Thematic Lists

It's the night before the Fourth of July and all across the United States people are getting ready for hot dogs and fireworks. Decked in red, white, and blue, a family heads to a parade, hosts a backyard BBQ with friends and family, dodges an afternoon thundershower, and of course, watches a fireworks show. The Night Before the Fourth of July captures all the fun, excitement, and pride of the best summer holiday!

It's the most patriotic of all holidays--Independence Day! The Holiday Mice take part in all the activities that make the Fourth of July fun: a parade, a picnic, a baseball game and sack race, and a refreshing dip in the stream. Even Mr. Mouse, the littlest mouse's special toy, joins in the festivities. The best part of all comes at the end of the day: a spectacular fireworks show! Packed with plenty of red, white, and blue and featuring the four Holiday Mice at their most adorable, this story about our nation's birthday will delight readers young and old alike.

No one wants Chinese food on the Fourth of July, I say. We're in apple-pie America, and my parents are cooking chow mein! . . . They just don't get it. Americans do not eat Chinese food on the Fourth of July. Right? Shocked that her parents are cooking Chinese food to sell in the family store on this all-American holiday, a feisty Chinese-American girl tries to tell her mother and father how things really are. But as the parade passes by and fireworks light the sky, she learns a lesson of her own. This award-winning author-illustrator team returns with a lighthearted look at the very American experience of mixed cultures.

Young Jesse and his family are with a wagon train traveling from Indiana to Oregon when they stop to celebrate the Fourth of July, but Jesse is too young to go hunting with the men so he comes up with his own contribution to the festivities.

After telling the history behind the Declaration of Independence, Hoig describes different ways the Fourth of July has been celebrated throughout the country since then.

In a small Vermont town a family celebrates the Fourth of July by attending a parade, having a picnic, and watching fireworks.

Traces the social history behind America's celebration of Independence Day and explains the background of such national symbols as the flag, the bald eagle, the Liberty Bell, and Uncle Sam.

Learn how to state an opinion about important holidays and celebrations.
Includes a section related to Independence Day

Lesson plans and exercises teach the basic elements of poetry such as alliteration, word repetition, metaphors, and rhyming. As students gain appreciation and understanding, the book covers more sophisticated poetry forms such as limerick, haiku, and narrative. Grades 4-6.
Includes a section for Fourth of July

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes an activity for Fireworks Safety Month

Patriotic music for singing, dancing and celebrating our American pride

Includes a song about the Fourth of July

These open-ended Holiday & Seasonal Chipper Chat game boards will provide hours of fun all year 'round. The open-ended, themed game boards display celebrations, holidays, famous Americans' birthdays, and national observances every month of the year from back to school to the end of summer.
Choose your teaching topics: articulation, fluency, reading, math...any lesson! Students earn magnetic chips by making correct responses. After filling a game board with chips, the fun begins as the students move the magnetic wand over them and watch the chips "fly!"
Contains a game board related to the Fourth of July

Packed with anecdotes, sidebars, quotes, and illustrations, A Kids' Guide to the American Revolution brings vividly to life the birth of our nation. Introduce young readers to the stakes, challenges, setbacks, and victories involved in the single most important event in our nation's history, the American Revolution, with this approachable book from Kathleen Krull, a Children's Book Guild Nonfiction Award winner. Find out what events led our young nation to go to war with Great Britain and how the Declaration of Independence, the document that continues to shape our civil rights, came to be. Why did the colonists want independence from Great Britain? What brought on the Boston Tea Party? How did the Declaration of Independence initially impact women and slaves? What did Benjamin Franklin do to convince the French to join the revolution? How was George Washington chosen to lead the new young country? What elements of the Declaration of Independence continue to be debated today?

Explore the U.S. Constitution like never before! Amazing interactive features like color-changing words, flaps, wheels, and a special vocabulary decoder help kids learn about types of government, checks and balances, the Bill of Rights, the amendment process, and more! There's never been a better way--or a more important time--to discover the world-changing importance of this powerful founding document.

