Research Guides: *Women's and Gender Studies: Home

How to Get Started

Because Women's and Gender Studies is a highly interdisciplinary area, besides the resources included in this guide, you may also want to think about what other areas your research topic could relate to, and explore those resources as well. Additional research guides, databases, and journals are available.

Please contact me if you'd like help with your research!

How to Find Help

All Calvin T. Ryan Librarians can assist with research and resource access questions: searching, finding full text, where to look, etc. Don’t hesitate to:

Ask at the circulation desk for a librarian
Email
Phone
Chat
Text
Visit the Research Desk in the evenings.

Subject Specialist

A subject specialist has particular expertise and knows subject specific resources in and out. Contacting a subject specialist directly is an efficient way to use library resources.

The Librarians by Subject list can help you identify the appropriate person to contact.

Key Article Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
American Periodical Series This link opens in a new window
Search full-page images from 1,500 American journals, magazines and newspapers published from colonial days through the early 20th century, including women's magazines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across numerous publishers and institutional sources for reports, dissertations and theses, and scholarly publications. Using this link will indicate which Google Scholar results are available in full-text through UNK databases or other free/open-access sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Examines social issues from a variety of sources: pro and con viewpoint articles; full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers; statistics and more.

See all Women's and Gender Studies Databases

*Women's and Gender Studies

Librarian for Women, Gender, and Ethnic Studies

Important Links

How to Get Started

How to Find Help

Key Article Databases