Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While MS Word, some article databases, and free online tools such as BibMe offer MLA formatting for citations, these systems are NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE OR COMPLETE!
If you use these online tools to generate citations, please double check their accuracy against the "MLA Handbook" or other sources linked from this guide.
UNK Writing Center
Assistance with all writing projects, including help with citing sources, is available at the Writing Center, which is part of the Learning Commons located on the Library's 2nd floor.
Appointments are recommended and may be scheduled in-person or by telephone at 308-865-8905.
Click here for more information about the Writing Center's services.
The MLA Handbook
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2016
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Undergraduate students using MLA style in research papers should generally refer to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (2016, 8th ed.). Copies of this "MLA Handbook," as shown below, are located at the Reference Desk and Circulation-Reserve Desk (Library main level) for in-library use only.
Graduate students, scholars, and professional writers may want to consult the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (2008, 3rd ed.).
Helpful Resources on MLA Style
Additional information on MLA style may be found at these