Provides reviews of research on the effects of health care interventions. Its primary section, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, contains full-text reviews mainly of randomized controlled trials.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
Access to over 2,400 full-text journal titles in the health and life sciences published by Elsevier since 1995, plus indexing for thousands of other Elsevier titles.
Search across 1400+ journal titles and access full text from 1,200+ journals in the natural and social sciences published by Wiley-Blackwell. Full-text access generally dates back to 1997.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. You may set up a free account to: 1) save your searches; 2) set up email alerts; 3) save documents to lists; and 4) review your author profile.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline 18-database package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
This resource is only available on campus
Provides access to legal, tax, regulatory, and business information. Researchers can access timely information compiled and created by reporters, attorneys, and editors. The database delivers expert in-depth analysis, news, practice tools, and access to primary legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations. Content is organized into a number of topical areas such as corporate and business, environmental, health care, intellectual property, and tax.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Consult the current AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors located at the reference desk in the library (call number: * R119 .A533 2007). This guide is the most authoritative source for AMA citation and reference information.
CALVIN T. RYAN LIBRARY
