Thematic Lists

From a classic PB&J to a triple-decker club, discover everything you've ever wanted to know (and MORE) about America's favorite food: SANDWICHES! In this cookbook meets guidebook, kids and adults will learn to assemble -- and enjoy -- a variety of delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert sandwiches. With fun factoids and trivia, plus an array of vegetarian sandwiches and regional specialties, this truly is the ultimate guide to what takes place between the bread.

Celebrated Chef Gino Campagna knows a BIG secret- ANY KID CAN COOK! The recipes in this book are simple, easy to follow, and best of all-TASTY! They're also open-ended so you can add your favorite flavors and creative flair. Inside young cooks will find delicious and nutritious dishes, from basic pasta and pizza doughs to Ginestrone (aka minestrone) soup and Guac Amore (aka guacamole) to French toast grilled cheese and Fruity Pops, that the entire family will enjoy preparing together. After all, cooking is a team sport! So what are you waiting for? Step into the kitchen with Chef Gino, challenge your taste buds, and most importantly, HAVE FUN!

Employing only the freshest foods, Japanese cooks strive to show their deep respect for nature. By using principles of freshness, simplicity, and beauty, Japanese cooks prepare and serve food they consider art.

Provides information about the fifty states along with a recipe native to each of them, such as Boston baked beans from Massachusetts, crab cakes from Maryland, Key lime pie from Florida, corn dogs from Iowa, and taco soup from New Mexico

Provides step-by-step instructions for a variety of recipes, arranged in such categories as "Breakfast Specials," "Soups, Sandwiches & Salads for Lunch or Supper," and "Desserts and a Few Baked Things."

Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden delights in the wondrous discoveries of lonely Mary Lennox as she slowly helps bring an abandoned garden back to life. It also delights in good food and a robust appetite, and the health and strength they can bring. Written at a time when many children were going hungry and even starving, Burnett's beloved story celebrates the magic of fresh air, new milk, homemade currant buns, and hearty, simple fare. Inside the pages of this cookbook are recipes for Mary's favorite foods, in and out of the garden, from porridge to roasted potatoes and eggs, all inspired by The Secret Garden and all adapted by chef and culinary historian Amy Coder from traditional Victorian recipes. Ms. Coder has supplemented these simple, wholesome recipes with fascinating tidbits on Victorian foods and Victorian eating customs. The result is a scrumptious tribute to Burnett's classic novel, a fascinating glimpse into the cooking customs of a historical period that is now long past, and a step-by-step guide to making delicious, tasty treats to enjoy in your own secret garden.

A collection of holiday recipes from fifteen different countries including a variety of dishes such as Thai Egg Rolls, Passover Layer Cake, Paella, and Danish Rice Pudding

For people who have left their homeland for a new country, comfort foods from home take on a huge emotional importance. This delightful poem teaches readers young and old how to make a heartwarming, tummy-filling black bean soup, from gathering the beans, onions, and garlic to taking little pebbles out of the beans to letting them simmer till the luscious smell indicates it's time for supper. Jorge Argueta's vivid poetic voice and Rafael Yockteng's vibrant illustrations make preparing this healthy and delicious Latino favorite an exciting, almost magical experience.

In this new cooking poem, Jorge Argueta brings us a fun and easy recipe for a yummy salsa. A young boy and his sister gather the ingredients and grind them up in a molcajete, just like their ancestors used to do, singing and dancing all the while. The children imagine that their ingredients are different parts of an orchestra -- the tomatoes are bongos and kettledrums, the onion, a maraca, the cloves of garlic, trumpets and the cilantro, the conductor. They chop and then grind these ingredients in the molcajete, along with red chili peppers for the "hotness" that is so delicious, finally adding a squeeze of lime and a sprinkle of salt. When they are finished, their mother warms tortillas and their father lays out plates, as the whole family, including the cat and dog, dance salsa in mouth-watering anticipation.

The cuisines of many different cultures all over the world include rice and rice pudding. In this title in the Cooking Poems series, Jorge Argueta gives us a bilingual recipe for the classic Latin American version. From sprinkling the rice into the pot, to adding a waterfall of milk, cinnamon sticks, salt stars and sugar snow, Jorge Argueta's recipe is not only easy to follow, it is a poetic experience. The lively illustrations by Fernando Vilela feature an enthusiastic young cook who finds no end of joy in making and then slurping up the rice pudding with his family.

In his fourth cooking poem for young children, Jorge Argueta encourages more creativity and fun in the kitchen as he describes how to make tamalitos from corn masa and cheese, wrapped in cornhusks. In simple, poetic language, Argueta shows young cooks how to mix and knead the dough before dropping a spoonful into a cornhusk, wrapping it up and then steaming the little package. He once again makes cooking a full sensory experience, beating on a pot like a drum, dancing the corn dance, delighting in the smell of corn . . . And at the end, he suggests inviting the whole family to come and enjoy the delicious tamalitos "made of corn with love." Domi's vivid paintings, featuring a sister and her little brother making tamalitos together, are a perfect accompaniment to the colorful text.

This dreamlike picture book is a magical ode to Victorian lunch wagons. Inside the elegant Night Owl, a feathery cook works the grill, serving up tasty dishes for shift-workers and operagoers alike. As the evening s service winds down, weary Owl spots trembling Mouse, a poor street sweeper. Has he found his own night lunch, or will he invite this small sweeper inside for a midnight feast for two? Evoking the sounds, sights, smells and tastes of the city at night, Night Lunch reveals how empathy and kindness as well as dignity and gratitude can be found in the most unexpected places.

It's easy to look at high school senior Oscar Olsson and think- lost. He hates school, struggles to read, and wants nothing to do with college. But Oscar is anything but lost---he knows exactly what he wants and exactly how to get it. Oscar and Farfar, the Swedish grandfather who's raised him, run a food truck together selling rullekebab and munkar, and Oscar wants to finish school so he can focus on the food truck full-time. It's easy to look at Mary Louise (Lou for short) Messinger and think- driven. AP everything, valedictorian in her sights, and Ivy league college aspirations. When Lou hijacks Oscar's carefully crafted schedule of independent studies and blocks of time in the Culinary Lab, Oscar is roped into helping Lou complete her over-ambitious, resume-building service project-reducing food waste in Central Adams High School. While Lou stands to gain her Girl Scout Gold Award, Oscar will be faced with a mountain of uneaten school apples and countless hours with a girl he can't stand. With the finish line in sight, a relationship he never expected, and festival season about to begin (for good), the unthinkable happens, and Oscar's future is anything but certain.

Chef Roy Choi calls himself a "street cook." He wants outsiders, low-riders, kids, teens, shufflers and skateboarders, to have food cooked with care, with love, with sohn maash. "Sohn maash" is the flavors in our fingertips. It is the love and cooking talent that Korean mothers and grandmothers mix into their handmade foods. For Chef Roy Choi, food means love. It also means culture, not only of Korea where he was born, but the many cultures that make up the streets of Los Angeles, where he was raised. So remixing food from the streets, just like good music--and serving it up from a truck--is true to L.A. food culture. People smiled and talked as they waited in line. Won't you join him as he makes good food smiles?

"Talk about your meals on wheels!" A convoy of comic food trucks is heading your way, serving up a mouthful of good eats with a side of humor and verse. They've got everything from French fries to falafel. You can sample sushi. Build a burger. Eat an empanada! There's a food truck flavor to satisfy every appetite in this comically illustrated picture book with rhyming text. A fun and informative homage to tasty treats and transportation. Additional fun facts on food history and nutrition are also peppered throughout the book.

Journey around the world with this poetry collection celebrating delicious international street food! The world is a delicious place! Come along on an international journey to try a hot pretzel in New York City; saffron tea in Mumbai, India; deep fried scorpions in Beijing, China; and much, much more. This poetry collection celebrates all the different kinds of street food from around the globe, introducing young readers to snacks they know and ones they've never heard of--showing that no matter where we live, we all appreciate a yummy treat!

Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town! After getting lunch orders from the luchador and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Spanish vocabulary and packed with fun details and things to see, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch!

Brian Cleary's zany rhyming text introduces young readers to foods in the grains group, including pasta, crackers, cereal, and bread. Cleary also introduces the health benefits of these foods and provides information on how many servings of grains the USDA recommends

Brian Cleary's zany rhyming text introduces young readers to foods in the meat and beans group, including meat, poultry, eggs, fish, nuts, seeds, and dry beans. Cleary also introduces the health benefits of these foods and provides information on how many servings of fruits the USDA recommends

Brian Cleary's zany rhyming text introduces young readers to foods in the milk group, including cheese, ice cream, and--of course--milk! Cleary also introduces the health benefits of dairy foods and provides information on how many servings of dairy the USDA recommends

Brian Cleary's zany rhyming text introduces young readers to foods in the fruits group, including bananas, plums, grapefruits, and kiwis. Cleary also introduces the health benefits of these foods and provides information on how many servings of fruits the USDA recommends

Brian Cleary's zany rhyming text introduces young readers to foods in the vegetables group, including sweet pototoes, cauliflower, and spinach. Cleary also introduces the health benefits of these foods and provides information on how many servings of vegetables the USDA recommends

What are oils? Oils are liquid fats. They give a rich flavor to foods they are found in, such as nuts, seeds, and fish. Brian P. Cleary's goofy verse and Martin Goneau's humorous illustrations give young readers a slick bunch of examples of oils and foods rich in healthy oils. They also highlight some health benefits of eating a limited amount of oil. Oils and oil-rich foods are printed in color for easy identification. Enjoy this flavorful serving of a book!

The book presents a bilingual introduction to five countries and Puerto Rico, all with a significant representation in the Hispanic population of the United States. Each chapter includes general and cultural information, recipes, suggestions for additional learning opportunities, vocabulary, a short fiction reading list and Internet resources.
The book concludes with a glossary of cooking terms and techniques, utensils, and ingredients and a general bibliography. Grades 4-8.

Are you interested in using argument-driven inquiry for middle school lab instruction but aren't sure how to do it? You aren't alone. Argument-Driven Inquiry in Life Science is a one-stop source of expertise, advice, and investigations, with the information and materials you need to start using this method right away. The book includes 20 field-tested labs that cover molecules and organisms, ecosystems, biological evolution, and heredity. They give your students an opportunity to design their own methods, develop models, collect and analyze data, generate arguments, and critique claims and evidence. Student Lab Manual for Argument-Driven Inquiry in Life Science provides the student materials you need to guide your students through these investigations. With lab details, student handouts, and safety information, your students will be ready to start investigating.
Includes activities related to food

The bestselling Argument-Driven Inquiry in Biology provides biology labs that help your students learn important content and scientific practices. The 27 field-tested labs cover molecules and organisms, ecosystems, heredity, and biological evolution. As you guide your students through these investigations, you may find it helpful to give them the handouts and checkout questions they need to complete the labs. Student Lab Manual for Argument-Driven Inquiry in Biology has everything your students need to fully engage in the lab activities, and you may find it convenient to give a copy to each student to save time at the photocopier. However you use it, this time-saving book will make it easier for you to get your students started with their investigations.
Includes activities related to food

This time-saving program planner for librarians and classroom teachers alike includes everything you need to get started--reading lists, flannelboard patterns, poems, songs, easy crafts, even take-home activities to extend the learning process. The many creative ideas packed inside include Activities keyed to popular classroom themes, with one chapter for each week of the school year Lessons that reinforce skills in key learning areas such as reading, writing, and math American Sign Language and Spanish language activities that make diversity awareness a part of children's learning Teachable concepts that can be mixed and rearranged for maximum flexibility, complementing classroom schedules Both veterans and novices will find plenty to help make kindergarten days richer, more rewarding, and more fun.
Contains activities related to food

Storytime audiences grow ever more diverse, and it's important that the materials used in programs reflect that richness of experience. Multiculturalism need not be an occasional initiative attached to particular holidays. In this book best-selling authors MacMillan and Kirker offer a new paradigm for multicultural programs, one in which diversity is woven into any and every storytime, no matter what the topic. Arranged thematically around dozens of popular storytime themes, the authors Present original and traditional resources from all over the world that will enrich storytimes for ages 2 through 5 Offer concrete book recommendations, fingerplays, and other activities that can be integrated into existing storytimes Include download links for flannelboard and stick puppet patterns, and illustrations of American Sign Language signs With numerous activities and programming suggestions, this book will seamlessly integrate and enhance cultural awareness for children all year round.
Includes an activity related to food

The perfect way to turn children's love of active games into learning opportunities! Bring science to life as children learn about their bodies, animals, seasons, and the weather. The activities in each chapter are organized by level of difficulty, and each one incorporates fun, exciting science experiences with movement. Research shows that the most effective way for children to learn concepts is to experience them physically. Jump into Science offers just this kind of learning. Activities such as The Mirror Game, Dinosaur Stomp, and Water and Ice will actively engage children as they explore new science concepts!
Includes activities related to food

This addition to the best-selling GIANT Encyclopedia series expands the scope of the series by offering complete lesson plans. Written and created by teachers, The GIANT Encyclopedia of Lesson Plans has more than 250 complete lesson plans, covering topics from colors and numbers to seasons and nursery rhymes. Each lesson plan is complete with learning objectives, a circle or group time activity, book suggestions, snack ideas, five learning center activities, assessment strategies, and related songs, poems, and fingerplays. With easy-to-use lesson plans for more than an entire school year, this book belongs on every teacher's bookshelf!
Includes a lesson related to food

From "Sipping Cider Through a Straw" to "Apples and Bananas," children will sing, dance, and learn with these songs about the fabulous food we enjoy every day. The CD is accompanied by a book with over 250 activities that teach children about nutrition, math concepts, and traditions.

Are you searching for just the right story to reinforce your theme? Trying to play a game but can't remember the rules? Looking for your favorite no-bake cookie recipe? It's all right here! This book is chock full of over 500 ways to enhance any curriculum.
Includes a section of recipes

Because there's more than one way to be smart! This innovative book for three-to six-year-olds offers a complete plan for every learner. Organized by theme, The Daily Curriculum includes over 1,200 activities and ideas to engage multiple intelligences. Complete with assessment tools and a comprehensive appendix, you'll find everything you need to captivate and challenge every child in your classroom.
Includes a section related to food

A comprehensive collection of the best art and craft activities for young children. The result of a nationwide competition, these art and craft activities are the best of the best. Just the thing to add pizzazz to your day!
Includes a section related to food

Organized by curriculum area or time of day, each activity is complete with math concepts, materials needed, and step-by-step instructions. Math is the new focus in early childhood education, and the easy-to-use math concept index is a fabulous feature for teachers so they can easily find appropriate activities for the children they teach. Loved by children because they're fun, and teachers because they are developmentally appropriate, the activities in The GIANT Encyclopedia of Math Activities will captivate children's imaginations and create wonderful opportunities for learning and fun.
Includes a chapter entitled "Snack & Cooking"

This book contains hundreds of accessible, teacher-written learning center activities. The GIANT Encyclopedia of Learning Center Activities is the eighth book in Gryphon House's GIANT Encyclopedia series. The learning centers in this book can either be permanent year-long centers or set up and removed according to the season or children's interests and needs. Through play, young children learn to communicate, interact, and expand their cognitive thinking horizons. The GIANT Encyclopedia of Learning Center Activities provides the resources to make play meaningful and educational for young children. This book offers: Over 600 activities and 47 learning centers, including familiar, permanent centers, such as Art or Blocks, and new and exciting centers, such as Farm, Space, Safari, Shoe Store, and Ice Cream Shop. Opportunities in each center for children to work at their own developmental level. Materials lists for each activity, step-by-step instructions, and related books, songs, and poems. Fresh new ideas from teachers who have used these activities in their own classrooms!
Includes a section entitled "Bakery & Cooking"

Transform the classroom into an artist's studio with these easy edible art experiences. Organized by theme, such as Shapes & Forms and Color & Design, Cooking Art combines the familiar area of art exploration with the fascinating world of cooking, including all its wondrous tools, tastes and outcomes. Includes recipes for snacks, sandwiches, drinks, desserts, breads, fruit as well as pet treats. Each recipe allows ample room for cooking artists to explore and create in their own special ways!

