Home - History 307 - History of Health & Medical Law - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Kearney (UNK)

Welcome

Welcome! My name is Laurinda Weisse, the librarian for the History program at UNK. This guide is intended to provide resources for History 307: History of Health & Medical Law. You will find a selection of sources on the pages within this guide. For more options, check out the History Subject Guide, History of Science & Medicine guide, History of Global Public Health guide, or contact me.

Key Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has hundreds of journals on a wide range of subjects, with some journal coverage going back to the 1800s.
Individuals not affiliated with UNK may access content through a paid, personal JPASS account. Limited, free access is also available by registering for JSTOR's Register and Read program.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
NexisUNI formerly Lexis Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
This resource is only available on campus
Provides access to legal, tax, regulatory, and business information. Researchers can access timely information compiled and created by reporters, attorneys, and editors. The database delivers expert in-depth analysis, news, practice tools, and access to primary legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations. Content is organized into a number of topical areas such as corporate and business, environmental, health care, intellectual property, and tax.

Primary Source Review

A primary source is a document that was created at the time of the event or subject you’re studying or by people who were observers of or participants in that event or topic. What makes the source a "primary" source is when it was made, not what it is.

Examples:

Dental tools (artifacts)
Ads for a patent medicine (manuscript/paper sources)
Supreme Court decision (legal document)
News coverage of a trial (newspaper/periodicals)
Congressional hearings on a health issue (government document)
Photographs of patients (images)