Research Guides: Modern Languages: Databases

Key Databases for Modern Languages Research

JSTOR
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.

Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
Linguistics Collection
Includes Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts; provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in linguistics and language sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Oxford Dictionaries
Features English translations and grammar resources for four languages: Chinese, French, German, and Spanish.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926

Perspectives on life in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, from the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century.

More Recommended Databases

Key Databases for International Studies

Databases that are especially useful for students in International Studies are available from this link.

Because International Studies is a highly interdisciplinary area, besides the resources included in this guide, you may also want to think about what other areas your research topic could relate to, and explore those resources as well. Additional research guides, databases, and journals are available.

Access World News
This NewsBank database includes news content from 5,000 sources covering over 140 countries.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The Foreign Relations of the United States database presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 1,500 volumes containing invaluable information beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988.
History of International Law
This database includes information dating back to 1690 on the history of international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Examines social issues from a variety of sources: pro and con viewpoint articles; full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers; statistics and more.
World Factbook
Published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for over 250 world entities.

Finding Article Text - Library Catalogue

This guide will walk you through finding the full text of an article, starting from the main library search.

1. From search results, first make sure what you're interested in is an article. It will be indicated by "Article" before the title - where the green check is in the picture. Then click on the article title, indicated by the red arrow in the image.

2. Click "Available Online", indicated by the red arrow. This will show you the options for accessing the full article. This article has three options - highlighted by the red bracket. Pay attention to the dates listed under the title - you want to pick a source that includes the date of your article. All three options here are fine. Click any of the areas at which the green arrows point (titles and symbols). This will take you to the full article.

NOTE: Sometimes database links will take you to the journal rather than the individual article. If that happens, you can use the citation to find the article. Look at the year, volume and issue in the citation, and use them to navigate to the article for which you're looking.

3. Download the article. The download option will look a bit different in different databases. JSTOR, where the below pic is from, has the download button at the top, above the PDF viewer.