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes activities related to Eating Fruits and Vegetables, Chocolate, Potatoes, Ice Cream, Cookies, Pizza, Popcorn, Sandwiches, Gingerbread, and Soup

With more than 80 activities in each book, these valuable resources will enrich your curriculum. For each activity, literature links promote reading, while Internet links encourage the best use of technology. Individual and team projects for K-5 classrooms, connected to NCTE standards.
Includes activities related to Cherries, Peanuts, Eggs, and Strawberries

Rishi's grandma arrives from India today, and he longs to cook curry alongside his Dad using the delicious flavors from his family's spice box. But this spice box is more than just fragrant spices in shades of gold and ruby. This spice box holds memories that are passed down from one generation to the next, as each found their place in this wide world. When Rishi drops the box that holds the family's heart and history, he draws courage and meaning from their treasured past to set things right.

A vibrant historical picture book about Tokyo's bicycle food deliverers, or demae, who balanced towering trays of steaming hot noodles on their shoulders while navigating crowded city streets. When the deliverymen set off in the morning, the children wait for the flicker of pedal and wheel. It's the demae-- delivery men-- setting off to deliver steaming trays of noodles to hungry customers all over the city. They are acrobats: whizzing past other bicycles, soaring around curves, avoiding the black smoke of motorcycles. When the children see them, they want to be them. And so they practice with bowls of wobbling water stacked on trays. The day passes, and, finally, exhausted, the demae return home, to their families, and, yes, to steaming bowls of noodles. This beautifully crafted, visually exciting story by a powerhouse author and illustrator team is sure to be adored by food lovers, young and old.

Chef Kobe is the star of the kitchen! With his signature red apron and red chef's hat, Kobe is ready to make another meal--PIZZA! He uses only the finest ingredients, never spills, and is very patient when waiting for the timer to go off . . . While cooking is super fun, Chef Kobe always remembers the last, most important step: eating together as a family!

Niki Nakayama: A Chef's Tale in 13 Bites is a picture book biography that tells the story of the powerhouse female Japanese-American chef and her rise to fame. As a child and adult, Niki faced many naysayers in her pursuit of haute cuisine. Using the structure of a traditional kaiseki meal, the authors Debbi Michiko Florence and Jamie Michalak playfully detail Niki's hunger for success in thirteen "bites" -- from wonton wrappers she used to make pizza as a kid to yuzu-tomatillo sauce in her own upscale Los Angeles Michelin-starred restaurant, n/naka. To anyone who tells her a woman can't be a master chef, Niki lets her food do the talking. And oh, does it talk.

From fried dumplings to fortune cookies, here are the tales behind your favorite foods. Do you know the stories behind delectable dishes--like the fun connection between scallion pancakes and pizza? Or how dumplings cured a village's frostbitten ears? Or how wonton soup tells about the creation of the world? Separated into courses like a Chinese menu, these tales--based in real history and folklore--are filled with squabbling dragons, magical fruits, and hungry monks. This book will bring you to far-off times and marvelous places, all while making your mouth water. And, along the way, you might just discover a deeper understanding of the resilience and triumph behind this food, and what makes it undeniably American. Award-winning and bestselling author Grace Lin provides a visual and storytelling feast as she gives insight on the history, legends, and myths behind your favorite American Chinese dishes.

Magaly loves the yummy Cuban food her Abuela has been cooking since arriving from Havana, but when Magaly's sweater goes missing, she discovers that Abuela is making ropa vieja for dinner. Old clothes for dinner? Yuck! Now Magaly must hide the rest of her clothes before her family eats them up. A silly story of misunderstandings! Endnotes feature other imaginative names of food around the world, facts about Cuba, Spanish vocabulary Includes two delicious recipes for ropa vieja and arroz con leche.

Find out what children eat all around the world in this beautifully illustrated book, written by bestselling poet and author Laura Mucha, alongside trained chef and food writer Ed Smith. From biltong to biryani, papaya to passionfruit, and ramen to roti, there are so many different dishes and delicacies all around the world. In this fascinating book, young children can learn all about what people in other countries eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as where our food comes from, and the stories, cultures, and traditions behind what we eat. A unique, warm-hearted book that will teach children understanding, empathy, and respect, and inspire a love of food and flavor.

What if talking about racism was as easy as baking a cake, frying plantains or cooking rice? The Antiracist Kitchen: 21 Stories (and Recipes) is a celebration of food, family, activism and resistance in the face of racism. In this anthology featuring stories and recipes from 21 diverse and award-winning North American children's authors, the authors share the role of food in their lives and how it has helped fight discrimination, reclaim culture and celebrate people with different backgrounds. They bring personal and sometimes difficult experiences growing up as racialized people. Chopped, seared, marinated and stewed, The Antiracist Kitchen highlights the power of sitting down to share a meal and how that simple act can help bring us all together.

Jose Andres's love of cooking began as a young boy in Spain as he gathered the wood to make the fire that would cook the paella just right. Jose loved everything about it- the sizzling olive oil, the mounds of chopped vegetables, and the smell of saffron. When he left home, he realized he wanted to tell stories with food. And tell them he did, creating magic with the seeds of ripe tomatoes and pomegranates and cheese. His dreams grew until they were as big as the stars in the sky. He thought, No one should ever go hungry. I want to help feed the world-- and World Central Kitchen was born. From the earthquake in Haiti to the war in Ukraine and the Covid pandemic, Jose and his team at World Central Kitchen have been at the frontlines, serving more than 200 million meals and counting, and bringing comfort and hope in the darkest times. With a lyrical text and stunning illustrations, here is a picture book biography about a world-renowned humanitarian and chef that's sure to inspire a new generation of community helpers.

"Food rescued me so many other times -- not only because I sold food to survive. I cook to entertain; I cook to be liked; I cook to be loved." In this installment, chef and activist Gaby Melian shares her personal journey with food -- from growing up in Argentina to her time as a Jersey City street vendor and later, as Bon Appetit's test kitchen manager. Powerful and full of heart, here, Melian explores how we can develop a relationship with food that's healthy, sustainable, and thoughtful.

The delicious true story of an inventive chef and the serendipitous events that led to the creation of the world's favorite snack--nachos! Ignacio Anaya was born in Mexico in 1895, and like a lot of Ignacios, he was nicknamed Nacho. Young Nacho loved to eat and cook, and when he grew up, he found a job in a restaurant. Eventually he became head waiter at the Victory Club, a popular restaurant in Piedras Negras, Mexico, right across the Rio Grande river from Eagle Pass, Texas. One afternoon in 1940, during the Victory Club's quiet hours between lunch and dinner, Mamie Finan, a regular customer from the US, walked in with three friends. They wanted a snack--something new, something different. Nacho rushed to the kitchen and improvised with what was on hand: corn tortillas, cheddar cheese, and jalapeño peppers. In that moment, Nacho's Special, the dish that later became known simply as "nachos," was born! Word of this delicious new snack spread quickly. Soon restaurants all over Mexico, the United States, and later the world, were serving nachos. Little did Nacho know that his name would one day be a household word around the globe!

