General survey of the history of the United States from Reconstruction to the contemporary era paying particular attention to groups who have remained outside of mainstream America and/or whose contributions to mainstream America have gone unacknowledged.
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
The Chicano press was an important component of the Chicano Movement to disseminate Chicano history, literature, and current news. The press created a link between the core and the periphery to create a national Chicano identity and community. The Chicano Press Association, created in 1969, was significant to the development of this national ethos. The publications that make up the Latino series have been linked to the Movement and represent the Chicano voice on such key issues as voter rights, criminal justice and relations with the police, support for the anti-war movement, racism, and quality education.
This fully searchable digital archive includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.
The news and analysis in Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives comes from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA . These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports. Together, these sources constitute the only digital research tool that brings together local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. In addition, the interface enables students and scholars to easily browse the collection by a broad range of topics, each providing highly relevant results for users at all levels.
International sources on the Cold War. Lots of material on Cuba as well as other places in Latin America.
The Cold War wasnt just a long-simmering dispute between the United States and the USSR, two of the worlds greatest superpowers. It also encompassed the rise of communism in mainland China, the Cuban missile crisis, the Korean War and more. The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions provides a glimpse into these and many other global events through the eyes of the people who experienced them firsthand. The collection also provides international perspectives on the formation of NATO, the death of Joseph Stalin, the rise of space exploration, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the Vietnam War, the development of the European Union and regional history in Africa, the Caribbean and elsewhere.