Women's History - History 251 - Davis - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Suggested Search Terms

Try using these search terms, or combinations of terms, within the Library Catalog and History related databases below.

Suffrage
Feminism
Feminist
Women
Women -- social conditions
Women's rights
Women athletes
United States. Education Amendments of 1972. Title IX.
Women -- Education -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Search for individuals such as Susan B. Anthony, Sojourner Truth, Lucy Stone, Lucretia Mott, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Harriet Tubman, Rosa Parks, Alice Paul

Bose, Christine E. Women in 1900: Gateway to the Political Economy of the 20th Century. Philadelphia: Temple University Press Feb. 2001.
Chapman, Mary and Angela Mills, eds. Treacherous texts: U.S. suffrage literature, 1846-1946. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 2011.
Collier-Thomas, Bettye, and V.P. Franklin, eds. Sisters in the struggle: African American women in the civil rights-black power movement. New York: New York University Press, 2001.
Patterson, Martha H. The American new woman revisited: a reader, 1894-1930. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 2008.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.

Women and the Law (Peggy) This link opens in a new window
Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Over 75 magazines, newsletters, and newspapers created by activists and collectives that helped propel the second wave of feminism from the late sixties and early seventies through the end of the 20th century. Groups represented by these publications include the Redstockings, New York Radical Women, Chicago Women’s Liberation Union, the Third World Women’s Alliance, and many others. Abortion, rape, unequal pay, women in the service, child care, women’s self-help, pornography, gender roles, and many other major issues of the period were extensively covered in the pages of the feminist press.

This is a list of some free and reliable sources of information on Women's History Month and women's studies topics.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Women's history collections in the LoC. Also try searching the entire digital collections site.
Smithsonian Collections
Search the Smithsonian for information on important women in history
Library of Congress - Women's History Month
The Library of Congress online display about Women's History Month which highlights information on the national WHM theme
National Women's History Museum
Online exhibits, with timelines, that provide information and images about women's history, including exhibits that focus on the national WHM theme
Women's Studies Web Links
An extensive list of links on women's studies topics