The author traces his family's experiences immigrating to the U.S. to introduce the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, explaining how it represents America's democratic values and discussing the importance of the documents' history

Imagine a world without Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, or even television. That was the world the framers of the United States Constitution lived in. Yet their work changed the course of history. Learn how those guys in wigs and tights came up with some of the best ideas ever.  Come along on one of the most fun and engaging discoveries available to kids today about America's Constitution. Juliette Turner, Youth Advocate for Constituting America, takes a unique look at our founding document, presenting it in a beautifully organized fashion, with helpful illustrations and sidebars that support the main ideas. Packed with tons of easy-to-read, easy-to-understand information, Our Constitution Rocks breaks down the Constitution article by article into manageable sections in a way everyone can read and understand--students and parents alike. Our Constitution Rocks is for a new generation, a reminder of what it means to have a voice and live free. It still matters to kids today. Find out why. Our Constitution Rocks: Is presented in an easy-to- use format that makes the Constitution easy to understand Includes fun facts, quotes, cartoons, actual debates, great graphics, and much, much more Breathes new life into an old document, reminding readers young and old why it remains one of the most important documents in world history Is an ideal teaching and reference tool for homeschooling or school libraries

By the 1760s, most American colonists had become fed up with British rule. They were tired of the unfair taxes and not being able to create their own laws, and cries for revolution were ringing out across the land. As the revolution took hold, Thomas Jefferson drafted a document that formally declared the colonies' independence. The adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, marked an important turning point in US history. Over the next five years, the colonists would fight to make their independence a reality. Explore the history of this important document. Track the events and turning points that led the colonies to declare their independence from Great Britain.

We the people at Who HQ bring readers the full story--arguments and all--of how the United States Constitution came into being. Signed on September 17, 1787--four years after the American War for Independence--the Constitution laid out the supreme law of the United States of America. Today it's easy for us to take this blueprint of our government for granted. But the Framers--fifty-five men from almost all of the original 13 states--argued fiercely for many months over what ended up being only a four-page document. Here is a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the hotly fought issues--those between Northern and Southern States; big states and little ones--and the key players such as James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington who suffered through countless revisions to make the Constitution happen.

See the U.S. Constitution in a new light with this bold, modern and accessible illustrated guide to the document that helped define democracy.

Tells the story behind the ultimate legal document of the United States. Each spread provides information about the context, wording, and lasting effects of the document paired with interesting sidebars, questions to consider, and historical images.

When a visit to Boston spurs Judy's interest in Revolutionary heroes and heroines, she's soon on a quest for more independence. A visit to Boston has put our famous third-grader in a revolutionary mood. But staging a revolt in the form of a tea-throwing Boston Tub Party has her dad reading the riot act. Will a real-life crisis involving her brother, Stink, finally give Judy a chance to show her courageous quick thinking -- and prove her independence once and for all?

If you were there when they signed the Constitution you would see --Why the Constitution is called a miracle. --The first big argument. --What was missing from the Constitution. This books takes you behind the locked doors of Philadelphia's State House during the history-making summer of 1787. You will meet the key delegates and find out what is going on.

Judith Lloyd Yero's lively, interactive book takes a close look at the document that defines democracy in the United States and the events that led to the country's creation. Readers learn about the escalation of unrest caused by the King's tax and trade laws, which culminated in the Boston Massacre and the Boston Tea Party. Period illustrations dramatize the evolution of the Declaration itself, and brief biographies highlight key figures such as Samuel Adams, Thomas Paine, and Thomas Jefferson. The document's four sections are examined: the preamble, the list of beliefs, the list of 27 complaints against the King, and the formal statement of independence. The text also discusses the "unfinished business" of the Declaration, such as slavery and women's rights, and stresses the need to protect the rights enshrined in the document. Included in the backmatter are the complete text of the Declaration of Independence, Jefferson's rough draft, and a portion of the Constitution of Virginia, which served as a model for the list of grievances against the King, with a web site reference to the entire document.

Profiles each of the fifty-six men who signed the Declaration of Independence, giving historical information about the colonies they represented. Includes the text of the Declaration and its history

Taken phrase by phrase, inscribed and illustrated, these most famous words ring as true today as they did more than 200 years ago. The Declaration of Independence is considered to be one of the greatest documents of all time. The central section of the declaration is a ringing assertion that every human being has an equal right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. These are the words that have built your nation and keep it strong. Here is the complete Declaration of Independence beautifully hand-lettered and decorated. Almost every section is highlighted on its own page, with its meaning and significance enhanced by imaginative drawings and sketches appropriate to the all-important words they complement.

