Research Guides: Online Newspapers: Historic Newspapers

American Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America
Free access to over 500 historic newspapers published in the United States from 1836-1922, or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about U.S. newspapers published between 1690-present. This resource is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Google News Archive
Digitized content from hundreds of historical U.S. and Canadian newspapers dating back to the early 1800s.
Nebraska Newspapers, 1860-1922
Contains over 200,000 newspaper pages from historically significant Nebraska newspapers.
Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
Includes full text articles from over 180 journals related to agriculture during the 1800s.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5
This is a series of 5 collections of historical periodicals. Series 1 includes over 500 titles from 1691-1820; Series 2 over 1,000 titles from 1821-1837, Series 3 over 1,800 titles from 1838-1852, Series 4 over 1,100 titles from 1853-1865, and Series 5 over 2,500 titles from 1866-1877.
American Periodical Series
Search full-page images from 1,500 American journals, magazines and newspapers published from colonial days through the early 20th century.
HarpWeek
Digitized issues of Harper's Weekly published during the U.S. Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age. Includes illustration, photographs, maps, and advertisements.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
Discover moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle-class America from 1924 through 1950.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Cover-to-cover access to hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
Includes full text articles from late-18th and 19th century periodicals related to Americas westward expansion.

Individual towns, cities, counties, and states also have newspaper archives. For newspaper archives from a specific location, consult their public library, historical society, or other local information sources.

International Historic Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
Find influential newspapers representing different segments of British society.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Search 100+ years of this major British newspaper, including access to the Atlantic Editions.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Searchable access to every issue of The Economist published from 1843-2015.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
Search the online facsimile of this internationally known daily paper focused on financial and other issues.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Discover the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the British Empire and the nineteenth-century world.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Complete run of the Picture Post; provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
London-based analysis and commentary on news and society since 1822.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Searchable access to 200 years of The Times newspaper of London.