Cora promises to keep Uncle JB's Bread Pet alive but didn't anticipate its exponential growth! She needs to come up with a solution -- and fast! This whimsical STEM story of family, creativity and community will inspire young makers to experiment and share their gifts with others. Includes recipes for sourdough starter and sourdough bread.

Every day, all around the world, kids go to school, eat lunch and play games... And yet, these universal experiences can look very different between different countries. This book will take your readers on a trip around the globe to celebrate diverse cultures and traditions, and will show how different (and how similar) we all are!

Reginald isn't like the other zombies who shuffle through Quirkville, scaring the townspeople and moaning for BRAINSSSSS! The only thing Reginald's stomach rumbles for is sticky peanut butter and sweet jelly. He tries to tell his zombie pals that there's more to life than eating brains, but they're just not interested. Will Reginald find a way to bring peace to Quirkville and convince the other zombies that there's nothing better than PB&J?

What's a little piece of bread to do when he's feeling lonely? Find a friend, of course! And that's exactly what Peanut Butter tries to do. But sometimes friends are hard to come by, especially when Hamburger has to walk his (hot) dogs, Cupcake is too busy building castles in her sprinkle box, and Egg laughs so hard he starts to crack up! Does Peanut Butter have a soulmate?

What's a cupcake to do when she needs to plan her birthday party? In this hilarious, kid-friendly homage to food and birthdays, Cupcake runs through tons of ideas while her best friend, Blueberry Muffin, finds reasons why they won't work- Soup gets seasick; Donut melts in the sun; someone might get squashed during musical chairs; and Cupcake is not very good at limbo (her icing might get sliced off!). Just as Cupcake is ready to crumble, Blueberry Muffin has one last idea that just might save the day. With laugh-out-loud visual gags (like a band made up of beans--the musical fruit, of course), this book is sure to put a birthday smile on any kid's face (and on adult faces as well).

It's 1830s England, and Culinarians--doyens who consult with society's elite to create gorgeous food and confections--are the crème de la crème of high society. Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate--and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year. Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong. Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won't allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby--but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society. When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef. But Elijah's transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize--and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.

Benny's family owns a knishery and sells delicious round dumplings. Then the Tisch family opens a store across the street--selling square knishes--and Benny's papa worries. So he lowers his prices! But Mr. Tisch does too. As each knishery tries to outdo the other, Benny helps his papa realize there's room on Rivington Street for more than one knishery.

This volume visits 25 families in 21 countries around the world. Each family is photographed surrounded by a week's worth of food and groceries, which the authors use as a way of investigating not only different cultures' diets and standard of living but also the impact of globalization -- why doesn't abundance bring better health, instead of increased occurrences of diabetes and similar diseases? The main narrative presents friendly, multigenerational portraits of each family, with meals and food preparation an avenue toward understanding their hopes and struggles. A wealth of supporting information -- color photographs, family recipes, maps, sidebars, etc. -- surrounds the text and implies questions about global food supplies.

Lili loves to cook baos, and Nai Nai has taught her all the secrets to making them, from kneading the dough lovingly and firmly to being thankful for the strong and healthy ingredients in the filling. But when Nai Nai realizes that they are out of cabbage (Secret #8: line the basket with cabbage leaves!), she sends Lili up to Babcia's apartment on the sixth floor to get some. Babcia is happy to share her cabbage, but she needs some potatoes for her pierogi. . . . What follows is a race up and down the stairs as Lili helps all the grandmothers in her building borrow ingredients for different dumplings: Jamaican beef patties, Italian ravioli, Lebanese fatayer, and more. Energized by Melissa Iwai's engaging artwork and kinetic storytelling, Dumplings for Lili is a joyful story of sharing food, friendship, and love in all their forms.

My nose leads me from my room, through the kitchen, and out of our apartment. Scents swirl in the stairwell of our building. I can smell garlic sautéing. Ginger simmering. Tomatoes stewing on a stovetop. An apartment complex is having a dumpling festival, and all the kids are excited to watch and help each family cook up different versions of the delicious treats. From kreplach to khinkali and Johnny cakes to jiao zi, each household has its own way of making dumplings, uniquely hand-crafted and based upon their culture. As the children wrap, cook, and eat all the different types of dumplings, they learn how dumplings are the ultimate labor of love! Underscoring the power of food to both bring us together and help us celebrate our differences, Our World of Dumplings is a rich story that shows the tender relationship between food and company and its natural ability to create a sense of community-and will leave you hungry for more!

An authentic novel about growing up in an Asian immigrant family with a mother who is suffering from a debilitating mental illness.Anna Chiu has her hands full. When she's not looking after her brother and sister or helping out at her father's restaurant, she's taking care of her mother, whose debilitating mental illness keeps her in bed most days. Her father's new delivery boy, Rory, is a welcome distraction and even though she knows that things aren't right at home, she's starting to feel like she could be a normal teen.But when her mother finally gets out of bed, things go from bad to worse. And as her mother's condition worsens, Anna and her family question everything they understand about themselves and each other.The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling is a heart-wrenching, true-to-life exploration through the often neglected crevices of culture, mental illness, and family. Its strong themes are balanced by a beautiful romance making it a feel-good, yet important read.

Once upon a time, in the middle of a group of seven thousand happy islands named after King Philip of Spain, there lived a lady named Doña Esmeralda. She had a big bouffant hairdo and was much smaller than you. And she was always hungry... And so begins the wickedly hilarious tale of one very old, but very stylish little lady who loves to eat, but can only find the ooey, gooey, mushy, smelly leftovers of naughty children to nosh on. But what happens when Doña Esmeralda finds out about all the tasty treats that children do eat? Hold on to your hairdos as Esmeralda eats everything in sight in a cumulative read-aloud inspired by stories from author Melissa de la Cruz's childhood in the Philippines!

Teenage baker Syd sends ripples of heartbreak through Austin's queer community when a batch of post-being-dumped brownies turns out to be magical--and makes everyone who eats them break up. "What's done is done." Unless, of course, it was done by my brownies. Then it's getting undone. Syd (no pronouns, please) has always dealt with big, hard-to-talk-about things by baking. Being dumped is no different, except now Syd is baking at the Proud Muffin, a queer bakery and community space in Austin. And everyone who eats Syd's breakup brownies . . . breaks up. Even Vin and Alec, who own the Proud Muffin. And their breakup might take the bakery down with it. Being dumped is one thing; causing ripples of queer heartbreak through the community is another. But the cute bike delivery person, Harley (he or they, check the pronoun pin, it's probably on the messenger bag), believes Syd about the magic baking. And Harley believes Syd's magical baking can fix things, too--one recipe at a time.

A lively look at where our food comes from, and the hardworking people who produce it. Farmers and fishermen show off their bounty in this celebration of agriculture and healthy eating! Bright, enticing photographs of plants, animals, and the people who work to raise them are paired with an accessible text explaining the different kinds of farms that produce our food. Fruits, vegetables, grains, dairy, meat, eggs, and fish are represented, with notes on where and how they grow, and what we make from them. Grow! Raise! Catch! offers a breakdown of the farm-to-table process perfect for preschoolers and kindergarten students. Includes a glossary of important terms introduced in the text, and an author's note on how eating fresh foods helps you stay healthy.

Take a bite out of the calendar with this cheerful collection of delicious seasonal poems, each one an ode to a favorite food! The daring popcorn astronauts are brave beyond compare-- they scramble into puffy suits and hurtle through the air. And when they land, we say hooray and crowd around the spot to salt the little astronauts and eat them while they're hot. Dive into a watermelon lake and sing the praises of mac and cheese in this playful and poetic celebration of food. In spring, bow to the "Strawberry Queen" and eat "Only Guacamole." In summer you'll meet Bob the Ogre, who only eats corn on the cob, and in fall, you can learn "21 Things to Do with an Apple." And then in winter, retreat from the cold at "The Cocoa Cabana!" Stellar team Deborah Ruddell and Joan Rankin deliver a whimsical celebration of the tastiest treats of life in this palatable poetry collection.