Describes the events leading up to the Declaration of Independence as well as the personalities and politics behind its framing. Beginning with the Boston Tea Party, this stirring account introduces characters including Patrick Henry & Paul Revere, events such as the battles at Lexington & Concord, & ends with the Continental Congress & the drawing up of the Declaration of Independence. The events leading up to it plus the personalities and politics behind its framing.

Many of the political issues we struggle with today have their roots in one place-the U.S. Constitution. Fault Lines in the Constitution takes readers back to the creation of this historic document and reveals how many of the problems that trouble us today-such as voting rights, the Electoral College, gerrymandering-were first introduced. Cynthia and Sanford Levinson explain the unexpected ramifications of decisions make in 1787 and explore possible solutions found in the constitutions of states and other countries. Each chapter begins with a story - all but one of them true - that connects directly back to a section of the document that forms the basis of our society and government. Informative sidebars and graphics run throughout along with a timeline and bibliography.

Examines the ten amendments to the United States Constitution that make up the Bill of Rights, explaining what the amendments mean, how they have been applied, and the rights they guarantee

Discusses what the U.S. constitution is, how it was created, and why it is important.

When the Delegates to the Constitutional Convention signed the Constitution, they knew it was not perfect. They were concerned their government might be too powerful and not respect the rights of its citizens. So at the first session of the United States Congress in 1789, they voted on a set of ten amendments, aimed to preserve and protect the rights and liberties of all citizens. These ten amendments comprise the Bill of Rights. As our country has grown, American citizens have continued to rely on this landmark document as a means to defend the liberties of all, across boundaries of race and gender, age and class, religion and ethics. Focusing on examples of ordinary citizens who have had the courage to challenge their government and raise their voices at injustice, Russell Freedman's compelling text is essential reading for every American.

The use of primary sources as texts in the classroom is growing. Teachers realize these vital witnesses provide opportunities to motivate students and improve learning. They bring students closer to the people, places, and events being studied and help students improve content knowledge while building skills. Recent trends in standards, such as Common Core, and the increasing use of the Document-Based Questions also promote primary source use. The strong push to use primary sources in teaching history and social studies creates a need among teachers for more information on what they are and how they can be used effectively in the classroom. Vital Witnesses meets this need by providing teachers with a comprehensive guide to primary sources and their use in the classroom. Primary sources are defined, and the various types are described. Classroom-tested activities and strategies are offered to teachers for addressing the needs of all learners and for accommodating Common Core standards and the C3 Framework for State Social Studies Standards.
Includes a section on the Declaration of Independence

Includes a section entitled "Are the principles of the U.S. Constitution reflected in your school? "

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes an activity for Constitution Day

This book is designed to foster independent study, research, writing, and oral presentation skills in students in grades four through six. The lessons, which integrate several content areas, can be used for enrichment or extension in the classroom or as a homework assignment. The forty lessons, four for each of ten months, September through June, are connected to a famous person or event associated with that month. An index indicates the content areas and skills taught in each lesson.
Includes an activity on the Constitution

Make it your QUEST to learn the Constitution through this fun and engaging game! This is an entertaining and educational game great for adults and teens who want to learn and understand the freedoms guaranteed by this precious document. Learn the American system of checks and balances the way the Founders intended: separation of powers, checks and balances, powers granted and denied, and the constitutional amendments. Constitution Quest has been field tested with players age 10 through age 84 with great success, with game cards designed for the novice or advanced player - even the person with little Constitutional knowledge can have fun playing with someone with a greater Constitutional IQ. Sharpen your own Constitutional savvy while you teach your kids! . Fun, interesting, engaging game to play. Play in less than an hour. Learn the Constitution as you play ... the more you play, the more you learn. Includes a complimentary copy of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Fun and educational for the classroom environment. Fantastic for home schooling. Great for entertainment for adults and teens who want to learn the Constitution

The Story of the Declaration of Independence is designed for younger students and students less proficient in English or reading below grade level. This high-interest Jackdaw contains essential historical documents of the Revolutionary era for students to enjoy hands-on — the Declaration of Independence is a full-size replica, and the paper money is sure to elevate interest. The Broadsheets explain the significant events leading to the Revolution and describe the remarkable document, the Declaration of Independence. This Jackdaw is complete with vocabulary words, critical thinking questions, and a large range of reproducible activities for students at these levels.

