Research Guides: Social Work 388: SOWK 388

Suggested E-books

Check these encyclopedias for historical background, health effects, and treatment methods related to alcohol and drug abuse.

Alcohol and Drugs in North America by David Fahey
Call Number: ONLINE - UNLIMITED
ISBN: 9781598844795
Publication Date: 2013
Marijuana by David E. Newton
Call Number: ONLINE - UNLIMITED
ISBN: 9781610691505
Publication Date: 2013
Addiction [electronic resource] : a reference encyclopedia by Padwa, Howard
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 1598842293
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior [electronic resource]
Call Number: ONLINE - UNLIMITED
ISBN: 0028660641
Publication Date: 2009

Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts; provides citations and abstracts to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Few scholarly articles, but still a good source for background information, statistics, and suggested sources on drug abuse topics. To begin, try a keyword search on a specific drug/substance.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to articles in journals, dissertations, and book chapters in all areas of psychology. Includes all articles from the PsycARTICLES database.

DEA: Definitions of Controlled Substance Schedules
DEA: Drug Scheduling
Find lists of controlled substances, including other/street names, and their DEA "schedule" of classification.
DEA: Drug Fact Sheets
Review the DEA's Drug Fact Sheets to learn more about illegal and legal drugs and their physiological effects.
DrugAbuse.gov
Information about illegal drugs, abuse and treatment. See the lists of Commonly Abused Drugs as well as Commonly Abused Prescription Drugs for street names, DEA scheduling, methods of administration, and health effects.
DrugAbuse.gov: Trends & Statistics
Find statistics on drug usage and treatment within the U.S.
National Drug Threat Assessment 2020
Includes some pricing data for marijuana and methamphetamines.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
NOTE: See this 2013 issue of Alcohol Research: Current Reviews about "Measuring the Burden—Alcohol’s Evolving Impact on Individuals, Families, and Society"
World Drug Report
Includes data on pricing, production and usage of narcotics worldwide, as compiled by the United Nations.