Benny likes burgers. Benny loves burgers. In fact, burgers are the only food that Benny ever eats. "If you don't watch out, you'll turn into a burger one day," warns his mom. And one day, Benny does. Hilarious, roly-poly illustrations capture Benny's wacky transformation and the chaos that ensues. A delectable cautionary tale, this is a rollicking read-aloud that's certain to tickle picky eaters (and their parents) everywhere.

The charming, acclaimed book about a cat who is teased for the food she brings for school lunch is about accepting and embracing our differences. Mmm, Yoko's mom has packed her favorite for lunch today--sushi! But her classmates don't think it looks quite so yummy. "Ick!" says one of the Franks. "It's seaweed!" They're not even impressed by her red bean ice cream dessert. Of course, Mrs. Jenkins has a plan that might solve Yoko's problem. But will it work with the other children in class?

In Muffuletta, being good at eating is the key to success. French fries and grilled cheese? Beginner food! Haggis and truffles? Delicacies! After failing a school eating test, picky eater Minerva is placed in the lowest eating track of all: Remedial Eating to Change Habits. RETCH class is full of kids with weird personalities and even weirder food preferences. And to make matters worse, Minerva's best friends, in the Gifted and Gourmet class, no longer speak to her. But soon Minerva finds she is not alone in her pickiness, and forms friendships with her new classmates. And together, they find a way to stand up for themselves--picky and proud!

Meet fearless Frieda Caplan--the produce pioneer who changed the way Americans eat by introducing exciting new fruits and vegetables, from baby carrots to blood oranges to kiwis--in this brightly illustrated nonfiction picture book! In 1956, Frieda Caplan started working at the Seventh Street Produce Market in Los Angeles. Instead of competing with the men in the business with their apples, potatoes, and tomatoes, Frieda thought, why not try something new? Staring with mushrooms, Frieda began introducing fresh and unusual foods to her customers--snap peas, seedless watermelon, mangos, and more! This groundbreaking woman brought a whole world of delicious foods to the United States, forever changing the way we eat. Frieda Caplan was always willing to try something new--are you?

Sloth and Lemur come across a cake. A mysterious delicious-looking cake. Should they share it with their friends? Or should they eat it themselves?

While World War II is changing the world in major ways, a young boy named Roger finds himself in a different kind of fight-a battle within himself-as he tries to muster up the courage to sample a bite of cheesecake. Yes, that's right, cheesecake. You see, Roger can't understand how cheese, regularly eaten in his grilled sandwiches, could possibly taste good in cake. He is quite disturbed that others not only find this oddity acceptable but also say it's delicious. The Little Boy Who Wouldn't Eat Cheesecake inspires picky eaters and young readers, ages 4-9, to try new things and encourages conversation with older family members and friends about foods they didn't like in childhood (or, at least, thought they didn't like) and what happened when they actually tried the foods for themselves.

Bored with eating salad, our French snail hero peruses the library stacks, looking for a cookbook

Mo Romero is a zombie with a deep, dark secret... Mo Romero is a zombie who loves nothing more than growing, cooking, and eating vegetables. Tomatoes? Tantalizing. Peppers? Pure perfection! The problem? Mo's parents insist that their niño eat only zombie cuisine, like arm-panadas and finger foods. They tell Mo over and over that zombies don't eat veggies. But Mo can't imagine a lifetime of just eating zombie food and giving up his veggies. As he questions his own zombie identity, Mo tries his best to convince his parents to give peas a chance.

Every year, Haitians all over the world ring in the new year by eating a special soup, a tradition dating back to the Haitian Revolution. This year, Ti Gran is teaching Belle how to make the soup -- Freedom Soup -- just like she was taught when she was a little girl. Together, they dance and clap as they prepare the holiday feast, and Ti Gran tells Belle about the history of the soup, the history of Belle's family, and the history of Haiti, where Belle's family is from. In this celebration of cultural traditions passed from one generation to the next, Jacqueline Alcántara's lush illustrations bring to life both Belle's story and the story of the Haitian Revolution. Tami Charles's lyrical text, as accessible as it is sensory, makes for a tale that readers will enjoy to the last drop.

What do Napoleon, Cleopatra, George Washington, Gandhi, Queen Victoria, Columbus, Neil Armstrong, Montezuma, Paul Revere, Babe Ruth, Abraham Lincoln, Sacagawea, and Katsushika Hokusai have in common? They are all among the historical figures portrayed in this delightful book by writer Abby Ewing Zelz and cartoonist Eric Zelz. Just like us, the great movers and shakers of history had to eat, and their favorite foods turn out to be a highly entertaining thread to follow through the history of our small planet. History and biography have never been this tasty! Includes do it yourself historic Pandowdy recipe Includes backmatter with brief bios of featured historic figures

Award-winning author Grace Lin joins science writer Ranida T. McKneally to get kids talking about the science of food, the five food groups, and what a healthy meal looks like. Answering questions like "why are so many vegetables green?", "What's the difference between brown bread and white bread?", and "Why do beans make you gassy?", cheerful haiku poems and a simple Q&A format make this book a nutritious treat.   The information in this book aligns with both the USDA's MyPlate guidelines and the Harvard School of Public Health's Healthy Eating Plate guidelines and back matter includes further information about healthy eating and nutritional guidelines, as well as a glossary.

From peanut butter and jelly sandwiches to macaroni and cheese, Valorie Fisher explores the science behind our most delicious dishes!Valorie Fisher dives deep into the science of what we eat and where ingredients come from by exploring what happens behind the scenes of favorite, everyday foods like pizza, honey, milk, maple syrup, vegetable soup, and more! With the help of bold, eye-catching yet simple graphics, inquisitive minds will love discovering what makes popcorn pop, why bread rises, and how bees make honeycomb. With this book peppered with facts like how many eggs a hen lays in a year and how many gallons of sap it takes to make one gallon of syrup, readers will be fascinated by all the amazing things they never knew about the food they eat! Now You Know What You Eat also includes a glossary, and a graphic about the food groups, as well as an introduction to vitamins and minerals. With a growing focus on STEM for this early age group, this book encourages readers to ask their own questions about the world around them, and to fall in love with discovering the answers!

Find out how restaurants and food manufacturers employ scientists to make their products tastier and more convenient. Calling All Innovators series introduces students to careers in science and technology. The complex text allows readers (Grades 5-8) to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. Have you ever wondered how your favorite fast food order can taste exactly the same at every one of the restaurant's locations? Or how your favorite potato chips can stay crispy for days after you open the bag? Readers will learn how the fascinating field of food science began, how it has developed over time, and what it takes to become a food scientist today.

A beautifully photographed introduction to the way children from around the world eat What we eat says a lot about who we are and where we come from. The five children in this book live in very different countries, and they each have their own ideas about what tastes good. But they have lots in common, too: they all go food shopping and help with the cooking, share mealtimes with their families, eat special foods to celebrate, and have things they love to eat and things they definitely don't.

Grab a beaker, pick up your whisk, and get ready to cook up some solid science. Using food as our tools (or ingredients!) curious kids become saucy scientists that measure, weigh, combine, and craft their way through the kitchen. Discover dozens of thoroughly-tested, fun, edible experiments, sprinkled with helpful photos, diagrams, scientific facts, sub-experiments, and more. And the best news is when all the mad-science is done, you're invited to grab a spoon and take a bite -- and share your results with friends and family.

