Research Guides: Thematic Lists: Winnie-the-Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh

Whether you know him as Winnie-the-Pooh, Edward Bear, Pooh Bear, or just Pooh, A.A. Milne's literary creation is known to generations across the world! Learn more about this bear of "very little brain" and the real life inspiration behind this character! Interested in more items about A. A. Milne's works or teddy bears in general? Check out our catalog!

A. A. Milne's Original Works

When We Were Very Young
A classic celebration of childhood, A. A. Milne's When We Were Very Young is a collection of poems that have touched the hearts of readers for more than 90 years. His verses sing with a playful innocence, weaving together the worlds of reality and enchanting make-believe. Published two years before Winnie-the-Pooh, careful readers will also discover the very first appearance of the Best Bear in All the World. These treasured poems are perfectly matched by Ernest Shepard's whimsical illustrations, which have delighted countless readers. These poems have been read and re-read to generations of children, and today, they can still find a cherished place on every bookshelf.
Winnie-The-Pooh
Since 1926, Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends--Piglet, Owl, Tigger, and the ever doleful Eeyore--have endured as the unforgettable creations of A.A. Milne, who wrote this book for his son, Christopher Robin, and Ernest H. Shepard, who lovingly gave Pooh and his companions shape. These characters and their stories are timeless treasures of childhood that continue to speak to all of us with the kind of freshness and heart that distinguishes true storytelling.
Now We Are Six
A collection of poetry, including King John's Christmas, Sneezles, Us Two, Cradle Song, and other poems from the life and imagination of a small child.
The House at Pooh Corner
Return to the Hundred Acre Wood in A.A. Milne's second collection of Pooh stories, The House at Pooh Corner. Here you will rediscover all the characters you met in Winnie-the-Pooh: Christopher Robin, Eeyore, Owl, Piglet, Kanga, tiny Roo, and, of course, Pooh himself. Joining them is the thoroughly bouncy and lovable Tigger, who leads the rest into unforgettable adventures. Since 1926, Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends have endured as the unforgettable creations of A.A. Milne, who wrote these stories for his son, Christopher Robin, and Ernest H. Shepard, who lovingly gave Pooh and his companions shape. These characters and their stories are timeless treasures of childhood that continue to speak to all of us with the kind of freshness and heart that distinguishes true storytelling.
Pooh
Inspired by Milne's original works and featuring Shepard's original illustrations, this Winnie-the-Pooh shaped board book tells the story of how Winnie the Pooh ate too much honey and became stuck in Rabbit's door.

Lesson Plan Materials

These lesson plan materials focus on A. A. Milne's works and not the Disney adaptations

Monthly mini-lessons : forty projects for independent study, grades 2 and 3
This book is designed to foster independent study, research, writing, and oral presentation skills for students in grades two and three. The lessons, which integrate several content areas, can be used for enrichment or extension in the classroom or as a homework assignment. The forty lessons, four for each of ten months, September through June, are connected to a famous person or event associated with that month. An index indicates the content areas and skills taught in each lesson.
Includes an activity on Winnie-the-Pooh
Daily celebration activities : September through January
With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes an activity for Pooh Day, which is held on A.A. Milne's birth anniversary

Real Life Winnie

The character of Winnie-the-Pooh is based off a teddy bear that A.A. Milne's son, Christopher Robin, had. The character of Christopher Robin himself is based on Milne's actual son. But, what about the name of this bear?

Winnie : the true story of the bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh
Who could care for a bear? When Harry Colebourn saw a baby bear for sale at the train station, he knew he could care for it. Harry was a veterinarian. But he was also a soldier in training for World War I. Harry named the bear Winnie, short for Winnipeg, his company's home town, and he brought her along to the training camp in England. Winnie followed Harry everywhere and slept under his cot every night. Before long, she became the regiment's much-loved mascot. But who could care for the bear when Harry had to go to the battleground in France? Harry found just the right place for Winnie while he was away -- the London Zoo. There a little boy named Christopher Robin came along and played with Winnie -- he could care for this bear too! Sally Walker's heartwarming story, paired with Jonathan Voss's evocative illustrations, brings to life the story of the real bear who inspired Winnie the Pooh.
Finding Winnie : the true story of the world's most famous bear
In 1914, Harry Colebourn, a veterinarian on his way to tend horses in World War I, followed his heart and rescued a baby bear. He named her Winnie, after his hometown of Winnipeg, and he took the bear to war. Harry Colebourn's real-life great-granddaughter tells the true story of a remarkable friendship and an even more remarkable journey--from the fields of Canada to a convoy across the ocean to an army base in England... And finally to the London Zoo, where Winnie made another new friend: a real boy named Christopher Robin. Before Winnie-the-Pooh, there was a real bear named Winnie. And she was a girl!
Winnie's Great War
Here is a heartwarming imagining of the real journey undertaken by the extraordinary bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh. From her early days with her mama in the Canadian forest, to her remarkable travels with the Veterinary Corps across the country and overseas, and all the way to the London Zoo where she met Christopher Robin Milne and inspired the creation of the world's most famous bear, Winnie is on a great war adventure. This beautifully told story is a triumphant blending of deep research and magnificent imagination. Infused with Sophie Blackall's irresistible renderings of an endearing bear, the book is also woven through with entries from Captain Harry Colebourn's real wartime diaries and contains a selection of artifacts from the Colebourn Family Archives. The result is a one-of-a-kind exploration into the realities of war, the meaning of courage, and the indelible power of friendship, all told through the historic adventures of one extraordinary bear.
Who were they really? : the true stories behind famous characters
In a heavily illustrated, scrapbook format, readers will learn about the real-life people behind the beloved book characters they've come to know. From Christopher Robin and Peter Rabbit to Peter Pan's Lost Boys and Alice in Wonderland, award-winning author Susan Beth Pfeffer explores the real lives of the real people who inspired the creation of literature's greatest characters. There are even a few surprises about Mother Goose! Also includes an entry on Winnie-the-Pooh

