Thematic Lists

Retells the story of Verdi's opera in which the love of the enslaved Ethiopian princess for an Egyptian general brings tragedy to all involved.
Written by Leontyne Price, who performed the role of Aida in the audio recording listed below

Audio recording

Visual recording

Children's book about Humperdinck's opera

Audio recording

Visual recording

Enter a magical world of monster serpents, mysterious ladies, and flying machines where giant flowers and butterflies the size of birds abound. It is here, amidst a lush wood and within a dark labyrinthine castle that an unforgettable cast of characters gathers and a magical story of good versus evil unfolds. Readers will thrill as Prince Tamino strives to save Princess Pamina from the wicked Queen of the Night and the Chancellor Monostatos. Accompanied by Papageno, the birdcatcher, and a magic flute to ward off evil, Tamino and Pamina must overcome thundering waterfalls and walls of fire to save their kingdom from darkness and live happily ever after. Illustrated with the glorious paintings of Peter Malone, this enchanting retelling of Mozart's famous opera paired with an audio CD is sure to delight lovers of fairytales and music alike.

Visual recording

Wagner's Der ring des Nibelungen written for children

An allegory telling the mythic tale of the battle for power between the Nibelung dwarfs, the giants, and the gods.
5 DVD set with visual recordings off all four parts of the Ring Cycle

Audio recording

Audio recording

Audio recording

Audio recording

The Russian artists Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky were popular in their time: Stravinsky for music, Nijinsky for dance. When their radically new ballet, The Rite of Spring, was first performed in Paris on May 29, 1913, the reaction was so polarized, there were fistfights and riots! Brilliant or disastrous, the performance marked the birth of modern music and dance. Stringer's rhythmic text and gloriously inventive, color-rich paintings capture the wild and imaginative collaboration of composer and choreographer. The fascinating author note includes photos of the dynamic duo and The Rite of Spring dancers.

Music director Michael Tilson Thomas and the musicians of the San Francisco Symphony go from the salons of St. Petersburg to the villages where Stravinsky found inspiration in the earthy power of Russian folk music and dance. Thomas then retraces Stravinsky's journey to the cultural crossroads of pre-war Paris, where the composer collaborates with the great impresario Diaghilev and his star dancer Nijinsky to develop the shocking, erotic, and violent evocation of pagan Russia that became The Rite of Spring. Includes a live performance of Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring and music from The Firebird by the San Francisco Symphony, with Thomas conducting.
Visual recording

Audio recording

But oh! what a fabulous night he had had, When his world was turned into a zoo! After wandering off from a school field trip, a young boy falls asleep in the Natural History Museum. There he sees his classmates, teachers, and family transformed into a menagerie of animals, from wild hyenas to stately peacocks. John Lithgow's exhilarating word play, inspired by Camille Saint-Saëns's 1886 composition, provides a narrative arc to the piece for the first time. Lithgow created the text for the New York City Ballet, where the Carnival of the Animals ballet, with his narration, debuted in 2003. Boris Kulikov's witty artistic interpretation of the story adds to the fun. A new recording of Saint-Saëns's suite, performed by Chamber Music Los Angeles under the direction of Bill Elliott, complete with John Lithgow's recitation of the text, is included on an enclosed CD.

A great way to introduce children to classical music. America's first Children's Poet Laureate has written all-new verses to accompany the composer Camille Saint-Saens's The Carnival of the Animals, and the illustrator of the Harry Potter books has turned these rollicking rhymes into a picture-book fun fest. Included is a CD of the music and of Jack Prelutsky reading the verses. A note to parents and teachers by Judith Bachleitner, head of the music department at the prestigious Rudolf Steiner School in New York City, suggests ways preschoolers can act out the music-tromp like an elephant, hop like a kangaroo, glide like a swan-or, for older children, be creatively inspired by this joyful work.

