Native American History - History 251 - Davis - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Suggested Search Terms

Try using these search terms, or combinations of terms, within the Library Catalog and History related databases.

Native American
American Indian
Indian
First Peoples
First Nations
indigenous
Search by the name of a particular tribe or cultural group (e.g. Cherokee)
If you are looking for a specific event or ceremony, use the name of that event. For example, you can search for Trail of Broken Treaties or Wounded Knee.
NAGPRA
American Indian Movement (AIM)

Library Search

E-Book Examples

Cahill, Cathleen D. Federal Fathers & Mothers: a social history of the United States Indian Service, 1869-1933. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2011.
Fisher, Andrew H. Shadow tribe: the making of Columbia River Indian identity. Seattle: Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest in association with University of Washington Press, 2010.
Lowery, Malinda Maynor. Lumbee Indians in the Jim Crow South: race, identity, and the making of a nation. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2010.
Murphree, Daniel S., ed. Native America: a state-by-state historical encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2012.

Key Article Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.

Additional Databases

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries Letters, 1833-1893 This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Unbound series; contains 40,000+ pages of letters to and from the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America. These letters describe native peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government and the many problems and achievements of missionary work.
American Indian Movement And Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Unbound series; this collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Has all U.S. treaties and agreements. Also try searching "Bureau of Indian Affairs" in the U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals collection.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
The late 1960s and early 1970s saw an increase of Native American activism and the rise of "Red Power" as an activist movement demanding greater educational and economic opportunities and tribal rights. At the same time, U.S. policy toward Native American tribes provided greater opportunities for indigenous people to manage local government and local issues. This led to the establishment of an active Native American press, with publications like NARP Newsletter, Many Smokes, and Native Movement, that championed such key issues as Native American rights, religious freedom, equal education, and preserving community, language and tribal sovereignty.
Meriam Report On Indian Administration And The Survey Of Conditions Of The Indians In The U S. This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Unbound series; comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans.
Territorial Papers of the United States Series One through Four This link opens in a new window
The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline resource includes all treaties and international agreements the U.S. has been a party to from the inception of the country to present. This collection has over 1200 titles and 1.2million pages, including prominent collections such as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the “Blue Set”). Also includes hearings, books, and texts relating to US treates, numerous treaty guides, indexes, other treaty publications.
Featured sub-collections include:
Treaty Publications
Treaty Guides and Indexes
Treaties, Books, and Texts
U.S. Treaty Index
CRS Reports
Hearings
Important Treaties and Agreements Links
External Links

More information here - https://libguides-heinonline-org.unk.idm.oclc.org/us-treaties-agreements-library
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 This link opens in a new window
art of the Archives Unbound series; contains 7,500+ pages of letters to and from the U.S. War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, and other public and private individuals.

American Indian Library Network
Wide variety of resources, including digitized books, related to native peoples, both in the U.S. and elsewhere.
USA.gov
This is the official portal to the U.S. government, which has innumerable publications that address myriad issues surrounding Native Americans such as the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPA).