Suggested Databases for Finding Sources - Biology 231 - Research Methods - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Useful databases for creating an annotated bibliography

This is not an exhaustive list, but it's a good one. Search multiple databases in order to obtain the best variety of sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Examines social issues from a variety of sources: pro and con viewpoint articles; full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers; statistics and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 300 controversial topics, each with a background overview and pro/con arguments.
Natural Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts from scientific and technical journals related to aquatic science, biology, biotechnology, environmental science and medicine.
Includes ProQuest's Biological and Environmental Sciences and Environmental Impact Statements databases.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of full-text journals in aeronautics, astrophysics, aviation, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, and physics.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,400 full-text journal titles in the health and life sciences published by Elsevier since 1995, plus indexing for thousands of other Elsevier titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive containing the full-text and full-page views of hundreds of journals. JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Archive Collections (1-10) and Life Sciences Archive Collection are available at UNK.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers 300+ journals from 60 scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 83,000,000 articles from a variety of newspapers, magazines and peer-reviewed journals -- many in full-text.