Lesson plan material

Audio recording

Lesson plan material

Audio recording

Lesson plan material

Audio recording

For introducing children to rhythm and the exploration of sounds and tones. Booklet ("Ella Jenkins' rhythm fun") includes instructions and suggestions for use;
Includes claves, tone block with mallet, 2 hand castanets, copper cowbell with mallet, tambourine, guiro tone block with mallet, guiro with scratcher, 2 maracas, limbertoy dancer

A set of rhythm band instruments for small children;
Includes 2 tambourines (6 1/2 inch), 2 cymbals (7 inch), 1 triangle (5 inch) and striker, 1 gourd tone block and mallet, 1 hand drum (7 inch) and 1 drumstick

14 best-loved arias performed in English by the world's finest opera stars

Filled with fact and fancy about the world's most notable composers and their masterpieces, each Sing Along Symphony opens the door to "serious music" in a way that's fun. The orchestral performance of each piece in included

Complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, issued as 170 discs, color-coded by genre, in box

Bach cantatas Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt, Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele, and Wachet! betet! betet! wachet!

Handel's oratorio

The book features nearly 50 authentic editions of each song in the original keys. The songs have been carefully chosen for each voice type and are culled from a wide selection of classic and contemporary shows.

Two accompaniment CDs in each package which match the books containing a collection of songs from the musical stage, categorized by voice type. The selections are presented in their authentic settings, excerpted from the original vocal scores.

Beethoven

Drawing on archival performance footage and interviews... evokes the vast panorama of the world of the violin in the 20th century and its most outstanding performers. ... some silent, and later resynchronised, film footage

Concerto for violin and orchestra in D, op. 61 / Ludwig van Beethoven -- Concerto for violin and orchestra in D, op. 77 / Johannes Brahms

Follows Isaac Stern to China where he taught classical music to Chinese students. Contains a segment on the suffering of Chinese musicians during the Cultural Revolution. Also includes a short film which documents Stern's return to China twenty years after his original visit

In this master class, taught by William Pleeth, Kari Jane Docter, student cellist and Peggy Gray, pianist peform the Allegro vivace from Brahms' Sonata in F, op. 99.
This is vol. 1 of eight cello masterclasses taught by William Pleeth

From Ignace Jan Paderewski in 1936 to Claudio Arrau in 1970, 'The Art of Piano' features some of the most fascinating material, historically and musically, from the world's film and television archives.

Leonard Bernstein earned glory as a composer, conductor, and pianist (classical and jazz), but nothing gave him more pleasure than the joy of teaching. He presented the unique blend of spoken words and music. He is an intensely interactive teacher, getting his audience to sing, springing a quiz full of trick questions. He can take the most abstruse subject and present them to a young audience with clarity, without condescension, and with a clear sense of the material's value. His subject-matter is enormously varied

A series of events, some seemingly very insignificant, lead to a young girl attending a life-changing concert

Basher brings his signature pop-life style to a whole new topic in this one-stop guide to the building blocks of music. Meet Rhythm and Pitch, who know how to hold a tune; Time Signature, who loves to keep control; clever Chord, who works patterns to great effect; Brass, the powerful loudmouth of the instrument types; and Classical, Pop and Electronic from a crew of sweet characters. The personality-based explanations will make it easy to remember the essential concepts behind musical expression. You'll never look at the orchestra or listen to a piece of music in the same way again!

Illustrated with works from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection, this title celebrates the world of sound while also introducing young readers to important works of art. It also includes a CD of classical music.

Meet the famous composer George Gershwin and learn about his remarkable composition "Rhapsody In Blue" in this engaging nonfiction picture book biography, George Gershwin heard music all the time--at home, at school, even on New York City's busy streets. Classical, ragtime, blues, and jazz--George's head was filled with a whole lot of razzmatazz! With rhythmic swirls of words and pictures, author Suzanne Slade and illustrator Stacy Innerst beautifully reveal just how brilliantly Gershwin combined various kinds of music to create his masterpiece, Rhapsody in Blue, a surprising and whirlwind composition of notes, sounds, and one long wail of a clarinet. Includes author's note, timeline, and bibliography.

