Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a peer reviewed journal?
Peer-reviewed journals (also called "scholarly" or "academic" journals) contain original research articles within a specific subject domain.
These articles are reviewed by other experts before publication and share many or all of these qualities:
- List authors' names, email addresses, and affiliations (e.g. Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney)
- Use section headers (these may vary): Abstract, Introduction, Literature Review, Methodology, Results, Discussion, Conclusion
- Include tables or figures of statistical data
- Cite references to other quality sources
Here are two examples:
NOTE: Some peer-reviewed journals will include literature reviews, book reviews, and opinion essays. None of these present original research however!
This table summarizes the differences between peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals, but please ask a librarian if you have further questions!
Use this search form to find full-text journals available online or in print through the UNK Library.
Example: Journal of Family Studies
Article Databases for FSID 450
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals.
Indexes books and articles related to senior adults and issues of aging.
America: History & Life
Indexes journal literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada.
Linking to Full Text Articles
Watch this video to learn how to locate full-text articles from a database citation. Note that Full Text Finder is no longer used. You will now see "Click Here to Check for Full Text".