The world is full of folktales...and so are the Juvenile Literature collections of the Calvin T. Ryan Library! Folktales can be found in each of the three collections that comprise the Juvenile Literature collections...the main Juvenile Literature collection, the Big Book (or oversized children's books) collection, and the Juvenile Graphic Novels collection. You may also find folktales in other collections of the library, such as the general Book Collection, the Kits, and even the CD and DVD collections.
Search the Catalog!
To find more folktales, take a look at our catalog, via the "Library Search" box on this page or by clicking here.
Possible search terms you could use include:
- the name of a particular folktale or fairy tale
- Folklore
- Folk tales
- Fables
- Tall tales
- Tricksters
- For folktales gathered, retold, or translated by a specific person, search for that person by name (such as Andrew Lang, Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm, and Hans Christian Andersen)
- For folktales from a specific country or region, type the name of the country/region into the search bar and add the word "folklore"
- For folktales from a specific group of people or culture, type the name of the people/culture into the search bar and add the word "folklore"
- and many more!
Walk the Shelves!
Searching the catalog isn't the only way to find more folklore! Our catalog is wonderful, but it can't tell you everything! Sometimes the best way to find a folktale is to browse our physical collections! Take a look through the books found in the areas of +PZ8, +PZ8.1, and +PZ8.2, as well as in anthologies found in +PZ5. Additional folklore titles are gathered in the +GR area...and even more folktales can be found in books about certain countries or peoples, so the +D and +E areas are also good to browse!
What's in a Name?
Well, many folktales have been translated into various languages over the years. On top of that, there have been a number of retellings published under entirely different titles! Not all of these names are reflected in a catalog record or on a book jacket. Don't be afraid to consult websites (such as Wikipedia or folktale related websites) or book reviews (including ones that can be found on Amazon or Goodreads) to figure out different titles to search for. Just remember to use your best judgement and use those critical thinking skills...just because a story uses certain folktale motif or trope doesn't necessarily mean it's a retelling of a specific story!
Ask For Help!
Would you like some help locating more folktales? Please contact us if you have questions!
CALVIN T. RYAN LIBRARY