Collection of all 46 Schoolhouse rock! songs on the topics of science, multiplication, money, American history and English grammar.
Included in the American History songs are a number of songs related to the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence

Discusses the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights, the first ten amendments to the Constitution of the United States. Also discusses all the subsequent amendments made to the U.S. Constitution. These amendments include such important national issues as slavery, prohibition, and the extension of voting rights to all citizens

U.S. Supreme Court Justices Sandra Day O'Connor and Stephen G. Breyer spoke with several Philadelphia area high school students in June 2005 in Washington, D.C. The students and justices discussed the significance of the judiciary and the ways that independence is protected by the Constitution

hese three 20- minute videos [on one DVD] examine key constitutional concepts. The first explains why the nation's framers created the Constitution. The second describes the protection of individual rights by highlighting the Supreme Court case of Gideon v. Wainwright, affirming the right to an attorney. The last explores the separation of powers by examining the Supreme Court case of Youngstown v. Sawyer, a challenge to President Truman's decision to take over steel mills during the Korean War

Includes a section entitled "The making and use of the constitution"

Heroes, traitors, and great thinkers come to life in this activity book, and the concepts of freedom and democracy are celebrated in true accounts of the distinguished officers, wise delegates, rugged riflemen, and hardworking farm wives and children who created the new nation. This collection tells the story of the Revolution, from the hated Stamp Act and the Boston Tea Party to the British surrender at Yorktown and the creation of the United States Constitution. All American students are required to study the Revolution and the Constitution, and these 21 activities make it fun and memorable. Kids create a fringed hunting shirt and a tricorn hat and reenact the Battle of Cowpens. They will learn how to make their voices heard in "I Protest" and how Congress works in "There Ought to Be a Law." A final selection including the Declaration of Independence, a glossary, biographies, and pertinent Web sites makes this book a valuable resource for both students and teachers.

Celebrates the lesser-known lives and contributions of early African-American men and women, in a volume that features such complementary activities as recipes for colonial foods and advice for petitioning the government

Liberty or Death is the little-known story of the American Revolution told from the perspectives of the African-American slaves who fought on the side of the British Royal Army in exchange for a promise of freedom. Motivated by the 1775 proclamation by Virginia's Royal Governor that any slaves who took up arms on his behalf would be granted their freedom, these men fought bravely for a losing cause. Many of the volunteers succumbed to battle wounds or smallpox, which ran rampant on the British ships on which they were quartered. After the successful Revolution, they emigrated to Canada and, ultimately to West Africa. Liberty or Death is the inspiring story of the forgotten freedom fighters of America's Revolutionary War.

Explores how the characters and lives of King George III of England and George Washington affected the progress and outcome of the American Revolution

Paul Revere's daring midnight ride made him an instant celebrity, right? Wrong! At first, no one in Boston even wanted to mention it. Jeff Lantos pulls apart Longfellow's famous poem "Paul Revere's Ride" to unravel how and why he twisted historical facts. Do you know how historically inaccurate "Paul Revere's Ride" is? And do you know why? Author Jeff Lantos pulls apart Longfellow's poem, tells the real story about Paul Revere's historic ride, and sets the record right. Not only that, he lays out when and why Longfellow wrote his poem and explains how without it, many of us wouldn't know much about Revere at all.

John Hancock and Samuel Adams were an unlikely pair of troublemakers. Hancock was young and dashing. Adams was old and stodgy. But working together, they rallied the people of Boston against the unfair policies of Great Britain and inspired American resistance. And to King George, they became a royal pain. When the British army began marching toward Lexington and Concord, sending Hancock and Adams fleeing into the woods, the two men couldn't help but worry--this time, had they gone too far? Rich with historical detail and primary sources, this spirited tale takes readers through ten years of taxes and tea-tossing, tyranny and town hall meetings. The team behind Thomas Paine and the Dangerous Word reunites for a lively look at the origins of the American Revolution told through the powerful partnership of two legendary founders.

