Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TE 100/PSCI 110

Collaborative Research Project (CRP) resources to assist with the annotated bibliography and the policy project.

What is An Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for books, articles, and/or documents that you have read in pursuit of your research.  Each citation is followed by a brief (at least 100 words) paragraph that describes and evaluates the source.  Annotated bibliographies let your reader know useful information about the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources you cite in your presentation (or paper, as the case may be).  For this assignment, you need to produce your OWN (this part is not a group project) annotated bibliography, which includes FIVE different, peer-reviewed sources.  The purpose of doing this part of the research on your own is to ensure that your group ends up with a good variety of resources from which to prepare your presentation.  Talk with your colleagues to ensure you have completely different resources than other members of your group.  The sources you include in your bibliography may or may not end up in your final presentation – that is for your team to decide, after you have shared your bibliographies with each other.  For this assignment, you need to demonstrate that you have done some of your own research, understand what you have read, and can explain how it relates to your research project and to other work on your topic.

What Should Each Citation Include?

1.  The full citation for the source, in APA style.  The library’s Teacher Education resources pages, linked  
      from your Canvas site, contains links to additional citation resources.

2.  A paragraph that includes:
     a.  A brief summary of the source – its main point or argument, written in your own words.
     b.  A description of the authority or background of the author(s).
     c.  A description of how this source compares and/or contrasts with other sources you have read on  
     this topic.
     d.  An explanation of how this source contributes to answering your research question.

3.  All of this needs to be written in your own words, to convey your own understanding of the
     source.  If you simply copy or lift language (or cut and paste) from the source or its abstract, you
     have failed.

Example and Rubric

Policy topic:  Education Policy and Democracy

Hafner, T. L., & Norwood, J. (2019). An elementary social studies teacher׳s quest to develop democratic citizens: The                     
              boundaries of ambitious teaching. The Journal of Social Studies Research, 43(3), 187-198. 
              https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jssr.2018.07.001

This article contributes to our research on democratic education by presenting a case study of one teacher’s efforts to incorporate civic education in an elementary school that de-emphasizes social studies to focus more intensely on student achievement in the areas of math, science and reading. The research question driving this study may be summarized as, how can an ambitious teacher “rise above” the existing school rules and culture to provide the civic education she believes her students need? To answer the question, the authors analyze the example of Zoey, a fifth-grade teacher at a large, diverse, struggling school in the southeast. More specifically, the authors discuss and describe Zoey’s 1) teaching philosophy (social studies as a building block for helping students become responsible citizens); 2) her method for designing and implementing civic instruction (emphasizing experiential and inquiry-based learning, with the teacher as facilitator and co-learner); and 3) the relationship between Zoey and the school’s accountability-driven administration (frosty; she was required to provide both daily and weekly assessments of student learning, but felt she had no administrative support for curriculum development or lesson planning). The authors conclude Zoey’s case demonstrates the need for schools to incorporate civic education into their accountability plans, and provide teachers the freedom and support they need to pursue active-learning approaches to social studies. This article is similar to the one by Howell and Saye, because of its emphasis on inquiry-based learning, but differs from all of my other articles because it presents an in-depth analysis of one teacher’s struggle. Tina Haefner is a professor in the Department of Middle, Secondary and K-12 Education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Jessica Norwood is a graduate student at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, pursuing a doctorate in Reading and Elementary Education.

Scoring Rubric     

      

 

Source is peer-reviewed

Header for each bibliographic entry is complete and uses APA style

Summary is in student’s own voice

Summary includes statement of author(s) credentials

Summary includes analysis of how source compares/contrasts with other sources

Source #1

 

 

 

 

 

Source #2

 

 

 

 

 

Source #3

 

 

 

 

 

Source #4

 

 

 

 

 

   Source #5