George Gershwin only has a few weeks to compose a concerto. His piece is supposed to exemplify American music and premiere at a concert entitled "An Experiment in Modern Music." Homesick for New York while rehearsing for a musical in Boston, he soon realizes that American music is much like its people, a great melting pot of sounds, rhythms, and harmonies. JoAnn Kitchel's illustrations capture the 1920s in all their art deco majesty. Includes a CD of "Rhapsody in Blue" performed by George Gershwin (1925 piano roll) and the Columbia Jazz Band, conducted by Michael Tilson Thomas.

From award-winning author Susan Hood and illustrator Sally Wern Comport comes the extraordinary true tale of the Recycled Orchestra of Paraguay, an orchestra made up of children playing instruments built from recycled trash. Ada Ríos grew up in Cateura, a small town in Paraguay built on a landfill. She dreamed of playing the violin, but with little money for anything but the bare essentials, it was never an option...until a music teacher named Favio Chávez arrived. He wanted to give the children of Cateura something special, so he made them instruments out of materials found in the trash. It was a crazy idea, but one that would leave Ada--and her town--forever changed. Now, the Recycled Orchestra plays venues around the world, spreading their message of hope and innovation.

Giuseppe Verdi dominated Italian opera for 50 years, and his operas are performed throughout the world today. Verdi for Kids offers young readers an accessible, behind-the-scenes peek into the exciting world of opera and traces Verdi's path to fame, delving into the great composer's childhood, musical training, family tragedies, and professional setbacks and successes. Kids also learn about the Italians' passion for opera and Italy's tumultuous past, key political figures, and cultural pastimes. Aspiring sopranos, baritones, musicians, conductors, and stage directors will learn about opera jobs and production, what happens at rehearsal, and music terms and vocabulary, gaining an understanding of opera's rich tradition. Offering a time line, glossary, and list of additional resources, Verdi for Kids is an engaging resource for students, parents, and teachers. Fun hands-on activities illuminate both the music concepts introduced and the times in which Verdi lived.

In September 1941, Adolf Hitler's Wehrmacht surrounded Leningrad in what was to become one of the longest and most destructive sieges in Western history--almost three years of bombardment and starvation that culminated in the harsh winter of 1943-1944. More than a million citizens perished. Survivors recall corpses littering the frozen streets, their relatives having neither the means nor the strength to bury them. Residents burned books, furniture, and floorboards to keep warm; they ate family pets and--eventually--one another to stay alive. Trapped between the Nazi invading force and the Soviet government itself was composer Dmitri Shostakovich, who would write a symphony that roused, rallied, eulogized, and commemorated his fellow citizens--the Leningrad Symphony, which came to occupy a surprising place of prominence in the eventual Allied victory. This is the true story of a city under siege: the triumph of bravery and defiance in the face of terrifying odds. It is also a look at the power--and layered meaning--of music in beleaguered lives.

Ludwig van Beethoven was a great innovator who expanded the limits of classical music to write some of the biggest, boldest, most complex and revolutionary compositions of all time. This fascinating man and his works are brought vividly to life and made relevant to today in Beethoven for Kids . Young readers will be intrigued by Beethoven's hardscrabble childhood and turbulent family life, his early gift and passion for music, and his famously fiery personality. In addition, they'll learn about the great musicians and thinkers and historical events and movements of Beethoven's time and how they affected the composer's life and music. Kids will be inspired to learn how Beethoven championed equality and freedom throughout his life, rejected the strict societal divisions and norms of the day, and never gave up on his work despite increasing hearing loss. Budding musicians will also come away with a thorough understanding of complex music concepts such as counterpoint, ornamentation, improvisation, and motifs. Twenty-one engaging, hands-on activities illuminate the times in which Beethoven lived or reinforce music concepts introduced.

