Calvin T. Ryan Library
University of Nebraska at Kearney
Policies, Guidelines, and Procedures for the Lending of Library Materials
The following policies, guidelines, and procedures have been established to govern the lending of library materials. The staff of the Calvin T. Ryan Library reserves the right to add, delete, or modify all or portions of these policies, guidelines and procedures. The effective date of these policies, guidelines and procedures is 8-19-14.
Confidentiality of Circulation Records
No name, address, or other information concerning a borrower contained in any circulation records will be revealed to other persons except under conditions as stated in Calvin T. Ryan Library’s “Privacy of Circulation Records Policy.”
Library borrowers are categorized as follows:
Individuals currently affiliated with the University of Nebraska at Kearney:
Individuals not currently affiliated with the University of Nebraska at Kearney:
Identification & Check-out Materials
All library materials are checked out at the Circulation Desk
All persons affiliated with University of Nebraska at Kearney must present their University ID.
Reciprocal borrowers must present current and valid identification from their institutions to obtain a library borrowers card to check out library material.
Special Borrowers must be at least 18 years of age and present valid picture identification issued by the State of Nebraska to obtain a Special Borrowers card. Special Borrowers can check out up to five library items.
All Identification Cards are non-transferable.
Each borrower is responsible for material checked out in his/her name.
Each borrower is responsible for keeping the library informed of address changes.
Library materials may be checked out to Special Borrowers, UNK Students, Reciprocal Faculty and Staff for a period of twenty-eight days except for the categories of materials designated below:
Any exceptions to the check-out periods stated above may be made at the discretion of the Librarian in charge of that portion of the library’s collection. For any exceptions to reserve material check-out periods, written approval from the course instructor must be presented to the Circulation Manager or a Circulation Library Associate.
In the absence of the Librarian, the person responsible for determining exceptions to the check-out periods is:
Some library materials may not be checked out of the library. These materials are reference items, items from the Archives/Special Collection, microfilm, newspapers, laptops, some reserves, and some government documents.
Books, curriculum items, and regular government documents will be checked out to University of Nebraska at Kearney faculty, graduate assistants, and administrative personnel for one semester, renewable upon request for one additional consecutive semester. Graduate students also receive the end of semester due date, however, their overdue material does accrue fines at $.20 per day per item.
All other library materials will be checked out to University of Nebraska at Kearney faculty and administrative personnel for the standard check-out periods.
Summer sessions are equivalent to one semester.
Restricted tests may be checked out to individuals who are included on a list of authorized students/faculty. A new list must be obtained each semester.
UNK Faculty and Administrative Staff may borrow up to 100 items at any one time. The maximum bill that can be accrued before borrowing privileges are blocked is $100.
UNK students and Office/Service staff may borrow up to 50 items at any one time. If a patron accrues a fine of $10, their library privileges will be suspended until the amount is paid. Maximum fine before privileges are blocked is $10.00.
Special Borrowers are allowed to check out up to five items. Library privileges will be suspended when a fine amount reaches $10.00.
Suspended Privileges of Library Users
Users who abuse library regulations may be refused borrowing privileges. Abuse includes, but is not limited to, continuous and/or excessive fines, fees, and charges left unpaid.
Library privileges may be revoked for the following:
Consequences for revocation of library privileges may include, but shall not be limited to:
Borrowing privileges may be restored when all charges are cleared.
Return of Library Material
Library material is considered returned when:
Renewal of Library Material
Fines and Charges
Student and community users are subject to a uniform system of fines and charges for late return of library material and for replacement cost for lost or damaged material.
Student and community users are subject to fines and charges when:
Charges, including replacement cost, fines, processing charges, and billing fees will apply to library items checked out to any patron other than faculty and administrative borrowers that are:
Charges, including replacement cost, processing charges, and billing fees will apply to library items checked out to any faculty and administrative borrowers when:
Faculty end–of-semester loans will have overdue notices generated for any non-returned library material one day after the due date. A second notice will be generated in approximately four to six weeks. The third notice, a bill, will be produced four weeks later. If the material is still checked out one week after the bill has been sent, a letter will be issued by the Library director to the department head or dean requesting their assistance in recovering the material. If the material is not recovered within four weeks, arrangements will be made to deduct replacement costs from that department’s book budget.
In the case of administrative or managerial professional personnel who have library material checked out on semester loan, the appropriate department head, dean, or immediate supervisor will be contacted if recalled material is not returned to the library within seven days of the billing date.
A faculty member or administrator may elect to pay for lost or irreparably damaged library material, or to replace such material with an acceptable copy. In these cases, the academic department or administrative unit would not be charged. The item must be given to the library by the end of the semester in which it is reported lost or damaged. Its acceptability is determined by a Librarian.
In the event that library material, which has been reported as lost and for which a replacement charge has been paid, is returned to the library in an acceptable condition within thirty days from date of payment, a refund of replacement charges, less any accrued fine, will be made.
Appeal of Library Fines and Charges
Library fines and charges must be paid before an appeal can be filed.
Users who wish to appeal library fines and charges will make their appeal to the Library Appeals Committee after first securing and completing an appeal form. The appeal form is available at the Circulation desk.
The Library Appeals Committee shall consist of a faculty member, a student representative, and an A or B-line administrative representative, recommended by the Library Committee.
The Circulation Manager will serve as an ex-offico member and advisor to the committee.
The Library Appeals Committee will decide on the validity of the appeals and will recommend appropriate action.