Posthumous Sequels

A. A. Milne has been gone for many years, but his works still inspire authors today! Check out these titles featuring new stories of Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends in the Hundred Acre Woods!

Return to the Hundred Acre Wood : in which Winnie-the-Pooh enjoys further adventures with Christopher Robin and his friends
Collects the further stories of Christopher Robin and his imaginary animal friends in the Hundred Acre Wood, where the animals anticipate Christopher Robin's return, meet a new friend, and solve the mystery of missing bees
The best bear in all the world : in which we join Winnie-the-Pooh for a year of adventures in the Hundred Acre Wood
The Trustees of the Pooh Properties have commissioned four authors to write in the timeless style of A.A. Milne to create a quartet of charming new adventures for Winnie-the-Pooh, Christopher Robin, and their friends. Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall: take a trip back to the Hundred Acre Wood with a collection of tales sure to delight year-round. One story finds Winnie-the-Pooh and Piglet on a quest to discover the "Sauce of the Nile" (they suspect it's apple). And in another, all the animals rally around poor Eeyore when he thinks he sees another donkey eyeing his clover. The winter story features a new penguin character, based on a stuffed toy owned by Christopher Robin Milne himself. Readers of all ages will love rediscovering old friends and making new ones in this essential new volume of Pooh stories. The book feature beautiful color artwork in the style of Ernest H. Shepard by Mark Burgess.

Disney's Winnie the Pooh

For a number of years, the Walt Disney Company created many productions based around Milne's characters...and even created characters of their own (as Gopher often reminds the inhabitants of the Hundred Acre Woods in the original Disney adaptations, he's not in the book)! We have a number of tie-in titles in the Juvenile Literature Collection, some of which are listed below. For more, search for "Milne" in our catalog, and limit the location using the Filter options in the search results to "Juvenile Literature"

Walt Disney's the many adventures of Winnie the Pooh : a classic Disney treasury
Collects together all the stories from the classic Disney animated films featuring Winnie-the-Pooh
Disney's Pooh's grand adventure : the search for Christopher Robin
When they can't find Christopher Robin, Pooh and his friends undertake a perilous search for him, and learn they're smarter, braver, and more loyal than they ever dreamed they'd be
Winnie the Pooh, the blustery day : a story
Walt Disney's Winnie the Pooh and Tigger too
Rabbit plans to unbounce Tigger, but he discovers he likes a bouncy Tigger best
Walt Disney presents Winnie-the-Pooh meets Gopher : based on a story
Growing up stories
A compilation of five My Very First Winnie the Pooh stories in one book, this classic collection teaches preschoolers basic concepts like the seasons and to quell anxieties about scary firsts--like a visit to the doctor or the first day of school.
More growing up stories
This classic collection of six lovable Pooh stories teaches preschoolers basic concepts and quells their anxieties about new experiences - like having a new babysitter or moving to a new home.
Disney's Winnie the Pooh's bedtime stories
Contains an original bedtime story for every night of the week, each featuring a different character from the Hundred-Acre-Wood.
A Perfect Little Piglet
Piglet is disappointed in himself because he is so small until his friends point out all the beautiful things in the world that are small, too
On the case!
The Super Sleuths are out to solve some mysteries. Can you help them with their cases as they try to make such decisions as to whether Rabbit brought enough apples or how they will obtain one long rope for jumping rope together, when they have only two short ones.
Pooh's Scavenger Hunt
Christopher Robin sends Pooh and the gang off on a scavenger hunt. On their list is a leaf, a flower, honey -- and the greatest thing in the whole world. Although Pooh is not quite sure what is greater than honey, the friends set off, determined to find the greatest thing.
An Arts and Crafts Day
When Piglet hosts an "Arts & Crafts Day" all his friends come up with wonderful creative projects that they are proud to show and tell about
All year long!
Depicts the activities of Winnie-the-Pooh and his friend Piglet during each season of the year.
Everyone Is Special
Tigger learns that being different makes him special.
Walt Disney's Winnie the Pooh Dictionary
Winnie the Pooh, Christopher Robin, and their friends are shown in activities which illustrate sentences using words beginning with each letter of the alphabet