CALVIN T. RYAN LIBRARY
Looking for more assistance with your research? See the History Subject Guide or our Research Tips and Tricks tutorial.
Cultural heritage organizations (museums, archives, historical societies, etc) workers are busy people. To get the best, quickest response from them, start with the tips below for crafting a message.
Greeting: Dear or Hello are usually best. If there is a specific contact listed, address your message to that person. If not, just use "Dear" or "Hello"
Body:
-Introduce yourself: Name, UNK student, what class/project this research is for
-Research topic: one to two sentence description of your topic.
-Why are you contacting this place? - address specific collections you are interested in seeing, which finding aids or collection descriptions of theirs that interested you.
-What, specifically do you need from them?
Conclusion:
-If they don't have general open hours, ask to set up a time to visit.
-Ask if there are related collections or additional materials you should consult.
-Thank them for their time.
Dear Dr. Stark:
My name is Pepper Potts and I am a student at New York University. I am working on a project on the history of superheroes. On your website, I saw that you had information on Captain America [include specific collection name/finding aid/item]. I was wondering if there is a time I could come examine the materials, and if you had any additional or related collections.
Sincerely,
Pepper Potts
Meet the document (any primary source). Think about basic characteristics of the document.
Observe its parts. Who created it? When and where is it from?
Try to make sense of it. What information does it tell you? Why was it created? How does it related to historical events?
Use it as historical evidence. How does this support your understanding of an event or topic? How could you use the source?
For suggestions for how to analyze specific types of primary sources, consult the Library of Congress or the National Archives.
So you've found an image or other digital item from History Nebraska that you'd like to use, but you need more information.
Starting from Cornelia Crittenden Photograph, we'll look at how to get to the collection information.
In the metadata box at the top of the screen, there is some additional information. The collection code and collection name are important to us. Using the search box on the main History Nebraska website, do a search. Entering the FIRST part of the collection code - RG0796 - or the Collection Name WITHOUT the dates will bring us to the finding aid, which has biographical information on Crittenden. This method should work for most materials. When searching for people with common names, using the collection code is recommended.
Location
2508 11th Avenue, Kearney, NE 68849-2240
Contact Us
Circulation Desk: 308-865-8599
Main Office: 308-865-8535
UNK © 2024