The year is 1781. YOU are James Armistead, a brave, literate enslaved person living in Virginia. General Lafayette approaches you with the most critical choice of your life: do you join the Revolutionary Army or find freedom on your own terms? As a spy for the revolution, you might change the course of history. But whose liberty will you really be fighting for?

This thrilling Newbery Medal-winning novel about the Revolutionary War is a classic of children's historical fiction. Fourteen-year-old Johnny Tremain, an apprentice silversmith with a bright future ahead of him, injures his hand in a tragic accident, forcing him to look for other work. In his new job as a horse-boy, riding for the patriotic newspaper The Boston Observer and as a messenger for the Sons of Liberty, he encounters John Hancock, Samuel Adams, and Dr. Joseph Warren. Soon Johnny is involved in the pivotal events of the American Revolution, from the Boston Tea Party to the first shots fired at Lexington. Powerful illustrations by artist Michael McCurdy help bring this classic novel for middle graders to life.

It is the summer of 1775. The British occupy Boston and its busy harbor, holding residents captive and keeping a strong military foothold. The threat of smallpox looms, and the town is cut off, even from food supplies. Following the battles of Lexington and Concord, Congress unanimously elects George Washington commander in chief of the American armed forces, and he is sent to Cambridge, Massachusetts, to transform the ragtag collection of volunteer militiamen into America's first army. So far the war is nothing more than a series of intermittent skirmishes, but Washington is in constant fear of attack -- until he takes the offensive with results that surprise everyone, the British most of all. Roxane Orgill uses verse to zoom in on the siege of Boston that launched the war to defeat the British, giving voice to privates and generals, their wives and city residents. to tell a story that is usually overlooked in Revolutionary War history. Back matter includes source notes, a glossary, and a bibliography.

Packed with anecdotes, sidebars, quotes, and illustrations, A Kids' Guide to the American Revolution brings vividly to life the birth of our nation. Introduce young readers to the stakes, challenges, setbacks, and victories involved in the single most important event in our nation's history, the American Revolution, with this approachable book from Kathleen Krull, a Children's Book Guild Nonfiction Award winner. Find out what events led our young nation to go to war with Great Britain and how the Declaration of Independence, the document that continues to shape our civil rights, came to be. Why did the colonists want independence from Great Britain? What brought on the Boston Tea Party? How did the Declaration of Independence initially impact women and slaves? What did Benjamin Franklin do to convince the French to join the revolution? How was George Washington chosen to lead the new young country? What elements of the Declaration of Independence continue to be debated today?

America's Tea Parties provides background on the English taxation on the colonies, with emphasis on the people who stood up for their rights against the tyranny of the British as ships from the East India Company pulled into their harbors. It explains the Stamp and Tea Acts, the larger social and political issues that the colonies were having with England, why it was crucial that these tea parties happened, and the revolution that the tea demonstrations led to. This well-researched, eye-catching, entertaining, and informative volume is filled with archival illustrations and is great for primary research and as a read-aloud. It will surprise social studies classrooms, shake up US history curriculum, and delight American studies fans as New York, Boston, and Charleston finally join Boston in tea party fame. Award-winning and bestselling author Marissa Moss describes in detail the resilience and determination of the peoples of all four colonies. America's Tea Parties comes complete with a timeline, a bibliography, a fully searchable index, and an author's note that explains exactly how the author found this incredible little-told story of the tea parties that changed American history forever.

This book provides the chance for young readers to learn about the death-defying attempts of black Americans to gain the inalienable rights promised in the Declaration of Independence
Step into the shoes of thirteen men and women of color, and discover how the American Revolution rattled the chains of slavery. Woelfle examines the death-defying attempts of black Americans to gain the inalienable rights promised in the Declaration of Independence. By doing so they expanded the boundaries of freedom beyond the Founding Fathers' intentions

Founding Mothers: Remembering the Ladies reveals the incredible accomplishments of the women who orchestrated the American Revolution behind the scenes. Roberts traces the stories of heroic, patriotic women such as Abigail Adams, Martha Washington, Phillis Wheatley, Mercy Otis Warren, Sarah Livingston Jay, and others. Details are gleaned from their letters, private journals, lists, and ledgers. The bravery of these women's courageous acts contributed to the founding of America and spurred the founding fathers to make this a country that "remembered the ladies." This compelling book, based on the author's acclaimed work for adults, Founding Mothers includes a rich time line, biographies, an author's note, and additional web resources in the back matter.

