Research Guides: Communication Disorders: Getting Started

Visible Body

Visible Body This link opens in a new window
To set up your VB Suite account while on campus and connected to your institution’s network:
1. Navigate to https://unk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://websuite.visiblebody.com
2. From there, enter the following information to create your account:
- Enter your email address and confirm it.
- Create a password and confirm it.
- Add your name.
3. After creating your account you are brought to the VB Suite homepage and can begin using the product.
Note: If you see a purchase page, do not enter payment information. Check that you are connected to your institution's network or try signing in through the proxy.
4. After you sign up, log into your Web Suite account from anywhere by returning to https://websuite.visiblebody.com

For legacy access to Visible Body, use the link directly below:
https://unk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=n&CSC=Y&PAGE=main&D=vbpp17
Beginning July 1, 2024, you can access Visible Body via the above access.:

Finding peer-reviewed articles and research studies

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals and provides full-text for 4,700 journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides reviews of research on the effects of health care interventions. Its primary section, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, contains full-text reviews mainly of randomized controlled trials.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 650 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study; includes full text for 500 journals.
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts; provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in linguistics and language sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 500 full-text journals related to psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,400 full-text journal titles in the health and life sciences published by Elsevier since 1995, plus indexing for thousands of other Elsevier titles.

Finding tests and other resources

Testing resources include a test collection. To see if the library owns the test you seek, locate tests through the catalog.

Catalog

Please ask for assistance to access the test. A proxy from an instructor may be required for access to the test.

Information about tests, including reviews and other product information, is available through the "Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print" (available through EBSCO and published by UNL's Buros Institute).

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of testing instruments published in the English language.

Looking for juvenile literature related to a particular communication disorder or guides to activities useful in assisting persons with communication disorders? This information and more is readily available through Children's Literature Comprehensive Database.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 300,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's and young adult books. Includes information about book awards, reading measurement programs, best book lists, and state reading lists.

Helpful links

Interlibrary loan

Interlibrary Loan Home Page

Finding online videos

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Finding Digital Magazines

A number of our children's magazines are now available thru the Flipster database...and some even have teacher's guides!

Click on the link below and select the "Family and Kids" category to see what is currently available.

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster®, the next-gen digital newsstand now offers content across all of your favorite devices. With access to the top magazines combined with an easy to use interface, Flipster offers users a unique reading experience that can be enjoyed anytime, anywhere.
The link takes you to an Ebsco landing page of library subscriptions, scroll down for the link to Flipster.

Communication Disorders

Curriculum Librarian

Curriculum Associate

Visible Body

Finding peer-reviewed articles and research studies

Finding tests and other resources

Helpful links

Interlibrary loan

Finding online videos

Finding Digital Magazines

Citation resources for APA

Academic integrity policies

Web resources

Professional organizations

Library Search