Searches scholarly books and articles on psychology-related topics.
Encyclopedia of Social WorkThis link opens in a new windowThis continually updated edition is a collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and Oxford University Press. Provides over 400 entries on social work topics ranging from international practices to ethical standards.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. You may set up a free account to: 1) save your searches; 2) set up email alerts; 3) save documents to lists; and 4) review your author profile.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Provides full-text access to over 2,100 journal titles published by Taylor & Francis back to 1997. This e-journal collection is made available through the shared efforts of the University of Nebraska Consortium of Libraries (UNCL)
Building a Better Search
As you begin your research, you will need to work on narrowing your topic.
Try combining terms to narrow your search results, eg, "immigrant AND children AND detention"
Using "AND" in between your search terms will narrow your search results.
Using "OR" will expand your search results, eg, "immigrant OR child"
Try using the * symbol at the end of root words to include the variety of representations in your results. Searching for "adolesc*" will include adolescent and adolescence in your results.
Finally, all of the databases provide facets or filter to narrow your search results. Try applying facets to narrow the publication date ranges, the article type, or publication titles in which the article appears.