Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choosing a Topic
Try these links for potential ideas for your literature review topic!
What is a peer reviewed journal?
Peer-reviewed journals (also called "scholarly" or "academic" journals) contain
articles within a specific subject domain. original research
These articles are reviewed by other experts before publication and share many or all of these qualities:
List authors' names, email addresses, and affiliations (e.g. Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney)
Use section headers (these may vary): Abstract, Introduction, Literature Review, Methodology, Results, Discussion, Conclusion
Include tables or figures of statistical data
Cite references to other quality sources
Here are two examples:
NOTE: Some peer-reviewed journals will include literature reviews, book reviews, and opinion essays. None of these present
however! original research
This table summarizes the differences between peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals, but please ask a librarian if you have further questions!
LOPERSearch: One box to search many databases
Key Article Databases in Sociology
Sociology Collection (ProQuest)
A best starting point for scholarly journal articles in sociology! A ProQuest database.
Sociological Collection (EBSCO)
Covers nearly 500 peer-reviewed journals in sociology. An EBSCOhost database with significant overlap with Academic Search Premier.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary; includes full-text of 3,900+ scholarly journals...
Full-text coverage of 80+ journals in sociology, plus hundreds of journals in other subject areas.
IN-CLASS PRACTICE: Is it peer-reviewed?