Chocolate hits all the right sweet--and bitter--notes: cutting-edge genetic science whisked in with a strong social conscience, history, and culture yield one thought-provoking look into one of the world's most popular foods. Readers who savored Chew on This and Food, Inc. and lovers of chocolate will relish this fascinating read.

Berries, apples, melons, and grapes; oranges, grapefruits, bananas -- yum! This scrumptious picture book, a companion to The Vegetables We Eat, offers youngsters an inviting, information-packed cornucopia of favorite fruits. Gail Gibbons combines a clear, simple text with her signature illustrations to present fruit facts galore: the parts of fruits, where and how they grow, harvesting, processing, where to buy them, and how to enjoy them as part of a healthy diet.

Lucas is a picky eater. But he's excited to go to the supermarket. Today, he gets to choose food for lunch. Lucas's dad helps him learn about the five food groups. Lucas finds out what foods are healthful. And he prepares a tasty snack!

Demonstrates how healthy eating can be both fun and appetizing, while sharing engaging facts about seeds and providing an additional section on how to help nut-sensitive friends stay safe

Good food is nutritious--but best of all, it's delicious! Full of colorful photographs of kids growing, preparing, and eating healthy, wholesome meals, Yummy! inspires young readers to make healthy choices. Nutritious meals full of fresh produce, protein, dairy and grains are pictured, along with kids helping in the kitchen--and having a good time eating what they've made, too! Healthy food choices set kids on the right track to succeed, giving them the energy to get out and play. Aligned with USDA's MyPlate standard for nutrition, Yummy! also offers tips for parents on preparing healthy meals, substituting in nutritious ingredients for high-sugar treats, and getting kids involved in their food choices.

This collection of yummy recipes and fun math facts is sure to tempt taste buds and make you hungry for more. Explore patterns in nature while you chomp on Fibonacci Stack Sticks. Amaze your friends with delicious Variable Pizza Pi Wash down your geometry assignment with some Milk and Tangram Cookies. Topics covered include probability, Fibonacci numbers, tessellations, variability, and more.

James is a very picky eater. His dad has to get creative--very creative--in order to get James to eat foods he thinks he doesn't like. He presents James with a series of outlandish scenarios packed with fanciful and gross kid-friendly details--like pre-chewed gum as an alternative to broccoli and lumpy oatmeal that grows so big it eats the dog--in an effort to get James to eat. But it is eventually James himself who discovers that some foods are not so bad, after all, if you're willing to give them a try.

If we are what we eat, Americans are hot dogs. We ate them on the way to the moon and served them to the king of England. We name a Hot Dog Eating Champ! Garnished with hilarious illustrations and amazing "foodie" facts, this kid-friendly, globe-spanning history of our favorite fast-food meal offers unique insight into America's multicultural heritage. From a hobo's franks-and-beans to astronaut food, there's more to the wiener--and what's for dinner--than you think.

Fourteen-year-old Mona isn't like the wizards charged with defending the city. She can't control lightning or speak to water. Her familiar is a sourdough starter and her magic only works on bread. She has a comfortable life in her aunt's bakery making gingerbread men dance. But Mona's life is turned upside down when she finds a dead body on the bakery floor. An assassin is stalking the streets of Mona's city, preying on magic folk, and it appears that Mona is his next target. And in an embattled city suddenly bereft of wizards, the assassin may be the least of Mona's worries

Christopher Ludwick was a German-born American patriot with a big heart and a talent for baking. When cries of "Revolution!" began, Christopher was determined to help General George Washington and his hungry troops. Not with muskets or cannons, but with gingerbread!

A girl describes her family's annual visit with Mamaw and Papaw in West Virginia, then Abuela and Abuelo in Florida, especially the foods and cultural elements that make each kitchen unique.

Fresh retro artwork lures little readers on a tasty trip to farms, dairies, and more. Yum! The best part of a young child's day is often opening a lunchbox and diving in. But how did all that delicious food get there? Who made the bread for the sandwich? What about the cheese inside? Who plucked the fruit? And where did the chocolate in that cookie get its start? From planting wheat to mixing flour into dough, climbing trees to machine-squeezing fruit, picking cocoa pods to stirring a vat of melted bliss, here is a clear, engaging look at the steps involved in producing some common foods. Healthy tips and a peek at basic food groups complete the menu.

Neela loves cooking with her amma and writing down the recipes in her notebook. It makes her feel closer to her paati who lives far away in India. On Saturdays, Neela and Amma go to the green market and today they are buying tomatoes to make Paati's famous sauce. But first, Neela needs to learn about all the different kinds of tomatoes they can pick from. And as Neela and Amma cook together, they find a way for Paati to share in both the love and the flavors of the day.

Inspired by the rich tradition of African American reunions, a multigenerational story follows the experiences of young Ruby, who helps loved ones prepare the foods they are bringing while trying to think of a signature dish of her own.

At Granny's, Sunday isn't Sunday without a big family gathering over a lovingly prepared meal. Old enough now, our narrator is finally invited to help cook the dishes for the first time: He joins Granny in grating the cheese, cleaning the greens, and priming the meat for Roscoe Ray's grill. But just when Granny says they're finished, her grandson makes his own contribution, sweetening this Sunday gathering-and the many more to come. Evocatively written and vividly illustrated, this mouthwatering story is a warm celebration of tradition and coming together at a table filled with love and delicious food.

Twins Lia and Luis argue over who has more of their favorite snacks. Can the siblings use math--and a little sharing--to pick the winner? A playful exploration of measurement, counting, and estimation, featuring Brazilian American characters and a glossary of Brazilian Portuguese words.

A timely, accessible, and beautifully written story exploring themes of food, friendship, family and what it means to belong, featuring sixth graders Sara, a Pakistani American, and Elizabeth, a white, Jewish girl taking a South Asian cooking class taught by Sara's mom. Sixth graders Sara and Elizabeth could not be more different. Sara is at a new school that is completely unlike the small Islamic school she used to attend. Elizabeth has her own problems: her British mum has been struggling with depression. The girls meet in an after-school South Asian cooking class, which Elizabeth takes because her mom has stopped cooking, and which Sara, who hates to cook, is forced to attend because her mother is the teacher. The girls form a shaky alliance that gradually deepens, and they make plans to create the most amazing, mouth-watering cross-cultural dish together and win a spot on a local food show. They make good cooking partners... but can they learn to trust each other enough to become true friends?

Where there is food, there will be laughter (and crumbs). In more than 40 exuberant poems and "vandalized" photographs, you'll meet a city kid who fantasizes about farming on a stoop, a girl with crumpets and crêpes in her head, and a boy with a pet cabbage. "Doctor Food" prescribes good food as medicine and "Dancing Kitchen" will have you shimmying with your skillet. From the amuse-bouche to the very last pea on the plate, A Moose Boosh celebrates food--growing it, making it, slurping it and especially sharing it with loved ones at the dinner table. Bon appétit! Poetry is food for the soul, food is poetry for the tongue.

Depicts families, from England to California and from 1710 to 2010, preparing and enjoying the dessert called blackberry fool. Includes a recipe and historical notes

Katie's Cabbage is the inspirational true story of how Katie Stagliano, a third grader from Summerville, South Carolina, grew a forty-pound cabbage in her backyard and donated it to help feed 275 people at a local soup kitchen. In her own words, Katie shares the story of the little cabbage seedling and the big ideas of generosity and service that motivated her to turn this experience into Katie's Krops, a national youth movement aimed at ending hunger one vegetable garden at a time. Katie's Cabbage reminds us of how small things can grow and thrive when nurtured with tender loving and care and of how one person, with the support of family, friends, and community, can help make a powerful difference in the lives of so many.

