Research Guides: *Ethnic Studies: Home

Librarian for Ethnic Studies

Laurinda Weisse

They/She

Email Me

Contact:

Archives and Special Collections
Calvin T. Ryan Library

308-865-8593

Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History, Nebraska, Psychology, Women's & Gender Studies

Important Links

Ask a Librarian

Welcome

Because Ethnic Studies is a highly interdisciplinary area, besides the resources included in this guide, you may also want to think about what other areas your research topic could relate to, and utilize those resources as well.

Please contact me if you'd like help!

Primo Search

A - Z Database List | Advanced Search | Digital Repository | Interlibrary Loan | Sign In to Library Search

Key Article Databases in Ethnic Studies

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to literature related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index covers 1,700 journals published since 1964.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Examines social issues from a variety of sources: pro and con viewpoint articles; full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers; statistics and more.

Additional Databases

American Indian Movement And Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window Part of the Archives Unbound series; this collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI.
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window As America transitioned from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movement and beyond, the rest of the world paid close attention. In addition to providing unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice, this collection also offers rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
The documents in American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996, are derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Between the early 1940s and 1996, a government organization that became part of the CIA monitored, recorded and translated into English relevant news from newspapers, magazines, government statements and radio and television broadcasts from every corner of the globe.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Searches across numerous publishers and institutional sources for reports, dissertations and theses, and scholarly publications. Using this link will indicate which Google Scholar results are available in full-text through UNK databases or other free/open-access sources.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Use this for legal research and U.S. government information
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window This fully searchable digital archive includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.
The news and analysis in Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives comes from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA . These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports. Together, these sources constitute the only digital research tool that brings together local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. In addition, the interface enables students and scholars to easily browse the collection by a broad range of topics, each providing highly relevant results for users at all levels.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.