If the patriots hadn't won the war, Washington would have been one of the greatest traitors in history. Instead he led the rebels to victory and a great democracy was born.

Nathan Hale, the author's historical namesake, was America's first spy, a Revolutionary War hero who famously said "I regret that I have but one life to give for my country" before being hanged by the British. In the Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales series, author Nathan Hale channels his namesake to present history's roughest, toughest, and craziest stories in the graphic novel format. One Dead Spy tackles the story of Hale himself, who was an officer and spy for the American rebels during the Revolutionary War. Author Hale highlights the unusual, gruesome, and just plain unbelievable truth of historical Nathan Hale - from his early unlucky days at Yale to his later unlucky days as an officer - and America during the Revolutionary War.

Students revisit the American Revolution through guided practice activities, complete lesson plans, reproducible worksheets, poems, songs, and an educational play packaged into this unique teacher resource book. This title integrates creative arts, innovative activities, and original music. The content is selected to coordinate with National Standards for History, Standards for Grades K-4 and National Standards for United States History, Standards for Grades 5-12. Two other important components of the book are a musical play and a pantomime. While entertaining students, it develops varied educational concepts and expands critical thinking skills. Students may: Stage the musical for an audience; act it out in class; or read it silently. All lyrics can be used as songs or read as poetry. Everything is reproducible. Complete musical scores as well as the complete script of the play is included and ready for use in student productions.

Riveting accounts of real people tell the story of the American Revolution from diverse characters and viewpoints-from men, women, children, Patriots, Tories, pacifists, African-American slaves, Native Americans, Hessian mercenaries, and more. All major political, social, economic, and military viewpoints are represented. Political debates, military battles and maneuvering, the struggles of civilians, the role of children, and the fates of Tories and Continental soldiers at the end of the war are just some of the themes covered. With each story, Haven includes a variety of learning extensions-objective questions, research projects, hands-on learning activities, and open-ended points to ponder for discussion and debate. A bibliography of resources for further study completes the work. Packed with information, this engaging collection is a wonderful supplement to American History units, a great resource for read-alouds and student reports.

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes a lesson on the Boston Tea Party

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes an activities related to George Washington and Paul Revere

Set in late 18th-century America, this program unfurls historical vignettes through the eyes of two teenage apprentices, Sarah Phillips and James Hiller, who experience the people, events and tough choices of the American revolution. While working in Benjamin Franklin's print shop, the kids discover first-hand the founding principles of democracy, including freedom of the press and equal protection under the law. Each episode includes thought-provoking games and trivia questions

Collection of all 46 Schoolhouse rock! songs on the topics of science, multiplication, money, American history and English grammar.
Included in the American History songs are a number of songs related to the American Revolution

Historical documents in this Jackdaw take your students from the Boston Tea Party to Bunker Hilland the struggle to field and fund our army. Documents include a handbill persuading British soldiers to desert, a proclamation by King George III ordering his subjects to fast, a 1783 issue of the South Carolina Gazette, early American home-made money, and a fund raising lottery ticket. 5 broadsheets, 18 historical documents, reproducible student activities

To protest a special tea tax England had imposed upon her American colonies, members of the patriot group, Sons of Liberty, dressed up as Indians one cold December night in 1773, boarded three British ships and dumped 342 chests of tea into Boston Harbor. England’s response to this brazen act of rebellion, the Coercive Acts (known in America as the Intolerable Acts), would so punish and enrage colonists that war became virtually inevitable. Bring to life the highly charged atmosphere of pre Revolutionary War America with fascinating and informative primary source documents such as: protest broadsides, a newspaper account of the incident, a contemporary political cartoon, and a Boston Tea Party song

The Jackdaw illustrates the often forgotten breadth of activity of the American woman during the war for independence, and moves her from the margins of the historical pages to the center. Your students will gain a new appreciation of the role women played as spies, soldiers, and even prisoners of war. Hands-on letters, plays, poems and personal journals provide firsthand accounts to stimulate thinking. The Broadsheets lead to a discussion of women’s rights.

