African American History - History 251 - Davis - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Suggested Search Terms

Try using these search terms, or combinations of terms, within the Library Catalog and History related databases:

Some of these terms are historical in nature and not intended to provoke or antagonize.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
As America transitioned from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movement and beyond, the rest of the world paid close attention. In addition to providing unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice, this collection also offers rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
The documents in American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996, are derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Between the early 1940s and 1996, a government organization that became part of the CIA monitored, recorded and translated into English relevant news from newspapers, magazines, government statements and radio and television broadcasts from every corner of the globe.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 was an important milestone in the effort to achieve equality and autonomy for African Americans. In the decades that followed, Black Power, the Black Arts Movement, Black Nationalism, Separatism, and Black Feminism emerged as movements and grew in influence. Independent Voices provides scholars unprecedented access to writings and thoughts of those who led and participated in these diverse movements.

Arsenault, Raymond. Freedom riders: 1961 and the struggle for racial justice. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Hurt, R. Douglas, ed. African American life in the rural South, 1900-1950. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, 2003.
Glasrud, Bruce A., and Charles A. Braithwaite, eds. African Americans on the Great Plains: an anthology. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2009.
Gottheimer, Josh, ed. Ripples of hope: great American civil rights speeches . New York: Basic Civitas Books, 2003.
Wynn, Neil A. The African American experience during World War II. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2010.