Giovanni's friends are coming over for Sunday dinner, and his grandmother is serving rice and beans. Giovanni is embarrassed he does not like "rice and rocks" and worries his friends will think the traditional Jamaican dish is weird. But his favorite Auntie comes to the rescue. She and Giovanni's pet parrot, Jasper, take him on a magical journey across the globe, visiting places where people eat rice and rocks. This exciting story celebrates the varied traditions of every culture while also highlighting the delicious similarities that bring us all together.

What happens at Nuthatcher Farm when the chickens get tired of the same old chicken feed? The rooster hatches a plan, of course! With a pinch of genius, a dash of resourcefulness, and a little pilfering from the farmer's garden, the chickens whip up a scrumptious snack of chips and salsa. When the rest of the barnyard gets a whiff of the spicy smells and want to join in, it can mean only one thing . . . FIESTA! But when the big day arrives, all their spicy southwestern supplies are gone! It seems that Mr. and Mrs. Nuthatcher have caught on to the flavor craze as well, and the only thing left for the animals to do is to try a new culinary style-ooh la la!

The animals of Nuthatcher Farm are gathering to watch the big football game on TV and Rooster knows the perfect game time snack: buffalo wings! But when he misreads the recipe, Rooster heads west in search of REAL buffalo wings. After finding many wing-less buffalo, Rooster decides to bring home new friends and new recipes instead. This delicious road trip is a read-aloud favorite.

Lola is a fussy eater. A very fussy eater. She won't eat her carrots (until big brother Charlie reveals that they are really orange twiglets from Jupiter). She won't eat her mashed potatoes (until Charlie explains they are cloud fluff from the pointiest peak of Mount Fuji). There are many, many things Lola absolutely will not eat, including -- and especially -- tomatoes. Or will she?

When Pigeon finds a delicious hot dog, he can hardly wait to shove the entire thing in his beak. But . . . then a very sly and hungry duckling enters the scene and wants a bite. Who will be the more clever bird?

Pigeon is very angry when the duckling gets a cookie just by asking politely

Figures and vehicles made of carved vegetables and fruit introduce various forms of transportation, including skates, cars, and airplanes, with rhyming text.

Dog figures carved out of different fruits and vegetables "act out" such phrases as "Bad dog," "Sick as a dog," and "Doggy bag."

Six-year-old Bilal is excited to help his dad make his favorite food of all-time: daal! The slow-cooked lentil dish from South Asia requires lots of ingredients and a whole lot of waiting. Bilal wants to introduce his friends to daal. They've never tried it! As the day goes on, the daal continues to simmer, and more kids join Bilal and his family, waiting to try the tasty dish. And as time passes, Bilal begins to wonder: Will his friends like it as much as he does?

What's the only way to make bread? You might use white flour in your bread, or whole wheat flour or corn flour. You might use water or milk, maybe an egg or two. You'll use a handful of this, a dash of that, a bit of this and a splash of that. Some dough will rise, some dough will bubble. Sometimes it will be sticky, sometimes it will be shaggy. What's the only way to make bread? Your way! This tasty celebration of all kinds of bread will tempt bread lovers big and small. No matter what kind of bread YOU like to make, this book is for you!

All Salma wants is to make her mama smile again. Between English classes, job interviews, and missing Papa back in Syria, Mama always seems busy or sad. A homemade Syrian meal might cheer her up, but Salma doesn't know the recipe, or what to call the vegetables in English, or where to find the right spices! Luckily, the staff and other newcomers in her Welcome Home are happy to lend a hand--and a sprinkle of sumac. With creativity, determination, and charm, Salma brings her new friends together to show Mama that even though things aren't perfect, there is cause for hope and celebration. Syrian culture is beautifully represented through the meal Salma prepares and Anna Bron's vibrant illustrations, while the diverse cast of characters speaks to the power of cultivating community in challenging circumstances.

This cookie has never felt like a smart cookie no matter how hard she tries, especially in comparison to all the clever cupcakes and brilliant rolls in the bakery. Will a dash of creativity and a sprinkle of confidence be enough to help her learn that perfect scores and having all the answers aren't the only ingredients for intelligence

In this unique and clever picture book, Gilbert Ford sheds a little light on everyone's favorite sweet treat--the chocolate chip cookie--and reminds readers everywhere that just because a story is told doesn't mean it's true. Crunch! Crunch! Crunch! Mmmmm! Everyone loves chocolate chip cookies! But not everyone knows where they came from. Meet Ruth Wakefield, the talented chef and entrepreneur who started a restaurant, wrote a cookbook, and invented this delicious dessert. But just how did she do it, you ask? That's where things get messy! So sit back and grab a cookie to read a story--or three--about how this round, crispy, chocolatey piece of perfection came to be. Which tale is true? Well, what do you think?

Fry bread is food. It is warm and delicious, piled high on a plate. Fry bread is time. It brings families together for meals and new memories. Fry bread is nation. It might look or taste different, but it is still shared by many, from coast to coast and beyond. Fry bread is us. It is a celebration of old and new, traditional and modern, similarity and difference. Fry Bread is a story told in lively and powerful verse by Seminole Nation member Kevin Noble Maillard, with vibrant art from Pura Belpre Award winner Juana Martinez-Neal.

In 1843, fourteen-year-old Hanson Gregory left his family home in Rockport, Maine, and set sail as a cabin boy on the schooner Achorn, looking for high-stakes adventure on the high seas. Little did he know that a boatload of hungry sailors, coupled with his knack for creative problem-solving, would yield one of the world's most prized and beloved pastries. Lively and inventive cut-paper illustrations add a taste of whimsy to this sweet, fact-filled story that includes an extensive bibliography, author's note, and timeline.

A cumulative tale of a farm maiden who, aided by a group of animals, prepares "Arroz con Leche," or rice pudding. Includes recipe and glossary of the Spanish words that are woven throughout the text.

Cora loves being in the kitchen, but she always gets stuck doing the kid jobs like licking the spoon. One day, however, when her older sisters and brother head out, Cora finally gets the chance to be Mama's assistant chef. And of all the delicious Filipino dishes that dance through Cora's head, she and Mama decide to make pancit, her favorite noodle dish. With Mama's help, Cora does the grown-up jobs like shredding the chicken and soaking the noodles (perhaps Mama won't notice if she takes a nibble of chicken or sloshes a little water on the floor). Cora even gets to stir the noodles in the pot--carefully-- while Mama supervises. When dinner is finally served, her siblings find out that Cora did all their grown-up tasks, and Cora waits anxiously to see what everyone thinks of her cooking.

Max the duck is cooking up an amazing soup. But what's this? A feather floating in the soup! And where's Max? Brody the dog, Dakota the cat, and Bebe the bird race about in their hilarious search for the missing Max. But remember, sometimes things just aren't as they appear.

Pull up a chair and dig in Popcorn is chock-full of tidbits about one of America's favorite snack foods. Learn what makes popcorn pop, how Native Americans liked their popcorn, and how television almost wiped out popcorn's future. Cooking tips, recipes, and resources included.

Did you know that for thousands of years, chocolate was a beverage and not a solid candy? Or that soldiers in the Revolutionary War received a monthly ration of chocolate for drinking? Learn all about the history of America's favorite wintertime treat in this fun, fact-filled Level 3 Ready-to-Read! A special section at the back of the book includes relevant info on subjects like social studies and science, and there's even a fun quiz so you can test yourself to see what you've learned!

A child describes the various little dishes of dim sum that she and her family enjoy on a visit to a restaurant in Chinatown.

A celebration of diversity and deliciousness, Teatime Around the World reveals all the wonderful ways we can enjoy a cup of tea--or two! Let's go on an adventure to discover new cultures and friends through tea! In this fun and lyrical picture book, kids will learn how tea is enjoyed in Thailand, Japan, Russia, Egypt, Pakistan, Hong Kong, Uruguay, South Sudan, India, and more countries! Did you know that po cha, the traditional tea in Tibet, is thick and salty like soup? Or that in Iran, tea is served with a rock? (A rock candy, that is!) Or that afternoon tea was dreamed up in England by a duchess who complained of being hungry between lunch and dinner? With vivid poetry, vibrant illustrations, and unique facts about different tea cultures, Teatime Around the World tells the delightful story of a beloved beverage.