On April 19, 1775, British troops marched on the Massachusetts towns of Lexington and Concord on orders to disarm rebellious American colonists and arrest their ringleaders. Little did they know that the ensuing conflicts would ignite the American Revolutionary War. This fascinating array of primary-source documents, including a contemporary map with military camps and troop movements, Amos Doolittle engravings, and British and American propaganda broadsides, brings to life the events of the day and explores the causes and immediate aftermath of the shots heard round the world.

By some estimates, as many as one-third of all American colonists remained loyal to Britain during America’s struggle for independence. Some Loyalists (or Tories as they were called by the Revolutionaries) sought refuge from Patriot wrath by fleeing to Canada or England; those who remained faced reprisals, punitive laws, and even confiscation of their property. Immerse your students in the difficult and dangerous life of the Loyalists with this rich assortment of primary source documents, ranging from official government proclamations and acts to broadsides, song lyrics, and political cartoons.

Wonderfully spare, deceptively simple verses pair with richly evocative paintings to celebrate the iconic imagery of our nation, beginning with the American flag. Each spread, sumptuously illustrated by award-winning artist Kadir Nelson, depicts a stirring tableau, from the view of the Statue of Library at Ellis Island to civil rights marchers shoulder to shoulder, to a spacecraft at Cape Canaveral blasting off. This book is an ode to America then and now, from sea to shining sea.

The inspiring story of the American flag that flew over Ground Zero, traveled across all fifty states as it was repaired, and returned to New York, a restored symbol of unity

It's time for music class! Are you ready to sing the national anthem? Do you know the story behind this famous song? It tells about how the American flag survived a battle. Join Ms. Hill's class as they learn who wrote "The Star-Spangled Banner," what the words mean, and why we sing it.

Do you know when the Liberty Bell was rung for the last time? Or why it has a huge crack? Join Mr. Chen's class as they take a field trip to find out the facts about this important US symbol. Ranger Marcela explains who made the Liberty Bell, what words appear on it, and how it got its name.

Do you know that the Statue of Liberty hasn't always looked green? Or that the first torch had to be replaced? Lady Liberty has been an important US symbol for more than one hundred years. Join Mrs. Bolt's class as they visit the statue and learn where the statue came from, how she was built, and what American ideas she represents.

Look at that giant statue! What did this person do to earn his own monument in Washington, DC? Join Mr. Williams's class on a field trip to the Lincoln Memorial to find out. Ranger May gives the students a tour, tells them about the Civil War, and talks about how President Abraham Lincoln's ideas still matter to all of us.

Do you know why the US flag has stars and stripes on it? What does the flag stand for, and why do we say the Pledge of Allegiance? Join Mr. Gomez's class as they study the flag to find out! They'll learn when the first American flag was made, what the Pledge of Allegiance means, and why we still honor the flag today.

A bald eagle doesn't sound like an attractive bird. But it's pictured on the Great Seal of the United States and on the dollar bill. Why was this bird chosen as a national symbol? Join Ms. Patel's class as they find out why bald eagles are important, what the Great Seal stands for, and how bald eagles live in the wild. A special guest also pays the class a visit!

Have you ever wondered what it's like to live and work in the most important house in the country, or what it's like to grow up there? Now, with The White House for Kids as your guide, you can explore the Executive Mansion for yourself. This intriguing, in-depth history of the White House explains its role as a home, an office, and a powerful symbol of the United States and tells both famous and little-known stories about some of the surprising-and sometimes surprisingly ordinary-things that go on there. Learn which president hosted T-ball games on the White House lawn; which mischievous first son was scolded for shooting spitballs at a portrait of President Andrew Jackson; which first daughter held her high school prom in the famous mansion; which first lady hung her laundry to dry in the East Room; where first families go to work, entertain, relax, and have fun; how the White House staff feels to see beloved presidential families come and go; and much more. Crosscurricular activities allow readers to walk in the footsteps of presidents and those around them.

