Skip to main content

Business Research

Securities and Exchange Commission

Securities and Exchange Commission

The EDGAR database of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission provides free access to the financial reports required of publicly-traded companies.

Other Government Offices

Bureau of Economic Analysis

BEA reports GDP; local employment and earnings; consumer spending; corporate profits; balance of payments; trade in goods and services; and foreign direct investment.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The BLS reports on earnings, employment, layoffs, cost of benefits, CPI, Producer Price Index, and contains the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Land and air transport data.

Consumer Expenditure Survey (U.S.)

The only federal survey that completely covers consumer characteristics, incomes, and detailed expenditures.

Department of Commerce

Searchable site includes agencies such as Census, NOAA, International Trade Administration, Patent & Trademark Office and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Economic Census

The Economic Census is conducted every 5 years and uses the American Factfinder search engine. This data provides the foundation for start-ups and existing establishments to make decisions on locations, marketing, business plans, and the cost of benefits. Nonprofits are included in the census.

Economic Indicators

Monthly report prepared for the Joint Economic Committee of the U.S. Congress by the Council of Economic Advisors

Energy Information Administration

Petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, renewable and alternative fuels, nuclear energy, forecasts and analyses, households, buildings & industry, international energy statistics, state and U.S. historical data.

Export.gov

This government site teaches export basics, answers tariff and logistics questions, and has trade data, analysis, and market research. The Trade Information Center is merged here.

Federal Reserve

U.S. central bank.

Federal Reserve Committee Transcripts and Historical Material

Transcripts of the FOMC meetings are verbatim remarks by Fed governors on economic conditions and monetary policy. Remarks are embargoed for 5 years. The Beige Book summarizes economic activity in each Fed region. The minutes start in the late 1930’s.

Bureau of the Fiscal Service, U.S. Treasury Department

Financial Report of the U.S. Government, Daily Treasury Statement, Monthly Treasury Statement.

International Trade Commission

U.S. imports and exports via the ITC DataWeb.

Monthly Labor Review

Journal sponsored by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, includes many statistical tables..

National Agricultural Statistics Service

Crops and plants, demographics, agricultural economics, environment, livestock and animals.

Survey of Current Business

Sponsored by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides monthly commentary on the economy and business climate.

Ask a Librarian