Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thematic Unit Display
Every month, the Curriculum department features materials that can be used to develop thematic unit lessons plans for Preschool through 12th grade.
This month's topic is:
The display is located in the department, right in front of the Curriculum Meeting Room.
All items are available to check out.
Finding Books and Literary Resources
Looking for juvenile literature related to a particular subject area and reading level?
Children's Core Collection
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other selection aids.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Contains more than 300,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's and young adult books. Now includes local UNK Calvin T. Ryan Library collection information. Be sure to click on the local collection option at the top of the page.
This includes the Contemporary Authors original and New Revision series.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Graphic Novels Core Collection
Provides a selective annotated list of graphic novels that allows for searching by title, subject, genre, grade level and other attributes.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades 5-9, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Provides reading recommendations for fiction and non-fiction titles, for children in grades K-8.
Provides reading recommendations for fiction and non-fiction titles, for all ages. Includes book summaries, reviews, and series information.
Senior High Core Collection
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Finding online videos
Films On Demand
Provides online streaming access to over 29,000 documentaries, newsreels, and educational videos produced by Films for the Humanities, PBS, the History Channel, and other producers.