When Lenny was two years old, his mother found that the only way to soothe her crying son was to turn on the Victrola. When his aunt passed on her piano to Lenny's parents, the boy demanded lessons. When Lenny went to school, he had the most fun during "singing hours." But Lenny's love of music was met with opposition from the start. Lenny's father, a successful businessman, wanted Lenny to follow in his footsteps. Additionally, the classical music world of the 1930s and 1940s was dominated by Europeans--no American Jewish kid had a serious chance to make a name for himself in this field. Beginning with Lenny's childhood in Boston and ending with his triumphant conducting debut at Carnegie Hall with the New York Philharmonic when he was just twenty-five, MUSIC WAS IT draws readers into the energetic, passionate, challenging, music-filled life of young Leonard Bernstein. Archival photographs, mostly from the Leonard Bernstein Collection at the Library of Congress, illustrate this fascinating biography, which also includes a foreword by Bernstein's daughter Jamie. Extensive back matter includes biographies of important people in Bernstein's life, as well as a discography of his music.

Here are the life stories of such diverse figures as Vivaldi, Mozart, Scott Joplin, Nadia Boulanger, and Woody Guthrie. Readers will learn of both their musical natures and the personal, humorous characteristics that make their lives so fascinating. Living, breathing anecdotes--the stuff of which the best biography is made.

Before becoming one of the greatest violinists of all time, Itzhak Perlman was simply a boy who loved music. Raised by a poor immigrant family in a tiny Tel Aviv apartment, baby Itzhak was transformed by the sounds from his family's kitchen radio--graceful classical symphonies, lively klezmer tunes, and soulful cantorial chants. The rich melodies and vibrant rhythms spoke to him like magic, filling his mind with vivid rainbows of color. After begging his parents for an instrument, Itzhak threw his heart and soul into playing the violin. Despite enormous obstacles--including a near-fatal bout of polio that left him crippled for life--Itzhak persevered, honing his extraordinary gift. When he performed on the Ed Sullivan Show sat only 13, audiences around the world were mesmerized by the warmth, joy, and passion in every note. Gorgeously illustrated with extensive back matter, this picture-book biography recounts Itzhak's childhood journey--from a boy with a dream to an internationally acclaimed violin virtuoso.

When Allegra was a little girl, she thought she would pick up her violin and it would sing for her--that the music was hidden inside her instrument. Now that Allegra is twelve, she believes the music is in her fingers, and the summer after seventh grade she has to teach them well. She's the youngest contestant in the Ernest Bloch Young Musicians' Competition. She knows she will learn the notes to the concerto, but what she doesn't realize is she'll also learn--how to close the gap between herself and Mozart to find the real music inside her heart.

Takes a look at the history of music, how instruments are made, and how they have evolved today

Almost nowhere is perfectly silent, except outer space ... sounds and noises are a vital part of our daily lives. Imagine not talking for a day! We hear laughter and sighs, music and clapping, roaring traffic, warning sirens and pattering raindrops. Sounds bring our world to life, and with today's technology we can make, alter, store and replay them in so many ways.

If you can read musical notes, you can sing any song or play any piece. But musical notes have not always been here. Long ago, songs were memorized. If songs were forgotten, they were lost forever. Thanks to one man, Guido d'Arezzo, music now can last forever.

When the Lusitania was attacked in 1915, the American composer and New Yorker Charles Ives transformed the experience of this heartbreaking news into a musical piece. It begins with a jumble of traffic noises, then the hurdy-gurdy swells into the lovely old hymn "In the Sweet Bye-and-Bye." In lyrical text and watercolors--sometimes in dramatic wordless spreads--this thoughtful picture book reveals not only a wartime tragedy, but a composer's conviction that everyday music can convey profound emotion--and help heal a city. Young readers will understand that if they listen, music can be heard in the unlikeliest of places, from the busy chatter of a market to the wail of a fire engine.

The look on our faces is easy to read: a little night music is just what we need! A late-spring night sky fills with bats flocking to a theater, already echoing and booming with delightful sounds of music. Bat music--plunky banjoes, bat-a-tat drums, improvised instruments, country ballads, and the sweet cries of a bat with the blues. Join this one-of-a-kind music festival as the bats celebrate the rhythm of the night, and the positive power of music. Brian Lies's newest celebration of bats and their dazzling, dizzying world will lift everyone's spirits with joyous noise and cheer!

