Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are primary sources?
Documents that were created at the time of the event or subject you’re studying or by people who were observers of or participants in that event or topic.
"What makes the source a "primary" source is when it was made, not what it is (Brown).”
Documenting the American South
Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs
Project of the British Library to digitize and preserve endangered archival materials. Rich sources on locations in Africa, Central and South America, Eastern Europe, and Asia.
Open-access European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced, or translated.
Gifts of Speech
Speeches given by women. Speeches date from 1848-2010.
History by Era
Combination of essays, primary sources, and lectures on various topics in American History, broken down by era.
Primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history. Designed for high schools and early college students.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Modernized interface for Library of Congress digitized materials. It allows you to "access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films."
SoJust collects materials on social justice. The site has speeches, songs, letters, and other material.
Project of the National Library of Australia. It has a wide variety of source materials, including everything from diaries to maps to archive websites.
UK Parliament Proceedings Archive
Digitized, searchable proceedings of both the British House of Commons and the House of Lords back to 1803.
Women in World History
Collection of documents, broken out by region, of women's role in world history. Strengths include visual materials from the Spanish Civil War, documents on health in Latin America, and discussions of Imperialism in North Africa.
World Digital Library
Project of the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO; it makes available significant primary source materials from a broad array of countries.