Research Guides: Psychology 312: Embodied Cognition

Key Databases in Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find psychology research from peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations. INCLUDES content from PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS. View YouTube videos on using PsycINFO's thesaurus.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Searches across numerous publishers and institutional sources for reports, dissertations and theses, and scholarly publications. Using this link will indicate which Google Scholar results are available in full-text through UNK databases or other free/open-access sources.

Resources on Embodied Cognition

The following links will search three EBSCO databases (PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) on the following terms:

This 2012 article provides a helpful introduction to the topic of "embodied cognition" and its influence on contemporary psychology.

Davis, J. I., & Markman, A. B. (2012). Embodied Cognition as a Practical Paradigm: Introduction to the Topic, The Future of Embodied Cognition. Topics in Cognitive Science, 4(4), 685–691. https://doi-org.unk.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/j.1756-8765.2012.01227.x

For greater precision in searching peer-reviewed psychology literature, please consider searching PsycINFO and using its thesaurus (see YouTube video at bottom).

Recommended Books and E-books on Embodied Cognition

Radical Embodied Cognitive Science by Anthony Chemero
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0262516470
Publication Date: 2009
Embodied Cognition by Denis Lawrence; Lawrence Shapiro
Call Number: BD418.3 .S47 2011 (Book Collection - 2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0415773423
Publication Date: 2011
Cognitive Systems and the Extended Mind by Robert D. Rupert
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0199767599
Publication Date: 2010
NOTE: See especially Chapter 11 on "The Embodied View"

Using the Thesaurus in PsycINFO

View a 5-minute YouTube video about using PsycINFO's thesaurus to get better search results.

Tutorials

Need some help putting together searches or with other aspects of Psychology research? Check out our other Psychology tutorials or our Research Tips and Tricks tutorial.