Photographs from around the world celebrate the universal joy that kids get from making music, whether they're playing instruments, clapping their hands, stomping their feet, or singing. Music can help express one child's feelings--or it can bring a whole community together

A young girl longs to play the violin in this lyrical story that shows it's never too late to pursue your dream.More than anything, Elva wants a violin--but her parents say no. So she pretends. When she should be brushing her teeth, Elva rehearses for recitals. When she should be learning subtraction or going to sleep, she imagines playing all the music in the world. The years pass, but Elva never forgets her childhood wish, and so one day she takes a deep breath and follows her heart . . .

Bartolomeo Cristofori coaxes just the right sounds from the musical instruments he makes. Some of his keyboards can play piano, light and soft; others make forte notes ring out, strong and loud, but Cristofori longs to create an instrument that can be played both soft and loud. His talent has caught the attention of Prince Ferdinando de Medici, who wants his court to become the musical center of Italy. The prince brings Cristofori to the noisy city of Florence, where the goldsmiths' tiny hammers whisper tink, tink and the blacksmiths' big sledgehammers shout BANG, BANG! Could hammers be the key to the new instrument? At last Cristofori gets his creation just right. It is called the pianoforte, for what it can do. All around the world, people young and old can play the most intricate music of their lives, thanks to Bartolomeo Cristofori's marvelous creation: the piano.

Young Drasko is happy working with his father in the Sarajevo market. Then war encroaches. Drasko must run the family flower stand alone. One morning, the bakery is bombed and twenty-two people are killed. The next day, a cellist walks to the bombsite and plays the most heartbreaking music Drasko can imagine. The cellist returns for twenty-two days, one day for each victim of the bombing. Inspired by the musician's response, Drasko finds a way to help make Sarajevo beautiful again. Inspired by real events of the Bosnian War, award-winning songwriter and storyteller John McCutcheon tells the uplifting story of the power of beauty in the face of violence and suffering. The story comes to life with the included CD in which cellist Vedran Smailovic accompanies McCutcheon and performs the melody that he played in 1992 to honor those who died in the Sarajevo mortar blast.

As a little girl, Teresa Carreño loved to let her hands dance across the beautiful keys of the piano. If she felt sad, music cheered her up, and when she was happy, the piano helped her share that joy. Soon she was writing her own songs and performing in grand cathedrals. Then a revolution in Venezuela forced her family to flee to the United States. Teresa felt lonely in this unfamiliar place, where few of the people she met spoke Spanish. Worst of all, there was fighting in her new home, too--the Civil War. Still, Teresa kept playing, and soon she grew famous as the talented Piano Girl who could play anything from a folk song to a sonata. So famous, in fact, that President Abraham Lincoln wanted her to play at the White House! Yet with the country torn apart by war, could Teresa's music bring comfort to those who needed it most?

Discover the inspiring illustrated true story about one girl's escape from the Holocaust to become a concert pianist against all odds, made popular by the beloved novel The Children of Willesden Lane. In pre-World War II Vienna, Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who dreamed of becoming a concert pianist. But when enemy forces threatened the city--particularly the Jewish people that lived there--Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. They chose to send Lisa to London for safety through the Kindertransport--a rescue effort that relocated Jewish children. As Lisa yearned to be reunited with her family while living in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, her music became a beacon of hope for those around her. A true story of courage, survival, and determination, this compelling tribute to a gifted young girl has already touched the lives of many around the world.

When Carnegie Hall first opened its doors in 1891, no one could have predicted its incredible success. With talented artists like Duke Ellington and Albert Einstein gracing its stage, the hall quickly became a place where all people--no matter their skin color, religion, or social status--could come together under one roof to be entertained. People like Isaac Stern. The son of Jewish immigrants who fled war-torn Ukraine for America to escape the Holocaust, Isaac was a talented violinist whose dream of one day performing on Carnegie Hall's legendary stage came true, many times over. So when a real estate tycoon sets out to demolish Carnegie Hall, Isaac knew something had to be done to preserve decades of hopes, dreams, and inclusivity. Author Megan Hoyt and illustrator Katie Hickey tell the true story of one man's fight to save a historical landmark whose timeless symbol of equality will forever stand the test of time.

