LGBT - History 251 - Davis - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Suggested Search Terms

Try using these search terms, or combinations of terms, within the Library Catalog and History related databases.

Cartwright, Ryan Lee. Peculiar Places : a Queer Crip History of White Rural Nonconformity. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2021.
Hammack, Phillip L. and Bertram J. Cohler, eds. The story of sexual identity: narrative perspectives on the gay and lesbian life course. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Johnson, David K. The Lavender Scare: The Cold War Persecution of Gays and Lesbians in the Federal Government. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004.
Stein, Mark, ed. Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons/Thomas/Gale, 2004.
Chiang, Howard, and Anjali R. Arondekar. Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History. Edited by Howard Chiang and Anjali R. Arondekar. Farmington Hills, Michigan: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2019.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States. The gay liberation movement of the 1970s saw political action explode through the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the Human Rights Campaign, the election of openly gay and lesbian representatives, and the first march on Washington for gay rights in 1979. Frustrated with the male leadership of most gay liberation groups and influenced by the feminist movement of the 1970s, lesbians formed their own collectives, music festivals, newspapers, bookstores, and publishing houses and called for lesbian rights in mainstream feminist groups like the National Organization for Women (NOW).
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congresss vast holdings.