see how OER is being used all over New York State, or explore SUNY OER Services at http://oer.suny.edu.
Many resources shared from the Nancy A. McDonough Geschke Library, Marygrove College