Music and the alphabet have always gone together. Don't kids learn their letters by singing the ABCs? But you've never seen--or heard--a musical alphabet like this one. Beloved tunes. Unusual instruments. Legendary virtuosos. From anthems to zydeco, the language of music and the music of language harmonize in one superb symphony. It's a funky fusion for songsters of all ages! Playful text opens up the world of music to the youngest readers, and conversational endnotes offer older readers a springboard to further musical explorations.

Introduces the life of the French composer, Erik Satie, who spent his entire career challenging established conventions in music

A piano prodigy, Clara Schumann made her professional debut at the age of nine and had embarked on her first European concert tour by the time she was twelve. Clara charmed audiences with her soulful playing throughout her life. Music was a constant source of inspiration and support for this strong and resilient woman. After the death of her husband, Robert Schumann, Clara continued her brilliant career and supported their eight children. Clara Schumann's extraordinary story is supplemented with her letters and diary entries, some of which have never before been published in English. Gorgeous portraits and photographs show the members of Clara's famous musical community and Clara herself from age eight to seventy-six.

This book is designed to foster independent study, research, writing, and oral presentation skills in students in grades four through six. The lessons, which integrate several content areas, can be used for enrichment or extension in the classroom or as a homework assignment. The forty lessons, four for each of ten months, September through June, are connected to a famous person or event associated with that month. An index indicates the content areas and skills taught in each lesson.
Includes a lesson entitled "Making Music"

Teaching Music through Composition offers a practical and fully multimedia curriculum of over 60 lesson plans in 29 units of study, including student assignments sheets, worksheets, handouts, and audio, MIDI, and video files on a companion website. Author and award-winning music educator Barbara Freedman presents classroom-tested ways of teaching a wide array of musical topics, including general/basic music theory, music appreciation and analysis, keyboarding, composing/arranging, even ear-training (aural theory) using technology that will directly engage students in the twenty first century. The larger curriculum objective of this book is to teach basic musical concepts through the creative process of music composition. The tool with which students create, edit, save, and reproduce music is the technology. As Freedman demonstrates, technology allows a musical experience for all skill levels in opportunities never before available to compose music without having to know much about traditional music theory or notation. All students can have meaningful hands-on applied learning experiences that will impact not only their music experience and learning but also their understanding and comfort with 21st century technology. Whether the primary focus of your class is to use technology to create music or to explore using technology as a unit or two, this book will show you how it can be done with practical, tried-and-true lesson plans and student activities.

Plan an entire year of an arts-integrated mathematics curriculum with ready-to-use lesson plans and resources designed for elementary classroom and music teachers. Eighteen lesson plans combine the mathematics curriculum with music, movement, and visual art to enrich your classroom instruction and supplement your curricula. Author and educator Karin Nolan has gathered primary elementary math and fine arts standards from around the country (including the national arts standards) and created lessons for those objectives found most often. Also included are guidelines for developing your arts-integrated lesson plans to maximize your students' learning and creativity. There is a unique gentleness and passion in music and the arts that one cannot experience or express through any other means, and this book brings some of that beauty and creativity into elementary classrooms. Teachers reinforce both math and musical concepts through enjoyable techniques designed to enhance student mastery. Musi-Matics! has also successfully been used in college classes for elementary education and music education methods courses. This book guides teachers and future teachers through the lesson planning process and through arts-integration concepts.

While program building is an essential, time-consuming part of every music teacher's job, students are rarely prepared for it. Ryan covers issues important to student teachers, new teachers, teachers changing schools, and teachers looking to rejuvenate their existing programs.

