Research Guides: Autism: Autism Associations

Resources

Association for Autism and Neurodiversity
The Association for Autism and Neurodiversity (AANE) provides individuals, families, and professionals with information, education, community, support, and advocacy.
Autism Highway
Started by a woman whose son was diagnosed with autism, Autism Highway is both informative and fun. The website is easy to navigate and it provides an extensive list of autism-related events and specialists. In addition, Autism Highway includes interactive games for kids.
Autism Navigator
Autism Navigator is a collection of web-based tools and courses developed to bridge the gap between science and community practice. They have integrated the most current research into an interactive web platform with video to illustrate effective evidence-based practice. The video clips come from the rich library of video from federally funded research projects at the Autism Institute at Florida State University.
Autism Research Institute
The Autism Research Institute focuses on researching the causes of autism, as well as developing safe and effective treatments for those currently affected by the disorder.
Autism Speaks
Autism Speaks is an autism awareness, science, and advocacy organization. The website provides a comprehensive resource guide for all states. The 100 Day Kit for Newly Diagnosed Families of Young Children was created specifically for families of children ages 4 and under.
Autism Speaks : Comprehensive Resource Guide
Comprehensive resource guide for all states
Autism Speaks : 100 Day Kit for Young Children
The Autism Speaks 100 Day Kit helps families of children ages four and under make the best possible use of the 100 days following the diagnosis.
Autism Speaks : 100 Day Kit for School Age Children
The days after an autism diagnosis can be overwhelming. The Autism Speaks 100 Day Kit helps families of children between the ages of five and 13 make the best possible use of the 100 days following the diagnosis.
Disability Scoop
Sign up for Disability Scoop’s e-mail news to receive the most current updates on developmental disabilities. Disability Scoop’s experts have been cited by multiple online news sites.
MyAutismTeam
A free social network for parents of kids with autism. With over 30,000 parents registered on the site, you can find parents just like you based on where you live, the age of your child, your child's sub-diagnosis and developmental needs, and gender. Parents share tips, support, and photos, as well as ask and answer each others' questions. In addition, there is a searchable provider directory of over 35,000 autism specialists and autism-friendly providers constantly updated by parents on the site. MyAutismTeam is the official social network and resource guide for Autism Speaks.
Organization for Autism Research (OAR)
OAR’s mission is to apply research to the challenges of autism. The organization uses science to address the social, educational, and treatment concerns of self-advocates, parents, autism professionals, and caregivers. In addition to funding research, OAR disseminates new and useful information to as many members of the autism community as possible, and directs all research and programs initiatives toward enhancing the quality of life for individuals with autism.
Sesame Street and Autism : See Amazing in All Children
Sesame Workshop created Sesame Street and Autism: See Amazing in All Children, a nationwide initiative aimed at communities with children ages 2 to 5. Developed with input from parents, people who serve the autism community, and people with autism, See Amazing in All Children offers families ways to overcome common challenges and simplify everyday activities. The project also fosters an affirming narrative around autism for all families and kids.
Wrightslaw Special Education Law and Advocacy
A great site for accurate, reliable information about special education law, education law, and advocacy for children with disabilities. Early intervention is invaluable because it links parents to services in the community, but it can be hard to find services without a long waiting list. Families can search on their own for providers using the Wrightslaw Yellow Pages for Kids With Disabilities.
Wrightslaw Yellow Pages for Kids with Disabilities
Find educational consultants, psychologists, educational diagnosticians, health care providers, academic therapists, tutors, speech language therapists, occupational therapists, coaches, advocates, and attorneys for children with disabilities on the Yellow Pages for Kids for your state.
You will also find special education schools, learning centers, treatment programs, parent groups, respite care, community centers, grassroots organizations, and government programs for children with disabilities.

Professional Organizations

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)

American Speech-Language Hearing Association
ASHA is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students.
Autism (Autism Spectrum Disorder) - ASHA
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's overview of the Autism Spectrum Disorder
ASD for Speech-Language Pathologists - ASHA
Specific information about ASD for speech-language pathologists from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's Practice Portal.

The National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)

National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
NASET is a national membership organization dedicated to supporting teachers in the field of special education. NASET offers a rich library of information on a wide range of ASD topics, as well as the publication, Autism Spectrum Disorders Series.
Autism - NASET
Autism Spectrum Disorders Series - NASET

Federal Agencies and Federally-Funded Organizations

Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR)
The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central resource of information and products to the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs). The Parent Training and Information Centers (PTI) found in every state are a rich source of information and training tailored for parents, including parents whose primary language is not English or themselves have special training needs. In addition, Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRC) throughout the country serve targeted, underserved communities.
Find Your Parent Center - CPIR
Check here to find the PTI or CRPC that serves your community.
Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTA)
The Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTA), located at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, supports the strengthening of state and local service systems to ensure that children with disabilities and their families receive high-quality, evidence-based, culturally appropriate, and family-centered support and services.
IRIS Center
The IRIS Center, funded by the Office of Special Education Programs and based at Vanderbilt University and Claremont Graduate University, creates and disseminates resources about evidence-based instructional and intervention practices for preservice preparation and professional development programs.
Autism Spectrum Disorder Modules - IRIS Center
Autism Spectrum Disorder self-guided training modules for teachers.
National Professional Development Center on Autism (NPDC)
The National Professional Development Center on Autism (NPDC) has worked to develop free professional resources for teachers, therapists, and technical assistance providers who work with individuals with ASD. Resources include detailed information on how to plan, implement, and monitor specific evidence-based practices.

The U.S. Department of Education

When your child enters public school, he or she has rights under federal and state laws. The U.S. Department of Education has information about federal laws and state laws. The Department's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) supports projects that provide information and technical assistance to families of infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities. Families can also find a wealth of information about the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) at OSEP's IDEA website. The website contains the full text of IDEA and the regulations, as well as guidance documents and a wide range of other resources.

Federal and State Information
FAQs and contact information on the federal level, as well as contact information and websites on the state level.
Laws and Policy
Information about educational laws and policies that impact students and protect their rights.
Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP)
edicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts.
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)
Brings together IDEA information and resources from the Department and our grantees.