Discover the story of the girl who sewed the American flag that inspired the lyrics of the National Anthem in this beautifully illustrated celebration of our country's iconic symbol for freedom. Caroline Pickersgill came from a family of the best flag makers in Baltimore. She and her family proudly stitched the grand flag that gallantly whipped in the wind over Fort McHenry. But when the British attacked Baltimore on September 12, 1814, would those broad stripes and bright stars still wave strong? Would America still be free and remain the home of the brave?

Here is the story of the exciting day in 1886 when the Statue of Liberty was unveiled to the world. A small boy stands at the foot of the statue, ready to relay a signal to its creator way up in Liberty's crown, telling him it is time. As anticipation builds, the boy describes the bustling scene in the harbor and on the island-all of New York waiting, including two hundred women suffragists and the President of the United States. In detailed vignettes we see the construction of the statue in France, its voyage to America, and its installation in New York Harbor. Through rhythmic, evocative prose and energetic pen-and-wash illustrations, we are made to feel the excitement of those gathered to see Liberty's face for the first time, and to remember all that she represents.

If you have ever wondered how it is that the American flag is made up of stars and stripes or where Uncle Sam came from, you finally have a way to find the answers to these questions. In fact, this book discusses the origins of all the major American patriotic symbols that you can think of: the Great Seal, the Liberty Bell, "The Star Spangled Banner, the Pledge of Allegiance, the Statue of Liberty, Mount Rushmore, the White House, the Capitol, the National Mall, the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Monument, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, and the Thomas Jefferson Memorial.

Have you ever wondered why the American colors are red, white, and blue? Did you know that our national mascot was almost a turkey rather than a bald eagle? Can you trace your family's ancestry back to the Mayflower Pilgrims, or perhaps to a cowboy of the Old West? Do you think you would like to spend Thanksgiving watching footraces rather than televised football or eating venison and oysters rather than turkey? Many of us have played with Lincoln Logs, but did you know that they were named after President Abraham Lincoln, who was born in a log cabin? Symbols have always played a crucial role in shaping our identity as a country. The American buffalo, the Statue of Liberty, the Mayflower, and Uncle Sam himself have all helped convey to the world the American values of liberty and democracy. Delno and Jean West's lively prose unveils the stories behind America's symbols, complemented by Christopher Manson's handsome woodcuts, which perfectly convey the rugged individualism of the American spirit.

Use this informative guide to learn all about the culture of the United States of America.

Presents information about the Statue of Liberty and connects them to problem solving and mathematics

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Contains an activity about the flag

This book is designed to foster independent study, research, writing, and oral presentation skills for students in grades two and three. The lessons, which integrate several content areas, can be used for enrichment or extension in the classroom or as a homework assignment. The forty lessons, four for each of ten months, September through June, are connected to a famous person or event associated with that month. An index indicates the content areas and skills taught in each lesson.
Contains activities about the Star Spangled Banner, the flag, and the Statue of Liberty

This book is designed to foster independent study, research, writing, and oral presentation skills in students in grades four through six. The lessons, which integrate several content areas, can be used for enrichment or extension in the classroom or as a homework assignment. The forty lessons, four for each of ten months, September through June, are connected to a famous person or event associated with that month. An index indicates the content areas and skills taught in each lesson.
Includes activities about the Constitution, the flag, and the Statue of Liberty

Now you can draw from the millions of digital items available in the Library of Congress American Memory Collection to enhance your classroom lessons. This book shows you how to effectively use the vast American Memory Collections in all types of coursework to enhance your instructional program. Lessons are organized alphabetically; all align with curriculum standards from AASL and McREL.
Includes a section about celebrating America's symbols

Created by teachers, for teachers, the research-based curriculum maps in this book present a comprehensive, coherent sequence of thematic units for teaching the skills outlined in the CCSS for English language arts in Grades K-5. The maps address every standard in the CCSS, yet are flexible and adaptable to accommodate diverse teaching styles. Each grade is broken down into six units that include focus standards, suggested works, sample activities and assessments, lesson plans, and more Teachers can use the maps to plan their year and craft their own more detailed lesson plans.
Includes a section entitled "America: Symbols and Celebrations"