Looks at each of the National Standards for Music Education and breaks them down into concepts that are teachable in any music classroom

Introduction to Effective Music Teaching: Artistry and Attitude provides the prospective teacher with front-line tested strategies and approaches that are based on current research and the author's three decades of service as a public school music educator, department chairman, and public school district music administrator. Starting with a brief overview of the history of music education in public schools, Alfred Townsend gives the reader a deeper understanding of the importance of music education to all students, gifted or not. Readers then examine artistry (command of content and mastery of methods) and the ABCs of teacher attitude, the critical component that unlocks learning for many students. With an open and accessible writing style, Dr. Townsend reviews the six components of effective teaching, showing that artistry and attitude can be combined to fuel student learning and teacher leadership. Using all of this information, the reader constructs a personal, practical philosophy of music teaching and learning that will form the basis for his or her instruction. Readers will also experience artistry and attitude in action through well-written case studies of effective teachers. With increasingly diverse student populations teachers now face, this book provides music teachers with ways to interact effectively with students of all backgrounds, attitudes, and talent.

Current and future music educators must continually adapt their teaching philosophies, strategies, rehearsals, music selection processes, assessment practices, and grading procedures to justify one of the most important subjects a student can study-music! Common Core: Re-Imagining the Music Rehearsal and Classroom -complete with workbook exercises and reflective questions-is about transforming a written document, The Common Core State Standards, into practical applications in the music classroom. Authors Paul and Ann Kimpton outline how to use the Common Core State Standards to help students develop a higher level of understanding of musical skills and content, to help students engage with music more deeply and with more meaning. Intended for K--16 music educators, administrators, and pre-service educators, this book is an excellent resource that can have a profound impact on the music classroom.

Language Arts, Math, and Science in the Elementary Music Classroom provides a practical guide to help music teachers incorporate elementary classroom subjects into their curriculum using STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math)-inspired strategies, with added emphasis on social studies. It includes a complete elementary music curriculum for kindergarten, first, and second grades, and has cross-referencing charts for regular elementary classroom teachers to find music activities for their classroom. Importantly, it shows teachers how to include the artistic processes of creating, performing, responding, and connecting in their lessons. These processes make up the new music standards featured in NAfME's new Core Arts Music Standards. In order to maximize comprehension, the book includes assessment tests, sheet music, work sheet templates, and brainstorming activities centered on using technology to enhance composition projects. Lesson plans are organized by the calendar year, each inspired by the seasons, American culture, and world culture. These lessons may be used as is or used to generate new curricula altogether.

Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs: A Practical Resource brings together theory, policy, and planning for instruction in K-12 classrooms. The resource is a result of collaboration between K-12 teachers, outstanding undergraduate and graduate music education students, and professionals in the field. The lesson ideas, lesson plans, and unit plans are organized according to the six domains posited by Alice Hammel and Ryan Hourigan in their book, Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs: A Label-free Approach, Second Edition. This book equips music educators with understanding necessary to implement teaching ideas into the domains of cognition, communication, behavior, emotions, and physical and sensory needs. Classroom-tested lesson plans include procedure outlines and assessments as well as guides for adaptation, accommodation, and modification needed for successful implementation in K-12 classrooms. As such, this eminently useful guide provides teachers with enough practical ideas to allow them to begin to create and adapt their own lesson plans for use with students of differing needs and abilities.

This book is designed to support K-5 classroom teachers as they integrate music throughout the elementary curriculum. It contains detailed, practical ideas and examples, including full lesson plans and over 100 teaching ideas and strategies for integrating music with visual art, language arts, social studies, science, and mathematics. Following an overview of the interdisciplinary approach, the remaining chapters explore connections between music and other areas of the elementary curriculum. Each chapter also includes a section addressing national standards with tables showing the specific standards that are included in each lesson and activity. This text utilizes the most recent National Core Arts Standards (2015) as well as the most recent standards in mathematics, science, social studies, and language arts. All the lessons in this book are designed to be fully taught by classroom teachers; the content is accessible to those who lack formal music training, yet is solidly rooted in research and best practices. While classroom teachers can teach these lessons on their own, this book may facilitate partnerships and collaboration between classroom teachers and music specialists. All the lessons and activities included in this text have been reviewed by practicing teachers and most have been field tested in elementary classrooms. Throughout the book, there is an emphasis on interdisciplinary lessons that demonstrate valid connections between disciplines while maintaining the integrity of each discipline involved, including a teacher-tested model that allows teachers to successfully create their own interdisciplinary lessons.

Grades K-8

Grades 9-12

A card game to learn the various notes in music