Research Guides: ENG 361B: Nebraska Life Writing: Library Resources: Databases

Recommended Research Resources (Databases)

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
This is a series of 5 collections of historical periodicals. Series 1 includes over 500 titles from 1691-1820; Series 2 over 1,000 titles from 1821-1837, Series 3 over 1,800 titles from 1838-1852, Series 4 over 1,100 titles from 1853-1865, and Series 5 over 2,500 titles from 1866-1877.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical works on people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
American Periodical Series This link opens in a new window
Search full-page images from 1,500 American journals, magazines and newspapers published from colonial days through the early 20th century.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congresss vast holdings.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Nebraska Homestead Records This link opens in a new window
Homestead land entry case files for the state of Nebraska from the records of the General Land Office, covering the period 1863-1908. Files include final certificates, applications with land descriptions, affidavits showing proof of citizenship, register and receiver receipts, notices and final proofs, and testimonies of witnesses.
Nebraska Newspapers, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains over 200,000 newspaper pages from historically significant Nebraska newspapers.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages from the 19th century.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.