Geraldine Pu's favorite part of school is lunch. She loves her lunch box, which she calls Biandang. She can't wait to see what her grandmother, Amah, has packed inside it each day. Then one day, Geraldine gets stinky tofu...and an unexpected surprise. What will she do?

Today is the first day of Sage's magical internship! Her fellow wizards-in-training get to study pyromancy and transfiguration, but Sage has been assigned an internship in...baking? She doesn't think that sounds fun, or particularly magical! But her instructor, Korian, insists that baking is a tasty form of alchemy. In an enchanted kitchen where the ingredients insist that you eat them, Sage learns the simple science behind baking--and that's the best kind of magic trick! In Bake Like a Pro!, you'll learn how different combination of proteins, fats, and liquids will result in textures that lend themselves to perfect pies, breads, cookies, and more! Follow these simple recipes, and you'll be able to bake a pizza and frost a cake--no magic necessary! Follow the easy step-by-step instructions and you can make: Chocolate chip cookies, Cornbread, Banana bread, Pizza dough, Cheesy biscuits, Apple pies, Sponge cake with Swiss buttercream frosting, Lemon meringue pie

Nugget is a chicken nugget. Dog is a hot dog. They are friends, and they like ketchup. Their town of Gastropolis is a peaceful place...until a spicy mustard packet named Dijon Mustard tries to make everyone grumpy. Nugget and Dog want to help, so they start a K.E.T.C.H.U.P. club, standing for Kind, Empathetic, Thoughtful, Courageous, Helpful, Unique, and Powerful. Can Nugget and Dog save the day with ketchup and kindness? Find out in this book that's full of silly jokes, funny scenes, a misunderstood monster, and sweetness, too.

Norma and Belly would really really really really really like a donut. With a burned breakfast and a cranky donut seller at the local food truck, they may be stuck with only nuts to eat . . . unless they can steal the biggest, most delicious donut of their tiny lives! Mika Song gives readers something to laugh at as these squirrels try their hardest to get some donuts while just about everything goes wrong. A fun "donut caper" graphic novel that focuses on madcap action, problem-solving, and the power of working together.

When Sybil learns her friend Bolivar, the last dinosaur only likes corned beef sandwiches, she informs him that he's been missing out on one of the great attributes of New York City and it's rich communities--delicacies from around the world! Knishes! Falafel! Dim Sum! And it wouldn't be a story in the Big Apple without pizza . . . Explore the five boroughs: Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx, Staten Island, and Manhattan in this lushly illustrated adventure

Narwhal and Jelly are back and Narwhal has a new obsession ... peanut butter! He's so obsessed he even wants to change his name to ... that's right ... Peanut Butter! Ever-sensible Jelly isn't so sure that's the best idea, but is all for Narwhal trying new things (instead of just eating waffles all the time, no matter how delicious waffles are). In this third book, Narwhal and Jelly star in three new stories about trying new things, favorite foods and accepting who we are. Always funny and never didactic, this underwater duo charms again through their powerful combination of positive thinking, imagination and joyfulness

Calling all kidz! Do you like comics? Do you like laughing till milk comes out of your nose?! Look no further-do we have the book for you! All your favorite comic characters are right here in one book, including the Peanuts gang, Babymouse, and Lunch Lady. This all-star tribute to classic Sunday comics includes eight sidesplitting, action-packed stories about every kid's favorite subject-LUNCH! Lunchtime can be fun, wild, yummy, or complete chaos! And in this second collection of comics, it is definitely hilarious.

The Breakfast Bunch is excited for the upcoming bake sale--and the best part is that it's raising money for an awesome field trip. But when all the snacks go missing, it's no laughing matter. Someone is sabotaging the bake sale. But why? Lunch Lady and the Breakfast Bunch are hot on the trail . . . one brownie crumb at a time.

Princess Decomposia is overworked and underappreciated. This princess of the underworld has plenty of her own work to do but always seems to find herself doing her layabout father's job, as well. The king doesn't feel quite well, you see. Ever. So the princess is left scurrying through the halls, dodging her mummy, werewolf, and ghost subjects, always running behind and always buried under a ton of paperwork. Oh, and her father just fired the chef, so now she has to hire a new cook as well. Luckily for Princess Decomposia, she makes a good hire in Count Spatula, the vampire chef with a sweet tooth. He's a charming go-getter of a blood-sucker, and pretty soon the two young ghouls become friends. And then...more than friends? Maybe eventually, but first Princess Decomposia has to sort out her life. And with Count Spatula at her side, you can be sure she'll succeed.

Alpha and Betty have a potluck and all their friends (Acton to Zelda) bring appropriate alphabetical food (asparagus soup to zucchini casserole)

A hungry mouse leaves a huge mess when it goes in search of a snack

A father and child grow vegetables and then make them into a soup

"Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants." These simple words go to the heart of food journalist Pollan's thesis. Humans used to know how to eat well, he argues, but the balanced dietary lessons that were once passed down through generations have been confused and distorted by food industry marketers, nutritional scientists, and journalists. As a result, we face today a complex culinary landscape dense with bad advice and foods that are not "real." Indeed, plain old eating is being replaced by an obsession with nutrition that is, paradoxically, ruining our health, not to mention our meals. Pollan's advice is: "Don't eat anything that your great-great grandmother would not recognize as food." Looking at what science does and does not know about diet and health, he proposes a new way to think about what to eat, informed by ecology and tradition rather than by the nutrient-by-nutrient approach

With beautiful visuals and engaging stories, Nourish explores the provocative question: What's the story of your food? By providing a "big picture" view of our food system, Nourish reveals the many ways that food connects to our environment, our health and our communities. Most importantly, Nourish offers specific action steps that viewers can take to help create a sustainable food future.

Explore why breakfast is so important for great physical and mental performance. Includes segments on breakfast facts; how body parts come alive with the need for breakfast; great breakfast ideas; how to read the nutrition label; and more

Six lively teens show us why breakfast is the smart way to start your day, and how to eat smart by reading nutrition labels.

A sumptuous documentary journey featuring the people inside a movement to bring personal and economic health back to our communities. Spanning four seasons, Ingredients illustrates what's good about food in America." Includes footage from across the U.S., from the diversified farms of the Hudson River and Willamette Valleys to the urban food deserts of Harlem and to the kitchens of celebrated chefs Alice Waters, Peter Hoffman and Greg Higgins

A group of friends organize a potluck lunch at school and discover that each of them have very different favorite foods. Heritage, popular culture, regions of the country and world, social events, and advertising all influence our choices in food

Teaching kids about food pyramid through games

An examination of the history and cultivation of important food plants. Shows each aspect of food production, from fields and laboratories to grocery stores, and includes interviews with farmers, scientists, and restaurant owners

A 13-part series that explores the way in which the exchange of foods between the old and new worlds as a result of Columbus's voyages changed the way people ate

Looks at the food and nutrition habits of other cultures and countries

The 85-year-old Jiro Ono is considered by many to be the world's greatest sushi chef. He is the proprietor of a 10-seat sushi-only restaurant inauspiciously located in a Tokyo subway station. Despite its humble appearances, it is the first restaurant of its kind to be awarded a prestigious 3-star Michelin review, and sushi lovers from around the globe make repeated pilgrimages, calling months in advance and shelling out top dollar for a coveted seat at Jiro's sushi bar

Includes a number of food related children's books and a collection of recipe cards

Card game useful for vocabulary building and language development. Cards can also be used for playing Memory, Match-up and other games