Country Profiles - PSCI 110 - Louishomme - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Reference Works with Current Country Information

Call Number: Reference - Book Collection, 2nd floor -- JN1.E852

This series is updated 2 times a year and contains detailed country surveys with analytical, statistical and directory information for more than 250 countries and territories.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Electronic Book - G63 .W67 2012eb -- Online Access

Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

The Statesman's Yearbook

Call Number: Reference - Book Collection, 2nd floor -- JA51.S7

Updated yearly, the Statesman's Yearbook is an authoritative and accessible volume containing information essential for diplomats, politicians and all those involved with international affairs. Expanded coverage includes history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country, all thoroughly researched and verified by a dedicated editorial team.

Online Resources

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Foreign Information by Country from the University of Colorado at Boulder University Libraries
Compiles information on countries from a wide variety of governmental and nongovernmental resources.
Country Background Notes
Background Notes from the US Department of State include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Profiles from the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Maintained by knowledgeable experts from the UK's Foreign and Commonwealth Office. For each country, this website gives headline facts and figures about the population, capital city, currency and so on. Then briefly outline the geography and recent history, current politics and economic trends, and the country's commercial and political relations with the UK.
Country Studies- Federal Research Division Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Historical Profiles

Historical Guide to Countries
The Historical Guide to Countries is maintained by the United States Department of State, Office of the Librarian.
Select an article from the left sidebar, or view a list of all countries.

British Broadcasting Corporation Country Profiles

British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) News: Country Profiles
Profiles provide an "instant guide" to news, history, politics, event timelines, and economic background of world countries. Presents country overviews, basic facts, Web links, and details on leaders and media. Includes news stories and audio videos clips from BCC Archive.

Catalog Search

Use this link to search for Country Profiles:

Country Profile
Add your country name to the search box to customize your search.