Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Choosing & Using Library Databases: Using Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

It's easy to figure out that Sociological Collection is a good database for your sociology paper, or that you might want to use BioOne for biology. But what about the "multidisciplinary" databases that cover all topics? Here's a quick run-down of the most commonly used titles.

Database

Contents

Pros

Cons

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Complete
  • mix of academic, popular, and news articles
  • mix of full-text and citation only
  • excellent breadth
  • detailed subject headings
  • good place to start when you're not sure what database to use
  • lack of depth
JSTOR
JSTOR
  • small selection of core academic journals
  • all full-text
  • all journals go back to volume 1
  • tull-text searching available
  • lacks most recent 3-5 years of most journals
  • poor search interface for discovering articles by topic
  • irregular subject coverage: weak in some fields
Project Muse
Project Muse
  • academic journal articles published by university presses
  • strong in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
  • weak in the sciences
ScienceDirect College Edition
  • Health & Life Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • 950+ full-text journal titles in the health & sciences
  • article abstracts free
  • would need to use interlibrary loan for some articles as they are available only in pay-per-view purchase